Skip to Main Content
Search this Guide
Search
The Town & the City: Lowell before and after The Civil War
Originally created to be a digital archive for Lowell documents from 1826 to 1861, this website has grown to cover many periods and events in Lowell's history.
Home
Indexes to Collections
Town/City Directories 1832 to 1861 & 1864 onward
Contributions of the Old Residents' Historical Association & Contributions of the Lowell Historical Society
Writings about early Lowell
Pawtucket & Wamesit Indians - Historic Markers, Plaques, & Statues
John Orne Green, M. D. (1799 – 1885)
Toggle Dropdown
Dr. Green Diaries - Part 2
Videos of Lowell and the rivers
Views, Maps, and Images of Early Lowell
Interactive Map of Early Lowell - Landmarks built before 1836
Historic properties maps and database - Lowell before 1861
Interactive maps and exhibits
Toggle Dropdown
Chelmsford in 1794
Hale's 1831 Map of Lowell
Lowell in 1826
View of Lowell 1834
Map of Lowell 1845
Overlay of 1871 map on current map - interactive
Map Galleries, Maps, and Views of Early Lowell
Toggle Dropdown
Map of Lowell in 1831 (Gallery)
Map of Chelmsford in 1794 (Gallery)
Map of Dracut in 1794 (Gallery)
Map of Tewksbury in 1794 (Gallery)
Plan of Lowell Village - U. A. Boyden (map drawn for the Boston and Lowell Rail-Road Co. 1835)
The Boston & Lowell Rail Road
Locomotive Race on the Lowell Railroad - 1851
From Boston to Lowell and Nashua by Train in 1850
Selections from the "Early Days of Railroading" by Herbert C. Taft
Bay State Monthly article 1884
Buildings & Houses 1850
Time Line & Mayors of Early Lowell
"The capital of the poor man" - The history of public health in Lowell
Native Americans and First Contact with Europeans
Toggle Dropdown
Bibliographic essay for "Native Americans and First Contact with Europeans"
"a curious medley of well-filled phials of medicines" - 1721 to 1822
a pest-house prepared - 1822 to 1824
A Smallpox Outbreak - 1837
Local government and public health - 1825 to 1836
The health of the operatives controversy - 1837 to 1850
Physicians and medicine in early Lowell 1832 to 1861
Female Physicians in Early Lowell / Dr. Rachel Allyn
The 1849 Cholera Epidemic
The 1871 Smallpox Epidemic
The 1890 - 1891 Typhoid Epidemic
Lowell Newspapers - 1837 to 1893
Lowell Journal, December 14, 1827
Henry David Thoreau in Lowell & Chelmsford -1839
Charles Dickens in Lowell - 1842
Frederick Douglass in Lowell - 1843
Frederick Douglass in Lowell - 1844
Abraham Lincoln in Lowell - 1848
Edgar Allan Poe in Lowell - 1848 and 1849
Toggle Dropdown
Jane Ermina Locke and Her “Requiem for Edgar A. Poe”
Thoreau's lectures in Lowell - 1860
Sarah G. Bagley
Elias Howe, the sewing machine, and Lowell
Hand-book for the Visiter to Lowell (1848)
Churches in Early Lowell
The Schools in Early Lowell
Toggle Dropdown
Original pages of minutes of the first School Committee meeting (1827)
The Early Irish Catholic Schools of Lowell, Massachusetts 1835 - 1852 (publication)
The Lowell Museum - 1840 to 1856
Lowell Genealogy Resources
The "Ladies of Lowell" stone in the Washington Monument
Cemeteries & their Gravestones in Early Lowell, including the digitized collection of gravestone rubbings
Spiritualism in 19th century Lowell
Animal Magnetism (Mesmerism) in Lowell
Phrenology in Lowell
Where did all those bricks come from?
Sarah Maria Cornell
The Trial of Mrs. Hannah Kinney
Examination of Barney Goulding on the Charge of Murdering His Wife - 1848
Elizabeth A. Moore is murdered by Bryant Moore - 1860
The Case and Trials of Anna A. Dower 1861 - 1863
The first Lowell Jail - 1838
"The Poor Farm" - early years
Contact us
Document collections inventory spreadsheet files - Links to Individual Document Collections and their Inventories are below
Assessors' Books (Multiple Collections)
Toggle Dropdown
Assessors 1831
Inventory for Assessors 1831
Assessors 1833
Inventory for Assessors 1833
Assessor 1834 (1 district)
Inventory for Assessor 1834 (1 district)
Assessors 1835
Inventory for Assessors 1835
Assessors (District 2, Flint) 1835
Inventory for Assessors (District 2 Flint)
Assessor (District 4, Buttrick) 1836
Inventory for Assessor (District 4, Buttrick) 1836
Auditor's Reports 1837 to 1849
Inventory for Auditors Reports 1837 to 1849
Auditor's Log 1836 to 1840
Toggle Dropdown
Inventory for Auditor's Log 1836 to 1840
Uriah Boyden (1804 – 1879) Scrapbook
Toggle Dropdown
Inventory for the Uriah Boyden Scrapbook
Beethoven Musical Society
Toggle Dropdown
Inventory for Beethoven Musical Society
Common Council (Multiple Collections)
Toggle Dropdown
Common Council Register-Journal 1836 - 37
Inventory for Common Council Register-Journal 1836-37
Common Council 1837
Inventory for Common Council 1837
Common Council Register-Journal 1837
Inventory for Common Council Register-Journal 1837
Common Council 1837 to 1839
Inventory for Common Council 1837 to 1839
Common Council 1839 to 1840
Inventory for Common Council 1839 to 1840
Common Council 1840
Inventory for Common Council 1840
Common Council 1841
Inventory for Common Council 1841
Common Council 1842
Inventory for Common Council 1842
Common Council 1843-44
Inventory for Common Council 1843-44
Common Council 1845
Inventory for Common Council 1845
Common Council 1846
Inventory for Common Council 1846
Common Council 1847
Inventory for Common Council 1847
Common Council 1848
Inventory for Common Council 1848
Early Deeds (1680 to 1822)
Toggle Dropdown
Inventory for Early Deeds (1680 to 1822)
Expenses for the Town of Lowell For one year ending March 1, 1836
Rev. Theodore Edson Diaries
Toggle Dropdown
Inventory for Rev. Theodore Edson Diaries
Committee on Finance 1836 to 1847
Toggle Dropdown
Inventory for Committee on Finance 1836 to 1847
Hurd's Mill 1825 to 1827
Toggle Dropdown
Inventory for Hurd's Mill 1825 to 1827
John Street Congregational Church
Toggle Dropdown
Inventory for John Street Church
Lowell Bleachery Payrolls 1833 to 1854
Toggle Dropdown
Inventory for Lowell Bleachery Payrolls 1833 to 1854
Lowell Board of Health 1836 to 1840
Toggle Dropdown
Inventory for Lowell Board of Health 1836 to 1840
Lowell Cemetery Burials 1841 to 1849
Toggle Dropdown
Inventory for Lowell Cemetery Burials 1841 to 1849
Lowell Fire Department 1830 to 1853
Toggle Dropdown
Inventory for Lowell Fire Department 1830 to 1853
Lowell Institution for Savings Bank Examiners 1825 to 1834
Toggle Dropdown
Inventory for Lowell Institution for Savings Bank Examiners 1825 to 1834
Lowell Institution for Savings & Town Hall
Toggle Dropdown
Inventory for Lowell Institution for Savings & Town Hall
Middlesex Company Records 1830 to 1832
Toggle Dropdown
Inventory for Middlesex Company Records 1830 to 1832
Marriages (Multiple Collections)
Toggle Dropdown
Marriage Intentions 1826 to 1835
Inventory for Marriage Intentions 1826 to 1835
Intentions of Marriage 1838
Inventory for Intentions of Marriage 1838
Marriages 1838 to 1844
Inventory for Marriages 1838 to 1844
Index to Intentions of Marriages 1850 to 1863
Inventory for Index to Intentions of Marriages 1850 to 1863
Middlesex Mechanic Association Government Meetings 1834 to 1838
Toggle Dropdown
Inventory for Middlesex Mechanic Association Government Meetings 1834 to 1838
Middlesex Mechanic Association 1825 to 1846
Toggle Dropdown
Inventory for Middlesex Mechanic Association 1825 to 1846
Militia Receipts 1837 to 1852
Toggle Dropdown
Inventory for Militia Receipts 1837 to 1852
The Ministry at Large in Lowell
Toggle Dropdown
Inventory for Ministry-at-Large
Miscellaneous City Documents 1851 to 1855
Toggle Dropdown
Inventory for Miscellaneous City Documents 1851 to 1855
Paul Moody (1779 - 1831)
Toggle Dropdown
Inventory for Paul Moody (LF.M7756)
Ephraim Morrill
Toggle Dropdown
Inventory for Ephraim Morrill
Mortgages 1832 to 1834 (Volume I)
Toggle Dropdown
Inventory for Mortgages 1832 to 1834 (Volume I)
Mortgages 1834 to 1835 (Volume II)
Toggle Dropdown
Inventory for Mortgages 1834 to 1835 (Volume II)
Index of Mortgages
Toggle Dropdown
Inventory for Index of Mortgages
Petitions & Communications 1836 to 1861 (Multiple Collections)
Toggle Dropdown
Petitions & Communications 1836 to 1841
Inventory for Petitions & Communications 1836 to 1841
Petitions & Communications 1840 to 1843
Inventory for Petitions & Communications 1840 to 1843
Petitions & Communications 1843 to 1846
Inventory for Petitions & Communications 1843 to 1846
Petitions & Communications 1846 to 1848
Inventory for Petitions & Communications 1846 to 1848
Petitions & Communications 1849
Inventory for Petitions & Communications 1849
Petitions & Communications 1850 to 1851
Inventory for Petitions & Communications 1850 to 1851
Petitions & Communications 1852 to 1853
Inventory for Petitions & Communications 1852 to 1853
Petitions & Communications 1854 to 1855
Inventory for Petitions & Communications 1854 to 1855
Petitions & Communications 1856 to 1857
Inventory for Petitions & Communications 1856 to 1857
Petitions & Communications 1858 to 1859
Inventory for Petitions & Communications 1858 to 1859
Petitions & Communications 1860 to 1861
Inventory for Petitions & Communications 1860 to 1861
Petitions for Office 1852 to 1860
Inventory for Petitions for Office 1852 to 1860
Petty Cash 1843 to 1846
Toggle Dropdown
Inventory for Petty Cash 1843 to 1846
Register of Deaths 1847 & 1848
Toggle Dropdown
Inventory for Register of Deaths 1847 & 1848
Selectmen Reports 1834 to 1836
Toggle Dropdown
Inventory for Selectmen Reports 1834 to 1836
Tax Book 1836
Toggle Dropdown
Inventory for Tax Book 1836
Town of Lowell 1826 to 1836 (Multiple Collections)
Toggle Dropdown
Inventory for Town of Lowell Collection 1826 to 1836
Valuation Books (Multiple Collections)
Toggle Dropdown
Valuation Books - 1826 to 1829
Inventory for Valuation Books - 1826 to 1829
Valuation Books - 1830 to 1835
Inventory for Valuation Books - 1830 to 1835
Report #98 - 1842 City Map
Writs
Toggle Dropdown
Inventory for Writs
Miscellaneous & Separated City Documents 1793 to 1837
Miscellaneous & Separated City Documents 1838 to 1845
Miscellaneous & Separated City Documents 1793 to 1843
James H. Rand selected mortgage documents
Town Record Lowell Vol. I
Toggle Dropdown
Index of Town Record Lowell Vol. I
1878 Plans of Mill Yards
Lowell in the 1830 Census
Lowell in the 1840 Census
Lowell in the 1850 Census
Lowell in the 1860 Census
1660 Deed
Rate of Toll on the Middlesex Canal - 1808
Tyler Street
Center for Lowell History - Mogan Legacy Site
Part 11 - "the neccessities of the many"
Views of Lowell and Vicinity - 1904
Part 12 - "In the face of probes"
Dr. Green Diaries - Part 3
Lowell on the Merrimack - 1892 Photo Book
Lowell Illustrated - 1907
Photographs from Kenngott's The Record of a City - 1912
Survey of Merrimack River from Wicassee Locks to Town Landing (1822)
Edward Newell Marshall (1875 - 1940)
First Primitive Methodist Church Records
Lowell Genealogy
Lowell Genealogy - Cemeteries
Lowell Genealogy - City Records and Institutions
Lowell Genealogy - Military
Lowell Genealogy - Naturalization Police Court Records
Lowell Genealogy - Police Records
Smith Baker Center
The Grist Mill
Search
Instructions for searching
Auditor's Reports 1837 to 1849
Pages 1-25
Pages 26-50
Pages 51-75
Pages 76-100
Pages 101-125
Pages 126-150
Pages 151-175
Pages 176-200
Pages 201-225
Pages 226-250
Pages 251-275
Pages 276-300
Pages 301-325
Pages 326-350
Pages 351-375
Pages 376-400
Pages 401-414
auditor_0001
1838
auditor_0002
1838
auditor_0003
1838
auditor_0004
1838
auditor_0005
1838
auditor_0006
1838
auditor_0007
1838
auditor_0008
1838
auditor_0009
1838
auditor_0010
1838
auditor_0011
1838
auditor_0012
1838
auditor_0013
1838
auditor_0014
1838
auditor_0015
1838
auditor_0016
1838
auditor_0017
1838
auditor_0018
1838
auditor_0019
1838
auditor_0020
1838
auditor_0021
1838
auditor_0022
1838
auditor_0023
1838
auditor_0024
1838
auditor_0025
1838
auditor_0026
1839
auditor_0027
1839
auditor_0028
1839
auditor_0029
1839
auditor_0030
1839
auditor_0031
1839
auditor_0032
1839
auditor_0033
1839
auditor_0034
1839
auditor_0035
1839
auditor_0036
1839
auditor_0037
1839
auditor_0038
1839
auditor_0039
1839
auditor_0040
1839
auditor_0041
1839
auditor_0042
1839
auditor_0043
1839
auditor_0044
1839
auditor_0045
1839
auditor_0046
1839
auditor_0047
1839
auditor_0048
1839
auditor_0049
1839
auditor_0050
1839
auditor_0051
1839
auditor_0052
1839
auditor_0053
1839
auditor_0054
1839
auditor_0055
1839
auditor_0056
1839
auditor_0057
1839
auditor_0058
1839
auditor_0059
1839
auditor_0060
1839
auditor_0061
1840
auditor_0062
1840
auditor_0063
1840
auditor_0064
1840
auditor_0065
1840
auditor_0066
1840
auditor_0067
1840
auditor_0068
1840
auditor_0069
1840
auditor_0070
1840
auditor_0071
1840
auditor_0072
1840
auditor_0073
1840
auditor_0074
1840
auditor_0075
1840
auditor_0076
1840
auditor_0077
1840
auditor_0078
1840
auditor_0079
1840
auditor_0080
1840
auditor_0081
1840
auditor_0082
1840
auditor_0083
1840
auditor_0084
1840
auditor_0085
1841
auditor_0086
1841
auditor_0087
1841
auditor_0088
1841
auditor_0089
1841
auditor_0090
1841
auditor_0091
1841
auditor_0092
1841
auditor_0093
1841
auditor_0094
1841
auditor_0095
1841
auditor_0096
1841
auditor_0097
1841
auditor_0098
1841
auditor_0099
1841
auditor_0100
1841
auditor_0101
1841
auditor_0102
1841
auditor_0103
1841
auditor_0104
1841
auditor_0105
1841
auditor_0106
1841
auditor_0107
1841
auditor_0108
1842
auditor_0109
1842
auditor_0110
1842
auditor_0111
1842
auditor_0112
1842
auditor_0113
1842
auditor_0114
1842
auditor_0115
1842
auditor_0116
1842
auditor_0117
1842
auditor_0118
1842
auditor_0119
1842
auditor_0120
1842
auditor_0121
1842
auditor_0122
1842
auditor_0123
1842
auditor_0124
1842
auditor_0125
1842
auditor_0126 (1)
auditor_0126
auditor_0128
auditor_0129
auditor_0130
auditor_0131
auditor_0132
auditor_0133
auditor_0134
auditor_0135
auditor_0136
auditor_0137
auditor_0138
auditor_0139
auditor_0140
auditor_0141
auditor_0142
auditor_0143
auditor_0144
auditor_0145
auditor_0146
auditor_0147
auditor_0148
auditor_0149
auditor_0150
auditor_0151
auditor_0152
auditor_0153
auditor_0154
auditor_0155
auditor_0156
auditor_0157
auditor_0158
auditor_0159
auditor_0160
auditor_0161
auditor_0162
auditor_0163
auditor_0164
auditor_0165
auditor_0166
auditor_0167
auditor_0168
auditor_0169
auditor_0170
auditor_0171
auditor_0172
auditor_0173
auditor_0174
auditor_0175
auditor_0176
auditor_0177
auditor_0178
auditor_0179
auditor_0180
auditor_0181
auditor_0182
auditor_0183
auditor_0184
auditor_0185
auditor_0186
auditor_0187
auditor_0188
auditor_0189
auditor_0190
auditor_0191
auditor_0192
auditor_0193
auditor_0194
auditor_0195
auditor_0196
auditor_0197
auditor_0198
auditor_0199
auditor_0200
auditor_0201
auditor_0202
auditor_0203
auditor_0204
auditor_0205
auditor_0206
auditor_0207
auditor_0208
auditor_0209
auditor_0210
auditor_0211
auditor_0212
auditor_0213
auditor_0214
auditor_0215
auditor_0216
auditor_0217
auditor_0218
auditor_0219
auditor_0220
auditor_0221
auditor_0222
auditor_0223
auditor_0224
auditor_0225
auditor_0226
auditor_0227
auditor_0228
auditor_0229
auditor_0230
auditor_0231
auditor_0232
auditor_0233
auditor_0234
auditor_0235
auditor_0236
auditor_0237
auditor_0238
auditor_0239
auditor_0240
auditor_0241
auditor_0242
auditor_0243
auditor_0244
auditor_0245
auditor_0246
auditor_0247
auditor_0248
auditor_0249
auditor_0250
auditor_0251
auditor_0252
auditor_0253
auditor_0254
auditor_0255
auditor_0256
auditor_0257
auditor_0258
auditor_0259
auditor_0260
auditor_0261
auditor_0262
auditor_0263
auditor_0264
auditor_0265
auditor_0266
auditor_0267
auditor_0268
auditor_0269
auditor_0270
auditor_0271
auditor_0272
auditor_0273
auditor_0274
auditor_0275
auditor_0276
auditor_0277
auditor_0278
auditor_0279
auditor_0280
auditor_0281
auditor_0282
auditor_0283
auditor_0284
auditor_0285
auditor_0286
auditor_0287
auditor_0288
auditor_0289
auditor_0290
auditor_0291
auditor_0292
auditor_0293
auditor_0294
auditor_0295
auditor_0296
auditor_0297
auditor_0298
auditor_0299
auditor_0300
auditor_0301
auditor_0302
auditor_0303
auditor_0304
auditor_0305
auditor_0306
auditor_0307
auditor_0308
auditor_0309
auditor_0310
auditor_0311
auditor_0312
auditor_0313
auditor_0314
auditor_0315
auditor_0316
auditor_0317
auditor_0318
auditor_0319
auditor_0320
auditor_0321
auditor_0322
auditor_0323
auditor_0324
auditor_0325
auditor_0326
auditor_0327
auditor_0328
auditor_0329
auditor_0330
auditor_0331
auditor_0332
auditor_0333
auditor_0334
auditor_0335
auditor_0336
auditor_0337
auditor_0338
auditor_0339
auditor_0340
auditor_0341
auditor_0342
auditor_0343
auditor_0344
auditor_0345
auditor_0346
auditor_0347
auditor_0348
auditor_0349
auditor_0350
auditor_0351
auditor_0352
auditor_0353
auditor_0354
auditor_0355
auditor_0356
auditor_0357
auditor_0358
auditor_0359
auditor_0360
auditor_0361
auditor_0362
auditor_0363
auditor_0364
auditor_0365
auditor_0366
auditor_0367
auditor_0368
auditor_0369
auditor_0370
auditor_0371
auditor_0372
auditor_0373
auditor_0374
auditor_0375
auditor_0376
auditor_0377
auditor_0378
auditor_0379
auditor_0380
auditor_0381
auditor_0382
auditor_0383
auditor_0384
auditor_0385
auditor_0386
auditor_0387
auditor_0388
auditor_0389
auditor_0390
auditor_0391
auditor_0392
auditor_0393
auditor_0394
auditor_0395
auditor_0396
auditor_0397
auditor_0398
auditor_0399
auditor_0400
auditor_0401
auditor_0402
auditor_0403
auditor_0404
auditor_0405
auditor_0406
auditor_0407
auditor_0408
auditor_0409
auditor_0410
auditor_0411
auditor_0412
auditor_0413
auditor_0414
<<
Previous:
Inventory for Assessor (District 4, Buttrick) 1836
Next:
Inventory for Auditors Reports 1837 to 1849 >>
