Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

UML Library Orientation: Welcome!

 

Welcome to the UMass Lowell University Library

► We support you with: multiple libraries; in-person and online research help; access to specialized, high-quality, academic information; and study spaces and public computers and printing.

► Once you've finished this orientation and you're ready to start your research, continue to our Introduction to Research guide.

► Fall 2022 Research Help Office Hours: Contact us online through chat and email, or ask about our drop-in hours and individual appointments.

► Find books, ebooks, online journals and articles, research tutorials, and much more at www.uml.edu/library.

Four Things to Get Started

  Still finding your way around campus? 

 Need to book a study space? Read our guide to finding and booking library spaces.

 Ready to borrow a book? Open a UML library card, in-person or online.

 Need material the UML Library doesn't have? Some day you may need to order books from another library. This is free to you! Register and make requests through InterLibrary Loan.

Full Services

As you continue at UMass Lowell you might need these additional library services:

Course reserves: books, articles, and videos selected specifically by your professors for your course.

Theses and dissertations: a guide to submitting your thesis or dissertation, if you are writing one.

Library Locations

O'Leary Library: South Campus

Research help in-person and on email; check out books on music and art, plus some special collections; group and individual study space; color and black and white printing; academic departments.

Lydon Library: North Campus

Research help in-person and on email; all other books and media including sociology, psychology, business, engineering, nursing, fiction, poetry, and more; group and individual study space; color and black and white printing.

Center for Lowell History: East Campus

Research help by appointment and email; unique special collections and historical archives (books, photos, maps, and more)  on the history of Lowell and the history of UMass Lowell; email for appointments and more information.

Open 24/7 - The Online Library

 

Visit the library website 24/7 for articles, e-books, and research tutorials.

 

uml.edu/library

 

On the home page:

  • Use the catalog to find books, ebooks, videos, and other materials to check out. Our catalog is part of the shared WorldCat catalog that shows you books even at other libraries, which you can often order for delivery here for free.
  • Use the Article Quick Search to search through many databases at once, for access to scholarly articles online.
  • Use Journal by Title to find out if we have access to a particular journal, and what database it is in. Use the citation finder if you already know about an article you want, and need to type in the article's information to see if we have the full-text.

In the left-hand menu:

  • Use the A-Z List to find all of the databases we acquire for the UML community
  • Use LibGuides to find all of the research guides we've put together - they will guide you through particular subject areas, or different stages of your research
  • Use Library Services to find out more about what else we do
  • Use the Center for Lowell History to find hours, collections, and research help from our archives and special collections library
  • Use Ask a Librarian to search our FAQs and send us email for individual help