Information Retrieval for Chemists: CHEM 2600

Citations

REMEMBER: THE OBJECTIVE OF WRITING A CITATION IS TO BE ABLE TO LOCATE IT AGAIN EASILY! 

UML has an institutional site license for EndNote, a citation management software.  Many of our databases offer direct import into EndNote.  Or, you use a two-step process, import to your computer and then export the file into EndNote. EndNote will format your citations for you.  For this class, you will use the format ACS.

Here are examples of references, written in the correct manner.
For all authors, the name is cited: Last name, First name initial. Middle initial.   Authors names are separated by semicolons, and a period follows the final author's name.

BOOKS
Author 1; Author 2; Author 3. Book title. Edition. Publisher: Place, Year; pages or chapter number.

EXAMPLES:
Nickon, A. Organic Chemistry: the Name Game. Pergamon: New York, 1987; pp 32-38.
Wohlman, Y. Chemical Information: a Practical Guide to Utilization. 2nd ed. Wiley: New York, 1988;
Chapter  4.

For an Online Book:
Same as above but add URL, (accessed Date).

EXAMPLES:
Lewis, R., ed. Sax's Dangerous Properties of Industrial Materials. 12th ed. VanNostrandReinhold, New York, 2012, entry HBN000. http://www.knovel.com/ (accessed December 21, 2016).

For any Journal Article:
Every journal has its own rules for citations. If writing for a particular journal, consult the Author Information pages for that journal (found on their web pages) and follow their format or locate the journal in the EndNote list of outputs.  Format for journals follows Environmental Science and Technology, an ACS journal which includes titles of articles in their citations.

Author 1; Author 2; Author 3.  Title of Article. Journal abbreviation  year, volume, inclusive page span.
note: year should be in bold print or underlined with a wavy line; for journal name use CASSI abbreviation or write out the entire journal name. All important words in the title should be capitalized.

EXAMPLE:
Nagano, T.; Arakane, K.; Hirobe, M. Disulfide Interchange Reactions by Superoxide.Tetrahedron Lett., 1980, 52, 5021-5024.

OR

Nagano, T.; Arakane, K.; Hirobe, M. Disulfide Interchange Reactions by Superoxide.Tetrahedron Letters, 1980, 52, 5021-5024.

For a Journal Article that is ONLINE ONLY:
ONLINE ONLY means that the article is newly posted on a journal's website (for example, ASAP articles on the ACS site--example below) and does not have complete citation information available yet.

Author 1: Author 2; Author 3. Title of article. Journal abbreviation [Online] year, identifying information on website, URL, (accessed date).

EXAMPLES:
Yoon, K. Y.; Byeon, J. H.; Park, C. W.; Hwang, J. Antimicrobial Effect of Silver Particles on Bacterial Contamination of Activated Carbon Fibers. Environ. Sci. Technol. 2008, 10.1021/es0720199 [doi], http://www.acs.org (accessed January 11, 2013).

Li, Z.; Cui, F. Study of ferric hydroxide nanoparticle-catalyzed luminol chemiluminescence. Chemical Journal on Internet. [Online] 2005, 7, Article 3. http://www.chemistrymag.org/cji/2005, (accessed February 9, 2013).


For Non-scientific magazines and newspapers:
Author 1: Author 2; Author 3. Title of Article. Journal abbreviation, month, day, year, pagination.


Elkan, D. Trance, Scapel, Action! New Scient. August 6, 2005, 34-37.

For any Handbook: (Hard copy only)
Name of Handbook. Edition. Publisher: Place, Year; page and/or entry number.

EXAMPLES:
Some require page AND entry number (because entry number is not unique in the volume)

CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics
. 85th ed. CRC Press: Boca Raton, FL, 2004-2005; p 3-522, 9917.

HCP on the web: CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics, 97th ed, 2016-2017. http://www.hbcpnetbase.com/ (Accessed January 31, 2017).

Most require only an entry number, or in multivolume sets, the volume and entry number. (They have sequential (unique) entry numbers, in order.) For an example of a citation to a multivolume set, see that entry below.

Merck Index
. 15th ed. Merck: Whitehouse Station, NJ, 2013; 4896.

For any Patent:
Patent owner 1; Patent owner 2. Title. Country [use two letter country code] patent number. Year. [can use year or full date]

EXAMPLE:

Sikkenga, D. L. Selective Synthesis of Pseudocumene and Durene. US 5,891,467. 1990.

OR

Sikkenga, D. L. Selective Synthesis of Pseudocumene and Durene. US 5,891,467. 19900824.

 For any multi-volume set:
Author or Editor. Title. Publisher: Place, Year; Volume, page and/or entry.

EXAMPLES:

Fieser, M., Ed. Fieser and Fieser's Reagents for Organic Synthesis. Wiley: New York, 1986; Vol. 12, p 37.

Sax, N. I.; Lewis, R. J., Eds. Dangerous Properties of Industrial Materials. 12th ed. Van Nostrand-Reinhold: New York, 2012; Vol.3, HBN500.

For any encyclopedia:
Title of Encyclopedia, Title of Article, Edition, Publisher: Place, Year; Volume, page.

EXAMPLE:
McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science and Technology
, Polymer, 10th ed., McGraw-Hill: New York, 2002; Vol. 14, pp 164-173.

For any series or symposium:
Author (of article) Title (of article). IN: Title (of book or symposium); Author or editor (of book or symposium); series name and number (or) name and location of symposium, publisher: place, date, pages or chapter number.

EXAMPLES:
Loper, J. C. Biological Testing of Waterborne Organic Compounds. IN: Organic Pollutants in Water; Suffet, I.H., Ed.; Advances in Chemistry Series 214, American Chemical Society: Washington, DC, 1987, pp 595-604.

Wilkie, D. S. "Establishing the Okapi Rain Forest Reserve: Avoiding Human Land-Use Conflicts Using Satellite Image Analysis". IN: Remote Sensing Science for the Nineties. International Geoscience & Remote Sensing Symposium, 10th, Washington, DC. University of Maryland: College Park, MD, 1990, Vol. 1, pp 233-236.

For any thesis or dissertation:
Author. Title. Level of thesis, University name, date.

EXAMPLE:
Richard, R. E., Jr. Synthesis and Solution Properties of Side-Chain and Main-Chain Polyaminimides. PhD, University of Lowell, 1987.

For any CA reference: CA volume: abstract number. Use SFS reference whenever possible.

EXAMPLE:
SFS reference: Chem.Abstr. 2000, 142:58846 OR CAN: 142:58846.

For any reference book on CD-ROM or DVD:
Title, Edition. [CD-ROM or DVD]; publisher: place, date.

EXAMPLE:
Merck Index, 15th ed. [CD-ROM]; Merck: Whitehouse Station, NJ, 2013.

Encyclopedia of Human-Computer Interaction. [DVD], Association of Computing Machinery, New York, 2005.

For any WEB site:
Author (if any). Title of site. URL(accessed date), other identifying information.

EXAMPLES:
ChemCenter Home page
.http://www.chemcenter.org (accessed December 20, 2016).

Trinity University Cheminformatics Site
. http://hackberry.chem.trinity.edu/ (accessed January 11, 2016)

ACS  Publications Division Home page
. http://publs.acs.org (accessed February 22, 2016)

For a WEB site which uses a search engine to provide information, (such as a catalog site); use the URL of the main site only:
A detailed URL found by a search engine is often site and time specific and therefore the search cannot be replicated.
Title of site. item searched. site URL (accessed date).

EXAMPLES:
Chemfinder
. 2-bromobenzene. http://chemfinder.camsoft.com (accessed January 22, 2016).

Lancaster Catalog.
2-bromobenzene. http://www.lancastersynthesis-us.com/pages/home.html (accessed February 8, 2016)

For additional examples of online resource citations, check here.

For a Library Database on the WEB:
Cite the article, then list the name of the database, top URL, and the access date.


Zabner, J.; Seiler, M.; Launspach, J. "Ozmolyte xylitol reduces the salt concentration of airway surface liquid and may enhance bacterial killing" Proc. Nat. Acad. Sci. USA, 2000, 97, 11614-1161. Academic Search Premier, http://www.ebscohost.com/ASP (accessed November 18, 2016).

Huffman, G. B. Xylitol for prevention of acute otitis media in children. Amer. Fam. Phys.1999, 59, 680-682. Infotrac: Health Reference Center, http://infotrac.galegroup.com/itweb/mlin_n_umasslow?db=HRCA (accessed January 16, 2016)
For other details, please consult the ACS Style Guide, 3rd edition, 2006.

For Beilstein reference:
Note: This is the way the class should do it, as we must use the volumes, not an online version.

Beilstein: Volume: H, page; Supplement, page; Supplement, page...  Include only actual references, if there is no reference in H, or a particular supplement, it should not be included in the list.


EXAMPLE:

Beilstein: 1: H, 67; E I, 16; E II, 32; E III, 85; E IV, 78