CHEM.2600: Information Retrieval for Chemists

The material listed here is a compilation of the most important sources for researching chemical information. All of these sources will be discussed and used in the course: Information Retrieval in Chemistry, CHEM 2600. These titles are the best, but not the only, sources for data or references on chemicals, organic chemistry and related material.

ACS Style Guide: effective communication of scientific information. 4rd edition, ACS, Washington DC. 2020. Section 4.3 References.

Millipore-Sigma Chemical Company. (formerly Aldrich Chemical Company) Catalog. Millipore-Sigma, Milwaukee, WI. WEBSITE: Millipore-Sigma

Chemical Abstracts Service Source Index. CASSI. 1907-1994. 3v. Chemical Abstracts Service, Columbus, OH.   available as Web Tool at: CASSI

Chemical Rubber Company. Handbook of Chemistry and Physics. CRC Press, Boca Raton, FL. 87th. QD 65 .C72. Older editions have call number QD 65 .H3  Electronic Subscription (current edition) : ChemNetBase.

Dictionary of Organic Compounds.(DOC) 6th ed. 1996. 9v. Chapman and Hall, London.   Electronic subscription: ChemNetBase.

Encyclopedia of Reagents for Organic Synthesis. 8 vol. Wiley, New York. QD 77 .E53 1995. 

Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology. 4th ed. 1992-1998. 26v. Wiley-Interscience, N.Y. TP 9 .E685 1992.  5th ed in progress. v. 1-4.  Electronic subscription to 5th edition: Kirk Othmer

Lewis, Richard ed. Sax's Dangerous Properties of Industrial Materials. 10th ed. 2000. 3v. Van Nostrand Reinhold, N.Y.  T 55.3 .H3 L494.  Electronic subscription, latest edition: Wiley

Merck Index. Merck Co, Rahway, NJ. 13th ed..   RS 51 .M4 2006.  Electronic Subscription to latest edition 

Organic Syntheses. 11 collective volumes; Index for vol. 1-8; Wiley, N.Y.  QD 262 .O71. Now available FREE on the WEB--for best results, install ChemDraw on your computer. 

Patterson, Austin. Patterson's German-English Dictionary for Chemists. 4th ed. 1992. Wiley, N.Y.  QD 5 .P3 1992.

INDEX AND ABSTRACTING SERVICES

Beilsteins Handbuch der Organischen Chemie. 4th ed. Hauptwerke & Erganzungswerke 1-4. QD 251 .B4. Located in corridor outside 216A, Dr. Ruths' office.

 SciFinder-n is full web-based electronic access to Chemical Abstracts from 1907- and Medline, 1950-Available 24 hours a day, login using your own account that you can set up here: SciFinder Registration 
 Please remember to log completely out of SciFinder when you finish your searching.  

Engineering Index. 1920-1970, Storage.  Also on the WEB: COMPENDEX WEB, 1970-

Ebsco Databases 1990-  This service offers a number of subject specialty databases and Academic Search Ultimate, which has full text access to over 4500 titles.

Infotrac 1980- This contains several databases of interest.  Expanded Academic Index is the index for 1500 academic journals, including full text for about 1100 of them. Others include: Health, General Business, and Magazines, plus several literary databases.

ScienceDirect. 1995- This database covers approximately 2000 Elsevier Press journals, with full content.

MEDLINE available on Ebsco.  Also on the WEB at: PubMed and in SciFinder.

ProQuest Biological Sciences  Offers a large and comprehensive Biological Sciences Database, including both Biochemistry and Biotechnology.  

Knovel  A large database of technical handbooks for engineers and scientists.  Exceptional searching tools and graphing capabilities.  Includes the entire International Critical Tables, and many other important engineering tools.

EndNote  A citation management software tool, web-based and accessible anywhere for all UML students.