Faculty and researchers: We want to hear from you! We are launching a survey to learn more about your library collection needs for teaching, learning, and research. If you would like to participate, please complete the survey by May 17, 2024. Thank you for your participation!
TO USE SciFinder-n off campus:
Open the SciFinder-n browser (under "S" in the alphabet list on the library page) or on the SciFinder-n page for our class. You will be sent to the University Login page, where you must login with your university email address and password. Then it will send you right to the SciFinder-n login page, where you must login with your SciFinder-n username and password. On your own personal computer, laptop, or device, SciFinder-n allows you to keep your login open. DO NOT choose this option when using a University or other public access computer.
Use SciFinder Mobile to access a version of SciFinder-n made for your IOS or Android Phone.
This is not the full SciFinder-n but does provide access to citations, structures and quick lookups from mobile devices.
Log in as you would to regular SciFinder-n web version.
Click to Learn how to Search Scifinder-n.
SciFinder-n consists of the complete Chemical Abstracts Service database from 1907- and the complete Medline database, from 1950-. Millions of spectra, and records from chemical literature before 1907 are also available. UMASS Lowell Libraries provides SciFinder-n Web access for current students, faculty and staff in the Library, anywhere on campus and at home, provided they have properly registered for an account. You sign up for an account in SciFinder-n (for which you must use your UML email address), and you must also be proxied through the UML system. For help on searching SciFinder-n, check out the tutorials provided by the Chemical Abstracts Service.
SciFinder-n is available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week except for late Saturday night into early Sunday morning. There is no limit on the number of simultaneous users. We are guaranteed that all our users will be able to access SciFinder -n 95% of the time. Please remember to read the conditions statement when logging on and abide by the limits on the number of records. Because of heavy use, please remember to log out completely and properly from SciFinder-n, otherwise a port will be blocked for up to 20 minutes.
Part of SciFinder-n is a feature which will automatically connect you to the full text of an article, provided UML has access. As part of this service, popups need to be enabled in the browser you use. If possible, allow a permanent exception from the popup browser for SciFinder-n--you should get a dialog about this the first time you try to get a full text article. Warning: Chrome browser message is very small, in the upper right hand corner, and may only be an icon! Safari does not allow exceptions for the pop-up blocker, so you must turn off the popup blocker before using SciFinder-n via Safari.
SciFinder-n access is only available for current students, faculty and staff at UMass Lowell. You must have a current UML email address to register for SciFinder-n access.
Register to have web access via the link below. You will be able to choose your own username and password and a security question. You must receive an email from SciFinder-n and reply to it in order for your access to be complete.
SciFinder-n Registration
Only your name and email address are required. Your email address must be your UML email address.
Please note that you must choose a username of 5-15 letters which may include only letters and/or numbers and any of the following special symbols:
- dash
_ Underscore
. period
@ at symbol
Your password must be more complex, with 7-15 characters and AT LEAST THREE of the following:
To use the web version of SciFinder-n, you will need:
Browser:
Windows 10: Firefox 44 and higher, Firefox 38 (ESR); Internet Explorer 11; Chrome 48 and higher
Windows 8, 8.1: Firefox 44 and higher, Firefox 38 (ESR); Internet Explorer 10 (Windows 8); Internet Explorer 11 (Windows 8.1); Chrome 48 and higher
Windows 7*: Firefox 44 and higher, Firefox 38 (ESR); Internet Explorer 8 and higher; Chrome 48 and higher
Windows XP Professional, Vista*: Firefox 44 and higher, Firefox 38 (ESR); Internet Explorer 7 and 8; Internet Explorer 9.0 (Vista); Chrome 48 and higher
Mac OS 10.11: Safari 9.0; Firefox 44 and higher, Firefox 38 (ESR); Chrome 48 and higher
Mac OS 10.10: Safari 8.0; Firefox 44 and higher, Firefox 38 (ESR); Chrome 48 and higher
Mac OS 10.9: Safari 7.0, 7.1; Firefox 44 and higher, Firefox 38 (ESR); Chrome 48 and higher
Mac OS 10.8: Safari 6.0, 6.1; Firefox 44 and higher, Firefox 38 (ESR); Chrome 48 and higher
Mac OS 10.7: Firefox 44 and higher, Firefox 38 (ESR); Safari 5.1 and Safari 6.0, 6.1; Chrome 48 and higher
Mac OS 10.6: Firefox 44 and higher, Firefox 38 (ESR); Safari 5.0 and 5.1; Chrome 48 and higher
To use structure searching, you must have Java Runtime Environment (JRE).
You must have Java, Javascript, and enable cookies. If you have a popup blocker, either turn it off or add the following sites to your "popups allowed" list:
scifinder.cas.org
chemport.cas.org
myendnoteweb.com
