LibGuides: Asian American Studies Research Guide: Arts and Media

Arts and Media

Depending on your research topic within arts and media, you might need to search databases that focus on video/image resources, scholarly articles about this subject, or some combination of both.

Art and Architecture Complete
A key research collection of full text articles and books covering architecture, art and art history, film, interior and landscape design, and much more. Articles are from either specialty art and architecture magazines, or academic journals and books.
AVON (Academic Video Online)
A streaming media database that includes access to 84,000+ videos across almost all disciplines, with award-winning documentaries, interviews, training and demo films, news programs, and more. Channels include CNN content, BBC Landmark productions, Film Platform documentaries, PBS programming, and some Sony Pictures Classics. ALso known as ProQuest's Academic Video Online.
Kanopy
A video streaming service for quality, thoughtful entertainment. Find movies, documentaries, foreign films, classic cinema, independent films and educational videos.
MLA International Bibliography
The MLA (Modern Language Association) International Bibliography provides up-to-date and historical citations from a myriad of humanities subjects and formats. An excellent resource for research in history, philosophy, communications, cross-disciplinary subjects, world languages and literatures, linguistics, dramatic arts, film, folklore, rhetoric and writing studies, teaching of language, and history of publishing.

It also includes the MLA Directory of Periodicals and the MLA Thesaurus, a proprietary, searchable collection of thousands of subject terms, and personal names used in indexing the bibliography.

Coverage: late 19th century - present
JSTOR
Includes access to Artstor, which holds over 1.8 million images in art, architecture, humanities, and social sciences. From the main page, click the Images tab above the search bar and enter your keywords, or click Browse from the top menu bar and select Images.