LibGuides: Asian American Studies Research Guide: Immigration and Civil Rights

Immigration and Civil Rights

Depending on your research topic within the larger areas of immigration and/or civil rights, you might need to search databases that focus on the legal aspects of those issues, the historic/ sociological elements, or some combination of both. In addition to the news and law databases listed below, you might find relevant material from historic/ sociological sources posted on this guide's Articles and Databases page:

CQ Researcher
Focusing on a single issue in the news each week, CQ Researcher provides in-depth, original, comprehensive reporting and analysis. Sections of the reports generally include background, pro/con arguments, chronology, and resources for additional research.

Coverage: 1991 - present
HeinOnline
The database provides access to more than 3,000 scholarly journals on law related topics. It also contains a large collection of government documents including, the entire Congressional Record and Code of Federal Regulations, along with treaties, constitutions, case law, presidential documents, and more.
Congressional Publications
An extensive collection of publications produced by the U.S. Congress including, bills, laws, hearing transcripts, committee prints, and legislative histories. Also included are reports from the Congressional Budget Office, the Congressional Research Service, the GAO and others. Much of the material is full text. Coverage 1789 - current
Nexis Uni
A key resource for regional, national, and international news, especially useful for business, including company and market information, and political science research. Also a major resource for legal information such as case law, law reviews, codes and regulations, and patents. Coverage from 1800 – current.