LibGuides: Asian American Studies Research Guide: Articles and Databases

Asian American Studies Articles and Databases

On this page, you can learn when articles are most useful for research and how to borrow articles from other libraries with our free Interlibrary Loan (ILL) service.

We've chosen the most relevant databases for general research in Asian American Studies. If these selections don’t fit what you’re looking for, check the Special Topics pages on this guide or visit our full list of UML-accessible databases for more options.

If you aren't already signed into UML systems, you'll need to log in with your UML credentials to view article or database content.

Best Bets

These are top resources we recommend for getting started with your research:

JSTOR
A key collection of both high-quality academic journals and high-quality art and history images. Now including Artstor, over 1.8 million images in art, architecture, humanities, and social sciences, with tools to view, present, and manage images. Most journals include full backfile, dating from the first issue, reaching back decades or even over 100 years. Most journals do not include the most recent 1-3 years. Covers topics across the disciplines, from arts and humanities to social sciences, sciences, and engineering.
U.S. History in Context
Gale in Context: U.S. History provides informational encyclopedic entries about significant people, events and topics in U.S. history. These entries are linked to relevant full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, images, videos, audio files, and links to vetted websites providing a broad array of sources for each topic. Coverage: Colonization through contemporary history. For global history content, visit World History in Context
America: History and Life
A definitive collection of academic sources collected from over 1,000 key journals covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. Also includes citations and links to book and media reviews. Also includes CLIO Notes -- overviews of historical periods and detailed chronologies for major events and issues. Publication dates: 1964 - current. For world history content, visit Historical Abstracts

Exploring More

Try these options to expand your research:

PsycINFO
One of the most comprehensive resources available for exploring and locating behavioral and social science research. Coverage: 1644-present
Sociological Abstracts
Sociological Abstracts, and its companion file Social Services Abstracts, cover the international literature of sociology, social work, and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. It provides abstracting and indexing of articles and book reviews drawn from thousands of serials publications, plus books, book chapters, dissertations, conference papers, and working papers.
Coverage: 1952 - current

Deep Dives

These materials are recommended for more intensive research:

About Articles

What are Articles?

Articles are essays or reports published within a larger container like a journal, newspaper, or magazine. That larger container is called a "periodical" because it is published periodically, or on a regular basis. Different types of periodicals are made for different audiences (popular, scholarly, or trade) and you can learn more about those distinctions with our Types of Sources guide.

Articles are good for...

Current, up-to-date information
- Periodicals are generally quicker to publish than books or long-form films.
Literature reviews and other reviews of a topic
- These elements are often placed at the start of an article to set the stage.
A deep dive into a specific research question, experiment, or study
- Articles often focus on a narrower topic than books.
Peer-reviewed information
- Newspaper articles go through at least some fact-checking, while academic articles are typically reviewed by other scholars and dedicated editors.

To learn more about searching for articles, visit the Library’s Guide to Article Quick Search.

About Interlibrary Loan (ILL)

What is Interlibrary Loan?

Interlibrary Loan (ILL) is a free service that allows UML Library patrons to access items we don’t own by borrowing from partner libraries.

How do I use Interlibrary Loan?

Create an account
- Visit our ILL Login Page and click "First Time Users."
- On the new page, scroll down and click "Continue to new user registration."
- Fill out the form and click "Submit Information."
Place your request
- Once you’ve created your account, visit our Guide to Interlibrary Loan to learn how to submit an ILL request through our Library’s catalog and databases.

Can I get Interlibrary Loan items quickly?

Depending on how rare the item is or which libraries own a copy, it might take longer to process your ILL request. Be sure to allow enough time for your item to arrive.
- Physical books, CDs, and DVDs usually arrive within 2-14 business days
- Articles and book chapters often arrive in 1-2 business days, sent by email as a PDF

If you have questions about your ILL request or account, please send an email to ILLSOUTH@uml.edu.