Tremont and Suffolk Mills. Architectural and Engineering Drawings, 1889-1932. Center for Lowell History, University of Massachusetts Lowell.
Tremont and Suffolk Mills. Records, 1831-1936. Baker, Harvard University.
Tsongas, Paul E. Congressional Papers, 1974-1993. Center for Lowell History, University of Massachusetts Lowell.
University of Massachusetts Lowell (State Normal School, Lowell State Teachers College, Lowell Textile School, Lowell Technological Institute). Tape Interviews, Photographs, and Records, 1890s-1997. Center for Lowell History,
University of Massachusetts Lowell.
Varney, Edward Stuart. Journals, 1892-1898. Lowell Historical Society at Center for Lowell History, University of Massachusetts Lowell.
Wendel family. Business records, 1722-1865. Baker, Harvard University.
Western Americana manuscripts at Houghton Library, 1805-1923. Harvard University.
Whitaker, Channing. Personal Papers and Business Records,
Lowell Museum at Center for Lowell History, University of Massachusetts Lowell.
Whitaker, Channing. Lowell Machine Shop Records,
Lowell Museum at Center for Lowell History, University of Massachusetts Lowell.
MERCURY GAZETTE (LOWELL) November 1829-August 1830
MERRIMACK JOURNAL March 1826-January 1827 (some gaps)
THE MESSENGER June 1836
MIDDLESEX GAZETTE August 1820-March 1822 (some gaps)
MIDDLESEX STANDARD July 1844-March 1845
MIDDLESEX TELEGRAPH July 1845
THE MIDDLESEX WORKER July 1867
MIRROR (THE LOWELL) June 1852-August 1852 (some gaps)
NEW ENGLAND CHRISTIAN January-March 1841
NEW ENGLAND GREEK MESSENGER March 1915-March 1919
NEW MOON November 1881-1885 (some gaps)
NEWS (SUNDAY) November 1916-May 1920
OFFERING (LOWELL) April 1840-1845
OFFERING (NEW ENGLAND) April 1848-March 1850
OBSERVER (LOWELL) January 1832-October 1833 (some gaps)
OLD LADIES PIECE BAG 1867-1899 (some gaps)
THE OPERATIVE December 1844-February 1845 (some gaps)
THE OPERATIVES MAGAZINE April 1841-August 1842
OPTIC (LOWELL) May 1961-August 1961 (some gaps)
OUR HOME November 1878-December 1894
PALMER’S ILLUSTRATED LIFE IN LOWELL July 1849-August 1850
PATRIOT (LOWELL) November 1834-August 1845
PATRIOT & REPUBLICAN (LOWELL) November 1846-August 1849
PHILANTHROPIST (LOWELL) September 1835 (some gaps)
PRESS (SUNDAY) October 1895-October 1899
REFORMER September 1872
REPUBLICAN (LOWELL) July 1845
REPUBLIQUE March 1901-June 1902
REVUE DE LOWELL August 1902-January 1904
ROSEBUD March 1832-August 1833
RUTLAND HERALD March 1812-October 1812 (some gaps)
SABBATH SCHOOL MESSENGER April 1842-April 1843
SATYROS February 1914-April 1940 (some gaps)
SENTINEL (THE LOWELL) April 1861
THE SCOURGE September 1846
THE SPINDLE CITY September 1851-March 1852 (some gaps)
EVENING STAR March 1890-December 1895
STAR (THE LOWELL) August 1870
STAR OF BETHLEHEM January 1841-May 1846 (some gaps)
THE STATE September 1885-January 1886 (some gaps)
SUN (LOWELL) August 1881 - May 2002
LE SUPPLEMENT March 1913-March 1916
TELEGRAM (LOWELL DAILY) October 1907-December 1907
TELEGRAM (LOWELL SUNDAY) April 1899-September 1952
THE TIMES September 1833-December 1833 (some gaps)
TIMES (LOWELL MORNING) July 1875-December 1896 (some gaps)
TIMES (LOWELL WEEKLY) January 1880-December 1887
TRUE WHIG (THE LOWELL) October 1855
TRUMPET (THE LOWELL) April 1857-May 1857 (some gaps)
TRUMPET & UNIVERSALIST MAGAZINE June 1842-December 1842
UNION (WEEKLY) April 1858
L'UNION May 1889-March 1890
UNIVERSALIST MAGAZINE 1832
April 1842-June 1842 (some gaps)
LA VERITE August 1910-November 1910
VOICE OF INDUSTRY May 1845-April 1848 (some gaps)
VOX POPULI January 1842-1890 (some gaps)
VOX POPULI (SATURDAY) March 1869-December 1889 (some gaps)
WORCESTER COUNTY GAZETTE & MIDDLESEX March 1845-July 1845 (some gaps)
YOEMAN’S GAZETTE April 1827-January 1828 (some gaps)
ZION BANNER July 1840-March 1842 (some gaps)
LOWELL: ATLASES AND MAPS
Atlases show lots, buildings and property owners and are available for 1879, 1882, 1892, 1896, 1906 1936, 1977. There are additional Lowell Maps showing some buildings, wards, and streets for 1829, 1832, 1845, 1850, 1866, 1878, 1888.
LOWELL: CIVIL WAR VETERANS RECORDS 1880-1900
The Vetrerans Affairs Office at City Hall provides financial support to American Veterans. Indexes are available of the surviving records for Lowell's Civil War Veterans.
Lowell Directories are available from 1832 to 1990. They include: Resident Directory arranged by name, listing work address, occupation, and home address; Business Directory arrange by product; and Advertisements. After 1881, dates of death are noted. Beginning in 1883, most directories contain a ward and street map. Beginning in 1917, wives names are listed and there is a section arranged by street address.
LOWELL: TELEPHONE DIRECTORIES
Lowell Telephone Directories are available from 1932-1997.
LOWELL: VITAL RECORDS AFTER 1900
As part of a effort to document Lowell's History, a small but determined group of volunteers is indexing vital records from local newspapers. Currently available are Obituary Index 1900-1933; Birth Index 1900-1910.
MASSACHUSETTS: MARRIAGE RECORDS
The Commonwealth of Massachusetts has microfilmed marriage certificates from 1840-1900 and developed a chronological index. These records provide basic information on the couple to be married, including the names of both sets of parents.
MASSACHUSETTS: POPULATION CENSUS
The Commonwealth of Massachusetts also conducts a Population Census every ten years which began in 1855. The State Census is available on microfilm for 1855 and 1865. Additional State Census information after 1865 is available in manuscript form in the State Archives at Boston's Columbia Point.
MASSACHUSETTS: VITAL RECORDS UP TO 1850
Available for many towns and cities including Lowell, these volumes contains Birth, Marriage and Death Records compiled from local records, cemetery records and church records, arranged alphabetically.
MASSACHUSETTS: WORLD WAR I DRAFT CARDS
Young men at the age of 18 were required to register for the United States Selective Service from 1917-1919. These records are arranged by Local Draft Board # (3 in Lowell) and then alphabetically by name. Information includes age, eye color, hair color, service, and nearest relative.
NEW ENGLAND: CITY DIRECTORIES
City Directories of major textile cities and towns in Maine, New Hampshire and Massachusetts are available on microfiche.
US: POPULATION CENSUS MANUSCRIPT
The Lowell Historical Society at Center for Lowell History has purchased the US Population Census Manuscript on microfilm for Middlesex and Essex Counties 1790-1920 (1890 was destroyed). Only Heads of Households are listed in the Census from 1790-1840. Beginning in 1850 each member of the household is listed in the Census.
US: POPULATION CENSUS PERSONAL NAME INDEX
There are published name indexes for 1800, 1810, 1820, 1830, 1840, 1850, with reference to county, town or city, and microfilm page number. The 1860 name index is on CD (see Martha Mayo). The Center produced a name index for the small portion of the 1890 Census that survives.
US: POPULATION CENSUS STREET NAME INDEX
Street Guides for the 1880, 1900, 1910, and 1920 US Census, are arranged alphabetically by street name with reference to Enumeration District # and microfilm page number. Used in conjunction with the Lowell City Directories, these Street Guides quickly limit a Census search.
US: SOCIAL SECURITY DEATH BENEFITS RECORDS
President Franklin Roosevelt established the US Social Security Office in 1937. These records list those who have died and provided Social Security Benefits from 1937 through December 1993. They are arranged alphabetically by name, with reference to Social security #, date of birth, date of death, and state.
Albert, Peter. "Lowell's Feelings on the Question of the Blackman: 1860-1863"
Allen, Stephen. "The Life of the Tramp in Lowell During the Depression Years of 1893-1895"
Anderson, Elizabeth C. "Weaving Cloth, Spinning Stories: Lucy Larcom"
Bahr, Betsy. "Nineteenth Century Textile Mill Design and the Factory Workplace"
Baskin, David. "The Jews in Lowell, 1905-1918"
Bassnett, John W. "Recruiting and Conscription in the City of Lowell During the American Civil War 1861-1865"
Beati, Audrey. "An Interview with Rose"
Blewett, Mary H. "State Funded Industrial Policy and Corporate Decision Making"
Blewett, Mary H. "Urban Progressivism and Ethnic Politics: The Irish Capture of Lowell, Massachusetts: 1890-1911"
Blewett, Mary H. "The Last Generation of Women Textile Workers in Lowell: Their Work and Their Lives"
Blewett, Mary H. "Mill Workers of Lowell & Working People of Lowell"
Borges, Karen. "The Portuguese Community in Lowell"
Boutelis, Dena. "Drama in Lowell"
Brissett, Donna A. "The African-American Experience in Lowell"
Burns, Edward. "Ethnic Family Paper on Greeks"
Campbell, Lindsey Ann. "The Impact of World War II on the City of Lawrence from December 8, 1941 - August 31, 1942"
Chan, Sithra. "Works and Society"
Cheung, Yin L. "An Analytical Model of the Lowell Canal System"
Chutchian, Diana. "Lowell's Reaction to the Depression"
Coffin, Mark T. "The Lowell Offering, Art Works, and the Lowell Factory Girl: A Manufactured Culture"
Cognac, Pauline. "New England Cotton Textile Interest and the Dream of China Market"
Cohen, Gillian Dara. "Knowledge of How to Combine: The Political Socialization of Southeast Asian Refugees in Lowell, Massachusetts, 1984-1988"
Colegrove, Doris. "Doctor Nathan Allen of Lowell: Nineteenth Century Traditionalist and Social Critic"
Corbett, William. "The Middlesex Canal Through the City of Medford"
Dalzell, Robert. "The Rise of the Waltham-Lowell System and Some Thoughts on the Political Economy of Modernization in Anti-Bellium"
DiGiammarino, Doris. "Lowell Cotton Mills System, 1830-1850: Utopic in Design--Dehumanizing in Practice"
Downey, Jean G. and, Marian C. Harmon. "Emily Frances Fletcher"
Dublin, Thomas. "Women, Work and the Family: Women Operatives in the Lowell Mills: 1830-1860"
Dugan, Robert E. "Distinguished Visitors to Lowell"
Dugan, Robert E. "Politics on the National Level in Lowell, Massachusetts: 1856-1868"
Emanouil, Christine. "The 1915 Massachusetts Suffrage Reform Lowell and Lawrence"
Emmet, Alan S. "Open Space in Lowell"
Farrell, Richard. "John Jacob Rogers"
Flanagan, William T. "The Emergence of the Irish as a Political Factor in Lowell 1850-1922"
Flanders, Sandra. "Rogers Hall School: 1922-1973"
Frazer, Arthur H. "Early Hydraulic Science And Scientists At Lowell, Massachusetts"
Gaulix, Kathy. "Lowell's Poor and the City Farms: 1880-1903"
Gerson, Jeffrey. "Cambodian Political Succession In Lowell, Massachusetts 1980-1995"
Gilardi, Michael. "Lowell's Reaction to the Depression: 1933=1934"
Goldford, Robert. "The Conception of Home of the New England Operatives in Lowell"
Gordan, Cassandra. "Private Social Service Agencies in Lowell: 1839-1901"
Green, Julie. "Women's Images, Women's Place: Writings of the Early Lowell Mill Girls"
Grenier, Michael. "La Corporation des Membres de L'Association Catholique: A French Canadian Experience in Lowell, Massachusetts"
Gross, Laurence F. "Proposal for A Study of Lowell's Industrialization and Decline" 1994
Haller, Charlotte. "Irish Factory Women: Identity and Community in Lowell, Massachusetts during the 1850s"
Hamilton, Clare C. "The Effects of the Depression Years of 1893 and 1894 on Lowell".
Hardy, Dave and Donna Ellis. "The Irish in America and Today in the Merrimack Valley"
Harrington, Ann Marie. "Rogers Hall: The First Thirty Years"
Hassett, Linda. "Ethnicity and Isolationism in Lowell: 1914-1916"
Heffernan, Paul J. "Lowell, Massachusetts: A City at War: January 1, 1941 - December 31, 1942"
Hiedenrick, John. "The Regions Abolitionist Movement in Lowell 1834-1845"
Hill, Charles W. "Lowell"
Hiscoe, DeMerritte Allen. "History of Lowell State College from 1925-1926"
Hogan, Kathleen. "History of the Library, LTI"
Hood, Deborah. "Conception of Education and the Public School System of Lowell: 1824-1860"
Hudon, Paul. "The Covenant"
Hurtin, Anne. "Theodore Edson and the Early Schools of Lowell, Massachusetts"
Hutman, Sharon. "The Lowell Mill Girl: Was She or Wasn't She?"
Jacobs, Stanley. "Lethargy in Lowell: The Decline of the Textile Industry"
Johnson, H.R. "Benjamin F. Butler"
Joy, Randoll S. "The Jewish Community of Lowell: The Jewish People of America"
Kacimarski, Phyllis. "Family History Project"
Karabatsos, Lewis. "An Interview with Yvonne Hoar: Mill Life in Lowell"
Karavos, Patricia A. "A Biographical Sketch of Kirk Boott to 1826"
Kearns, David. "The 1936 Flood in Lowell, Massachusetts"
Koczarski, William T. "A Study of the Lowell Mills: 1858-1866"
Kolack, Shirley. "A Course in Ethnic Studies"
Koniowka, Debra. "Lowell Day Nursery: 1885-1873"
Kowalski, Lydia. "An Interview with Mr. and Mrs. Nicholas Tzankos of the Greek Community"
Labreque, Maureen. "The Boston and Lowell Railroad"
Lafferty, Tom. "The Lowell Mill Girls"
Lane, Eric. "The Seal of the City, Lowell, Massachusetts"
Leczynski, Jane. "The Polish Community of Lowell, Massachusetts: A Study in Assimilation and Mobility in the Early Twentieth Century"
Lemire (VISTA Volunteer), Germaine B. "An Interview with John Sullivan"
Leney, Julie M. "Lowell as a Laboratory: An experiment in Public Housing"
Levy, Herbert M.W. "Changes thru Structure: The New England Industrial Building: 1787-1873"
Ley, Sann. "Southeastern Asian Refugees in Lowell"
Liakos, Joyce. "Development of Lowell's Public Schools"
Lutz, Marilyn. "Twilight Memories"
Marcouillier, Ronald A. "The Economical Effect of the Civil War on Lowell, Massachusetts"
Marston, Stella A. "Adopted citizens: discourse and the production of meaning among nineteenth centruy American urban immigrants"
Matyka, Carol. "The Irish and the Politics of Liquor Licenses, Lowell 1905-1909"
McCaffrey, Michael T. "Lowell, Massachusetts: A City at War: January 1, 1941 - December 31, 1942"
McCartin, Marian. "The Development of the North Commons Housing Project in Lowell 1937-1941"
McDonnell, Richard R. "Lowell and the Volstead Act: 1919-1921"
McGowan, James. "A Practicum in History"
McHugh, Brian. "Treatment of Children in Lowell: City and Institutional Care: 1890-1914"
McKenna, James W. IV, Maurice L. Ouelette, and, and Lenore R. Ouelette. "The History of the McKenna-Ouelette Funeral Homes"
McKenney, Kristin T. "Women Students at LTI"
McPartland, Marie E. "The Young Women's Christian Association and the Women of Lowell: 1891-1946"
Megowen, Margaret. "The Old Middlesex Canal"
Melancon, Donald. "The Transfer of Power from Edith Nourse Rogers to F. Bradford Morse in the Fifth Congressional District of Massachusetts: 1950-1964"
Melia, Nancy O. "Proprietors of Locks & Canal"
Montiminy, Renee. "The Story of A Mill Girl"
Morin, Rachel. "The Flood of 1936 (Lowell)"
Morin, Rachel A., Kathleen M. McCarthy, and Eileen M. McCarthy. "The Mill Girls of Lowell: Or Lights and Shadows of Factory Life (A reconstruction of the original play)"
Moynihan, Patricia. "A Collective Biography of Irish Catholics in Lowell"
Mulligan, Mary T. "The 1912 Textile Strike in Lowell"
Mulligan, Mary T. "Epilogue to Lawrence: The 1912 Textile Strike in Lowell, Massachusetts"
Mulvey, Ann. "Perception of Safety and Qualities of Lives: Women and Men in Lowell, 1982-1994"
Murphy, Garry P. "Social Mobility Among the Greeks in Lowell"
Murphy, Garry P. "Eliades, George: The First Greek American Mayor of Lowell"
Mynder, Devon. "Mill Health"
Nyder, Barbara Ann. "Lowell Women in the Civil War"
Nyder, Dale E. "Assimilation of the Greek Community in Lowell: 1891-1920, Case Study".
O'Donnell, Brian. "The Spindle Stop and Manchester, NH; Respond to the Collapse of the New England Textile Industry"
Orrick, William. "Progress, Retrenchment, Stagnation: Lowell Municipal Administration and Politics: 1883-1890"
Parrott, Charles. "Greening The Early Industrial City: Lowell's Merrimack Canal Parkway" 1995
Patel, Vinod. "Temple: A Symbol of Indian Heritage"
Pedone, Martha. "The Founding of Rogers Hall of Lowell in 1892: A Study in Secondary and Higher Education for Women"
Pelland, Paul. "Depression Politics in Lowell: The Elections of 1894 and 1896"
Peters, Bradly. "The Rebirth of a Mill Yard"
Pinard, Andrew. "The Boston and Maine Railroad From 1915 to 1945"
Polizotti, Carol. "Urban Development"
Proctor, Thomas. "Middlesex Canal"
Quinn, Kathleen. "The Lowell Factory System and its Female Operatives from 1830 to 1850".
Ramirez, Peter. "Growth and Development of Athletics at L.T.I."
Redmount, Esther. "Cyclical Patterns in School Attrition and Attendence: A study in the Labor Market Behavior of Children"
Richards, Peter. "Characteristics of Irish Immigrants in North America Derived from the Boston Pilot "Missing Friends, 1831-1850"
Riley, Eileen Mary. "Some Major Events in the History of Notre Dame Academy, Lowell, Massachusetts: 1852-1980"
Roacha, Edward. "The Lowell Shoe Strike 1933"
Roake, Eileen. "The General Textile Strike of 1934 in Lowell"
Robinson, Suzanne. "Music in Lowell"
Roux, Mary Ann P. "Little Canada"
Ryan, Loretta. "Afro-Americans in Lowell, Massachusetts"
Ryan, Loretta. "The Remaking of Lowell and its Histories: 1965-1982"
Samowski, Edward. "The Sixth Regiment: A Study on the Creation of an Effective Fighting Unit and its Activities During the Opening Days of the Civil War"
Sande, Theodore. "The Architecture of the Cotton Textile Mills of Lowell, Massachusetts: 1822-1860"
Scollar, Edward J. "The 1918 Cotton Textile Strike in Lowell, Massachusetts"
Shanahan, Kevin. "Study of the Abbott Worsted Mills of Westford, Massachusetts"
Shanahan, Mark A. "Lowell Paternalism or Tyranny"
Sherman, J. "Labor in Lowell in the Post-Depression Years: 1891-1893"
Smith, Jeffrey. "Play Ball"
Staples, Ellen. "Chronology on Lowell Newspapers"
Stevens, James. "A History of Grammar Schools in Lowell"
Studley, Thomas. "The Effects of the Korean War on Lowell, Massachusetts, June 1950-July 1951"
Terruso, James. "The Trolleys of Lowell: 1863-1935"
Themeles, Thomas. "Wage Cuts and Strikes: The Dilemma of the Textile Workers of Lowell in the Depression of the 1890's"
Therrien, Jennifer. "An Irish Perspective of Yesteryear"
Thibodeau, Stephen and Robert Lussier. "The French-Canadian Ethnic Group of Lowell"
Thomas, Elly. "Immigrant Life Past and Present"
Thomas, John M. "Band of Sisters"
Turner, Stephen. "Immigrant Experience"
Ward, Jane E. "The Irish in Lowell, Massachusetts: Changes from 1840-1860"
Warren, Joseph (Rabbi). "History of the Lowell Hebrew Community Center and the Temple Beth El (1937-1955)"
Wilder, Bonnie Graves. "The Music of the Early Lowell Mill Girls"
Wilder, Bonnie Graves. "The Lowell Mill Era 1840-1855 (The Mill Girls and Their Music)"
Wilkinson, Peter F. "Judge Samuel Page Hadley of Lowell: The Man and His Career"
Wilson, Sharon W. "Lowell's Reaction to the Depression: 1929-1930"
Wirzbicki, Brian. "History of the Radio Station WLTI/WJUL 1952-1985"
Wood, Karen G. "The Textile Mills of Roswell, Georgia"
Zebroski, Shirley. "The 1903 Strike in Lowell Cotton Mills"
Zemgalis, Karl. "The Influenza Epidemic of 1918"
Abbott, Edith. Women in Industry. New York: D. Appleton and Company, 1910. Reprint: Arno Press, 1969.
Abbott, Eleanor Hallowell. Little Eve Egardton. New York: The Century Company, 1914.
_____. Molly Make-Believe. New York: The Century Company, 1910.
Abbott, Katherine M. Old Paths and Ledgends of the New England Border. New York: G.P. Putnam's Sons, 1907.
_____. South Shore Trolley Trips. Lowell: Katherine M. Abbott, 1898.
_____. Trolley Trips on a Bay State Triangle, for Sixty Sunny Days. Lowell: Katherine M. Abbott, 1897.
_____. Trolley Trips ; The Historic New England Coast. Lowell, Katherine M. Abbott, 1899.
_____. Twentieth Century Trolley Trips. Boston: Charles E. Webster Company, 1901.
Abroad in America; Visitors to the New Nation, 1776-1914. Essays written to accompany the exhibit at the National Portrait Gallery, Smithsonian Institution. Reading, MA: National Portrait Gallery, Smithsonian Institution: Addison-Wesley Publishing Compay, 1976.
The Accountant's Assistant in Making Up Payroll; two very useful tables for computing wages, prepared by B.H. Penhallow. Lowell, 1853.
Adams, John G. Fifty Notable Years; Views of the Ministry of Christain Universalism during the Last Half Century. With Biographical shetches. 2nd edition. Boston, Universalist Publishing House, 1883.
_____. The Universalism of the Lord's Prayer; words to all Christain Churches and to All Mankind. Boston: Universalist Publishing House, 1879.
Adams, Russell B, Jr. The Boston Money Tree. New York: Crowell, 1977.
Adams, William Forbes. Ireland and Irish Immigration from 1815 to the Famine. New Haven: University Press, 1932. Reprint: New York: Russell & Russell, 1967.
Addison, Daniel Dulany. Lucy Larcom; Life, Letters, and Diary. Cambridge: Houghton, Mifflin and Company, 1897.
Ahasuerus Council. Old Constitution, Present Charter, By-laws, List of Members and Organization of Ahasuerus Council, Lowell, Mass. Lowell: Stone & Huse, Printers, 1878.
Aiken, John. Labor and Wages, At Home and Abroad; in a series of newspaper articles. Lowell: D. Bixby and Company, 1849.
Albert, Felix. Immigrant odyssey: a French-Canadian habitant in New England = abilingual edition of Histoire d'un enfant pauvre. 1st ed. Orono, ME: University of Maine Press, 1991.
The Album, or Ladies' Common Place Book. November, 1832. Lowell: Alfred Gilman, 1833.
Album Souvenir et Historique de la Paroisse Saint Joseph de Lowell, Massachusetts. Lowell: 1916.
Aleksandrovich, Aleksei, Grand Duke of Russia. Grand Duke Alexis in the United States of America. With a new introduction by Jeff C. Dykes. New York: Interland Publishers, 1972.
Allen, Donald M. The New American Poetry, 1945-1960. New York: Grove Press, 1960.
Allen, Elizabeth. Sketches of Green Mountain Life. With an Authobiography of the Author. Lowell: Nathaniel L. Dayton, 1846.
Allen, Hervey. Israfel; The Life and Times of Edgar Allan Poe. New York: Rinehart, 1934.
Allen, Nathan. Physical Degeneracy. New York: D. Appleton and Company, 1870.
_____. The Physical Development of Laws Governing the Human System. Boston: Lee and Shephard, Publishers
Allen, Wilkes. History of Chelmsford. Haverhill: P.N. Green, 1820. Reprint: Chelmsford Revolutionary War Bicentennial Celebrations Commission, 1974.
Amaron, Calvin E. The Evangelization of the French Canadians of New England. Lowell: Campbell and Hanscom, 1885.
_____. Inspection of Public and Private Schools. Springfield, MA: Le Citoyen Franco-Americain, 1890.
American Women. Edited by Frances E. Willard and Mary A. Livermore. New York: Crowell and Kirkpatrick, 1897. Reprint: Gale Research, 1973.
Ames, Blanche Ames. Adelbert Ames, 1835-1933; General, Senator, Governor. New York: Argosy-Antiquarian Ltd, 1964.
Ames, Blanche Butler. Chronicle from the Nineteenth Century: Family Letters of Blanche Butler and Adelbert Ames. 2 vols. Privately Printed, 1957.
Andrews, John B. and W.D P. Bliss. Report on the Condition of Women and Child Wage-Earners in the United States. Vol. X. History of Women in Trade Unions. Washington: Government Printing Office, 1911. Reprint: Arno Press, 1974.
Anna Archdale; or, The Lowell factory girl. And other tales. Boston, F. Gleason [185-?].
Annual Statistics of Manufacturing in Lowell and Neighboring Towns. Lowell: Vox Populi Press, 1835-1882.
Appleton, Nathan. Introduction of the Power Loom, and Origin of Lowell. Printed for the Proprietors of the Locks & Canals on Merrimack River. Lowell: Penhallow, 1858.
_____. Memoirs of the Hon. Abbott Lawrence. Boston: J.H. Eastburn's Press, 1856.
"Argus." Norton; or, The Lights and Shades of a Factory Village Wherein are Developed Some of the Secret Incidents in the History of Lowell. Lowell: Vox Populi Press, 1849.
Avery, Ephraim K. The terrible hay-stack murder life and trial of the Rev. Ephraim K. Avery, for the murder of the young and beautiful Miss Sarah M. Cornell, a factory girl of Fall River, Mass., whose affections he won, and whose honor he betrayed .... Philadelphia: Barclay, c1877.
Ayer, Frederick. Reminiscences of Frederick Ayer. Boston: Private Printing, 1923. Reprint: Redwood Press, 1971.
Ayer, Frederick F. Bell and Wing. New York: G.P. Putnam's Sons, 1911.
Ayer, James Cook. Some of the Uses and Abuses in the Management of Our Manufacturing Corporations. Lowell: C.M. Langley, 1863.
Bader, Bonnie. East Side story. Stories of the states. 1st ed. New York: Silver Moon Press, c1993.
Bagnall, William R. The Textile Industries of the United States. Cambridge: Riverside Press, 1893.
Bailyn, Bernard. Education in the Forming of American Society: Needs and Opportunities for Study. Chapel Hill: University of North Carolina Press, 1960.
Baines, Edward. History of the Cotton Manufacture in Great Britain. London: H. Fisher, R. Fisher, and P. Jackson, 1835. Reprint: Kelley, 1966.
Baird, Robert H. The American Cotton Spinner, and Managers' and Carders' Guide: A Practical Treatise on Cotton Spinning. Philadelphia: Hart, 1851.
Baker, George Pierce. The Formation of the New England Railroad Systems. Greenwood Press, 1968.
Ball, Benjamin W. The Merrimack River, Hellenics, and Other Poems. New York: G.P. Putman's Sons, 1892.
Barber, John W. Historical Collections, Being a General Collection of Interesting Facts, Traditions, Biographical Sketches, Antedotes, etc. Relating to the History and Antiquities of Every Town in Massachusetts, with Geographical Descriptions, Illustrated by 200 Engravings. Worcester: Dorr, Howland and Company, 1839.
Bartlett, Elisha. A Vindication of the Character and Condition of the Females Employed in the Lowell Mills against the Charges Contained in the Boston Times and the Boston Quarterly Review. Lowell: Huntress, 1841. Reprint: Arno Press, 1975.
Batchelder, Samuel. Introduction and Early Progress of the Cotton Manufacture in the United States. Boston: Little, Brown and Company, 1863. Reprint: Kelley, 1972.
Baum, Dale. The Civil War Party System: The Case of Massachusetts. Chapel Hill: University of North Carolina Press, 1984.
Beaver, R. Pierce. All Love Excelling. (Abby Child).
Bender, Thomas. Toward An Urban Vision, Ideas and Institutions in Nineteenth Century America. Lexington, KY: University Press of Kentucky, 1975.
Bennett, Whitman. Whittier, Bard of Freedom. Chapel Hill: University of North Carolina Press, 1941. Reprint: Kennikat Press, 1972.
Bigelow, Erastus B. Remarks on the Depressed Condition of Manufactures in Massachusetts, with Suggestions as to Its Cause and Its Remedy. Boston: Little, Brown and Company, 1858.
Bishop, John L. A History of American Manufactures from 1608-1860. 3 vols. Philadelphia: Edward Young and Company, 1868. Reprint: Johnson Reprint Corp, 1967.
Blanchard, Rev. Amos. An Address Delivered at the Consecration of the Lowell Cemetery, June 20, 1841. Lowell: L. Huntress, 1841.
Bland, T.A. Life of Benjamin F. Butler. Boston: Lee and Shepard, 1879.
Blewett, Mary, ed. Caught Between Two Worlds: a diary of a Lowell mill girl, Susan Brown, Epson, New Hampshire. Lowell, MA: Lowell Museum, 1984.
_____. ed. The Last Generation: work and life in the textile mills of Lowell, Massachusetts, 1910-1960. Amherst: University of Massachusetts Press, c1990.
_____. ed. Surviving Hard Times: The Working People of Lowell. Lowell, Lowell Museum, 1982.
Blouin, Francis X, Jr. The Boston Region, 1810-1850: A Study of Urbanization. Ann Harbor, MI: UMI Research Press, 1978.
Bradbury, Osgood. Mysteries of Lowell. Boston: 1844.
Braddon, M.E. (Mary Elizabeth). The Factory Girl, or, All is not gold that glitters: a romance of real life. De Witt's series of choice novels; no. 18. New York: R.M. De Witt, [18--?].
Bradford, Gamaliel. Damaged Souls; Discredited Figures in American History. Boston: Houghton Mifflin, 1923. Reprint: Kennikat, 1969.
_____. Wives. New York: Harper and Brothers, 1925. Reprint: Arno Press, 1972.
Bradlee, Francis. The Boston and Lowell Railroad. Salem, MA: Essex Institute, 1921.
Brandeis, Louis D. and Josephine Goldmark. Women in Industry. New York: The National Consumers' League, 1908. Reprint: Arno Press, 1969.
Bremer, Fredrika. The Homes of the New World. 2 vols. New York: Harper and Brothers, 1868. Reprint: Negro University Press, 1968.
Brown, George W. Baltimore and the 19th of April, 1861. Baltimore: Johns Hopkins University, 1887.
Brownlee, W. Elliott and Mary M. Brownlee. Women in the American Economy; A Documentary History, 1675 to 1929. New Haven: Yale University Press, 1976.
Brox, Jane. Here and Nowhere Else: late seasons of a farm and its family. The Concord Library. Boston: Beacon Press, c1995.
Buenker, John D. Immigration and Ethnicity. Gale Research Co, 1977.
Burgess, Thomas. Greeks in America. Boston: Sherman, French and Company, 1913. Reprint: Arno Press, 1970.
Burgy, J. Herbert. The New England Cotton Textile Industry. Baltimore: Waverly Press, Inc, 1932.
Bushman, Claudia L. "A Good Poor Man's Wife": being a chronicle of Harriet Hanson Robinson and her family in nineteenth-century New England. Hanover, N.H.: University Press of New England, 1981.
Butler, Benjamin Franklin. Butler's Book. Boston: A.M. Thayer and Company, 1892.
_____. Private and Official Correspondence of Gen. Benjamin F. Butler, April 1860 to March 1868. 5 vols. Norwood, MA: Plimpton Press, 1917.
Record of Benjamin F. Butler, compiled from original sources. Boston: 1883.
_____. Record of Benjamin F. Butler since His Election as Governor of Massachusetts. Boston: 1883.
Carnie, Ethel. Songs of a Factory Girl. London: Headley Brothers, 1911.
Caverly, Robert B. The Eagle, Arlington, and Other Poems. 2 vols. Dover, NH: F.W.B. Printing, 1871.
_____. History of the Indian Wars of New England, with Eliot the Apostle Fifty Years in the Midst of Them. Boston: James H. Earle, 1882.
_____. The Merrimac and Its Incidents; An Epic Poem. Boston: Innes and Niles, 1866.
Chambers, William. Things as They are in America. London: W. and R. Chambers, 1857. Reprint: Negro University Press, 1968.
Charters, Ann. Kerouac, A Biography. San Francisco: Straight Arrow Books, 1973. Reissue: Warner Paperback, 1974.
Cheney, Liana. Religious Architecture of Lowell. Lowell, MA: L. Cheney, c1984.
Chevalier, Michael. Society, Manners, and Politics in the United States; Letters on North America. Boston: Weeks, Jordan and Company, 1839. Reprint: Kelley, 1966.
Chronicle of Textile Machinery, 1824-1924. Issued to Commemorate the 100th Anniversary of the Saco-Lowell Shops, 1924.
Clark, Victor S. History of Manufactures in the United States. 3 vols. New York: McGraw-Hill Company, Inc, 1929. Reprint: Peter Smith, 1949.
Clarke, Mary Stetson. The Old Middlesex Canal. Melrose, MA: Hilltop Press, 1974.
Cobden, Richard. American Diaries, ed. by Elizabeth H. Cawley. Princeton: 1952. Reprint: Greenwood, 1975.
Coburn, Frederick W. History of Lowell and Its People. 3 vols. New York: Lewis Historical Society, 1920.
_____. Moses Greeley Parker, M.D. Lowell: 1921.
_____. Thomas Bayley Lawson; Portrait Painter of Newburyport and Lowell. Salem, MA: Newcomb and Gauss Company, 1947.
Coburn, Silas R. History of Dracut, Massachusetts. Lowell: Courier-Citizen, 1922.
Coburn, Warren. Intellectual Arithmetic, upon the Inductive Method of Instruction. Boston: 1833.
Coughlin, William James. Songs of an Idle Hour. Boston: A. Williams and Company, 1883.
Cole, Donald B. Immigrant City, Lawrence, Massachusetts; 1845-1921. Chapel Hill: University of North Carolina Press, 1963.
Commons, John and associates, editors. A Documentary History of ABrican Industrial Society. 10 vols. 2nd ed. New York: Russell and Russell, 1958.
_____. History of Labor in the United States. 4 vols. New York: Macmillan Company, 1921-1935. Reprint: Kelley, 1966.
Conklin, Edwin P. Middlesex County and Its People. 4 vols. New York: Lewis Historical Society, 1927.
Conlin, Joseph Robert. Bread and Roses Too. Greenwood Publishing Corp, 1969.
Contributions of the Lowell Historical Society, 2 vols. Lowell: Butterfield Printing Company, 1913-1926.
Contributions to the Old Residents' Historical Association, Lowell, Massachusetts, 6 vols. Lowell: 1879-1904.
Conzen, Kathleen Neils. Immigrant Milwaukee, 1836-1860: Accommodation and Community in a Frontier City. Cambridge: Harvard University Press, 1976.
Coolidge, Clark. Lowell Connector: lines & shots from Kerouac's town. West Stockbridge, MA: Hard Press, 1993.
Coolidge, John P. Mill and Mansion: a study of architecture and Society in Lowell, Massachusetts, 1820-1865. New York: Columbia University Press, 1942. Reissued: Russell and Russell, 1967 c1993.
Copeland, Melvin T. The Cotton Manufacturing Industry of the United States. Cambridge: Harvard University Press, 1912. Reprint: Kelley, 1966.
Corporations and Operatives: Being an Exposition of the conditions of Factory Operatives and a Review of the "Vindication" by Elisha Bartlett, MD, by a citizen of Lowell. Lowell: Samuel J. Varney, 1843. Reprint: Arno Press, 1975.
Correspondence between Nathan Appleton and John A. Lowell in Relation to the Early History of the City of Lowell. Boston: Eastburn Press, 1848.
Courier-Citizen Company. Illustrated History of Lowell, Massachusetts and Vicinity. Lowell: Courier-Citizen Company, 1897.
Cowley, Charles. A Handbook of Bussiness in Lowell, with a History of the city. Lowell: E.D. Green, 1856.
_____. Illustrated History of Lowell. Boston: Lee and Shepard, 1868.
_____. Memories of the Indians and Pioneers of the Region of Lowell. Lowell: Stone and Huse, 1862.
_____. Reminiscences of James C. Ayer and the Town of Ayer. Lowell: Penhallow Printing Company, 1879.
_____. The Ten-hours Law: Argument Delivered before the Joint Special Committee of the Massachusetts Legislature upon the Hours of Labor: in behalf of the Petitioners for a Ten-hours Law, March 22nd, 1871. Lowell, MA: Stone & Huse, printers, 1871.
Cremin, Lawrence. American Education: The National Experience, 1783-1896. New York: Harper & Row, 1980.
_____. The American Common School: An Historical Conception. New York: Columbia University Press, 1961.
Crockett, David. The Life of David Crockett. New York: A.L. Burt Company, 1902.
Cummings, Ariel Ivers. The Factory Girl; or, Gardez La Couer. Lowell: J.E. Short and Company, 1847.
Cunningham, Julia. Tuppenny. A Unicorn book. 1st ed. New York: Dutton, c1978.
Curtis, Harriot F. Jessie's Flirtations. New York: Harper and Brothers, 1846.
_____. Kate in Search of a Husband. New York: 1843.
Curtis, Josiah. Brief Remarks on the Hygiene of Massachusetts, more particularly of the Cities of Boston and Lowell. Philadelphia, 1849.
Dalzell, Robert F. Enterprising Elite: the Boston Associates and the world they made. Harvard studies in business History; 40. Cambridge, MA: Harvard University Press, 1987.
Dana, Samuel L. A Muck Manual For Farmers. New York: C.M. Saxton and Barker and Company, 1860.
Daniel, David. The Heaven Stone.
_____. The Skelley Man.
Darr, Richard K. A History of the Nashua and Lowell Railroad Corporation, 1835-1880. New York: Arno Press, 1976.
Davis, Bette. The Lonely Life. New York: G.P. Putnam's Sons, 1962.
Dedicatory Exercises at the New Court House, Lowell, Massachusetts. Sept. 12, 1898.
Dickens, Charles. American Notes for General Circulation. New York: Harper and Brothers, 1842. Reprint: Penguin, 1972.
Dickinson, C.A. In Memory of William Kittredge. Boston: Rockwell and Churchill, 1887.
Drake, Samuel A. History of Middlesex County, Massachusetts. 2 vols. Boston: Estes and Lauriat, 1880.
Dublin, Thomas, ed. Farm to Factory: women's letters, 1830-1860. New York: Columbia University Press, 1981.
_____. Lowell: the story of an industrial city: a guide to Lowell National Historical Park and Lowell Heritage State Park, Lowell, Massachusetts. Handbook; 140. Washington, D.C.: US Department of the Interior, 1992.
_____. Women at Work: the transformation of work and community in Lowell, Massachusetts, 1826-1860. New York: Columbia University Press, 1979.
Dunwell, Steve. The Run of the Mill. Boston: David R. Godine, 1978.
Easy Catechism for Elastic Consciences; Comprising the Creed, Articles of Faith, Covenant, Signs and Tokens of the Incorporated Sabbath-Labor-C histians of Lowell. Lowell: 1847.
Eddy, Caleb. Historical Sketch of the Middlesex Canal. Boston: 1843.
Eddy, Daniel C. Lectures to Young Ladies. Lowell: B.C. Sargeant, 1848.
Edson, Theodore. An Address Delivered at the Opening of the Colburn Grammer School, in Lowell, December 13, 1848. Lowell: James Atkinson, 1849.
_____. Historical Discourse on the Occasion of the Fiftieth Anniversary of the First Introduction of Stated Public Worship into the Village of East Chelmsford, now the city of Lowell. Lowell: Marden and Rowell, 1874.
_____. Memoir of Warren Colburn. Boston: Brown, Taggard and Chase, 1856.
_____. Sermons. Lowell: S.W. Huse and Company, 1891.
Eisler, Benita. The Lowell Offering; writings by New England mill women (1840-1845). Philadelphia: Lippincott, 1977.
Eliot, John. The Indian Primer. Edinburgh: Andrew Elliot, 1880. Facsimile: Xerox University Microfilm, 1975.
Eno, Arthur L. Jr, ed. Cotton Was King: a History of Lowell, Massachusetts. Somersworth, N.H.: New Hampshire Publishing Co., 1976.
_____. Les Avocats Franco-Americains de Lowell, Massachusetts, 1886-1936. Lowell: 1936.
Ewing, John S. and Nancy P. Norton. Broadlooms and Businessmen; A History of the Bigelow-Sanford Carpet Company. Cambridge: Harvard University Press, 1955.
Exercises of the 50th Anniversary Commemorative of the Incorporation of the City of Lowell, Thursday, April 1, 1886. Lowell: 1886.
Exercises of the 75th Anniversary of the Incorporation of the Town of Lowell. Lowell: 1901.
The Factory Detective; or the Mystery of the Merrimack Mills. New York: Norman L. Munro, 1886.
Factory Life As It Is; by an Operative. Factory Tract No. 1. Lowell: 1845.
Fairchild, Henry Pratt. Greek Immigration to the United States. New Haven: Yale University Press, 1911.
Farley, Harriet. Fancy's Frolics, or Christmas Stories Told in a Happy Home (Hazelnook) in New England. New York: R. Worthington, 1880.
_____. Happy Hours at Hazel Nook; or, Cottage Stories. Boston: Dayton and Wentworth Company, 1854.
____. Happy nights at Hazel Nook or, Cottage.
____. Operatives' Reply to Hon. Jere. Clemens; Being a Sketch of Factory Life and Factory Enterprise and a Brief History of Manufacturing by Machinery. Lowell: S.J. Varney, 1850.
Fielden, John. Curse of the Factory System. London: A. Corbett, 1836. 2nd. London: Cass, 1969.
Finch, Marianne. An Englishwomen's Experience in America. London: 1853. Reprint: Negro University Press, 1969.
Fisher, Marvin. Workshops in the Wilderness: the European response to American Industrialization, 1830-1860. New York: Oxford University Press, 1967.
Flynn, Elizabeth Gurley. I Speak My Own Piece; an Autobiography of "The Rebel Girl". New York: Masses and Mainstream, 1955. Reprint: International Publishers Company, 1973.
Folsom, Burton W. Jr. Urban Capitalists: Entrepreneurs and City Growth in Pennsylvania's Lackawanna and Lehigh Regions, 1800-1920. Baltimore: Johns Hopkins University Press, 1981.
Foner, Philip, ed. The Factory Girls: a collection of writings on life and struggles in the New England factories of the 1840's. Urbana: University of Illinois Press, c1977.
_____. ed. History of the Labor Movement in the United States. 2 vols. New York: International Publishers, 1965.
Fox, Gustavus Vasa. Confidential Correspondence of Gustavus Vasa Fox, Assistant Secretary of the Navy, 1861-1865. New York: Naval Historical Society, 1920. Reprint: Books for Libraries Press, 1972.
Francis, James B. Lowell Hydraulic Experiments. Boston: Little, Brown and Company, 1855.
Frazier, Arthur H. Water Current Meters in the Smithsonian Collection of the National Museum of History and Technology. Washington: Smithsonian Institution Press, 1974.
Frisch, Michael. Town into City: Springfield, Massachusetts and the Meaning of Community, 1840-1880. Cambridge: Harvard University Press, 1972.
Gaylord, N.M. Kossuth and the American Jesuits; A Lecture Delivered in Lowell, January 4, 1852. Lowell: Merrill and Straw, 1852.
Gersuny, Carl. Work Hazards and Industrial Conflict. University Press of New England, 1981.
Gibb, George S. The Saco-Lowell Shops; Textile Machinery Building in New England, 1813-1949. Cambridge: Harvard University Press, 1950.
Gifford, Barry. Kerouac's Town with photographs by Marshall Clements. Berkeley: Creative Arts Book Company, 1977.
Gifford, Barry and Lawrence Lee. Jack's Book; An Oral Biography of Jack Kerouac. New York: St. Martin's Press, 1978.
Gillon, Edmund V. Jr. Victorian Cemetery Art. New York: Dover, 1972.
Goode, George W. Dan Hayes' Greatest Case or the Mystery of the Central Bridge Fire. Lowell: 1887.
Goodfellow, W.H. Industrial Advantages of Lowell, Massachusetts and Environs. Lowell: W.H. Goodfellow, 1895.
Gookin, Daniel. Historical Collections of the Indians in New England. Boston: Belnap and Hall, 1792. Reprint: Arno Press, 1972.
Gould, Levi S. Ancient Middlesex; with Brief Biographical Sketches of the Men Who Have Served the County Officially since Its Settlement. Somerville, MA: Somerville Journal Print, 1905.
Granniss, Anna J. Skipped Stitches; Verses. Fifth ed. Keene, N.H., Darling & Co., 1894.
Green, Constance McLaughlin. Holyoke, Massachusetts: A Case History of the Industrial Revolution in America. New Haven: Yale University Press, 1939.
Green, John O. The Factory System, In Its Hygienic Relations. Boston: William S. Damrell, 1846.
Greenslet, Ferris. The Lowells and Their Seven Worlds. Boston: Houghton Mifflin, 1946.
Gregory, Frances W. Nathan Appleton, Merchant and Entrepreneur, 1779-1861. Charlottesville, VA: University of Virginia, 1976.
Griffin, Sara Swan. Little Stories about Lowell; Romances and Facts of Earlier Days. Lowell: Butterfield Printing Company, 1928.
_____. Quaint Bits of Lowell History; A Few Interesting Stories of Earlier Days. Lowell: Butterfield Printing Company, 1913.
Gross, Laurence F. The Course of Industrial Decline: the Boott Cotton Mills of Lowell, Massachusetts, 1835-1955. Johns Hopkins studies in the History of technology; new ser., no. 5. Baltimore: Johns Hopkins University Press, c1993.
Gross, Laurence F. and Russell A. Wright. Historical Structure Report - History Portion: Boott Mill Complex, Bldg. 6, Counting House, Asjacent Courtyard, etc.
Gutman, Herbert G. Work, Culture, and Society in Industrializing America. New York: Alfred A. Knopf, 1976.
Hall, Basil. Travels in North America in the Years 1827 and 1828. 3 vols. Edinburgh: 1829. Reprint: Arno Press, 1974.
Hammond, Matthew Brown. The Cotton Industry: an Essay in American Economic History. New York: Macmillian Company, 1897. Reprint: Johnson Reprint Corp, 1966.
Hanaford, Phebe A. Women of the Century. Boston: B.B. Russell, 1877.
Handbook for the Visiter to Lowell. Lowell: D. Bixby and Company, 1848.
Handlin, Oscar. Boston's Immigrants: A Study in Acculturation. New York: Atheneum, 1977.
Hanson, John W. Historical Sketch of the Old Sixth Regiment of Massachusetts Volunteers during Its Three Campaigns in 1861-1864. Boston: Lee and Shepard, 1866.
Hazen, Henry A. History of Billerica, Massachusetts, with Genealogical Register. Boston: A. Williams and Company, 1883. Reprint, Howard A. Doyle, Cambridge, 1973.
Hedrick, Charles C. Cotton Spinning; A Complete Working Guide to Modern Practice in the Manufacture of Cotton Yarn. Chicago: American School of Correspondence, 1909.
Hedrick, Mary A. Incidents of the Civil War during the Four Years of Its Progress. Lowell: Vox Populi Press, 1888.
Higgins, James. Lowell, a Contemporary View. Lowell, MA: Mill Town Graphics, c1983.
_____. Southeast Asians: a New Beginning in Lowell. Lowell, MA: Mill Town Graphics, c1986.
Hilbourne, Charlotte S. Effie and I; or, Seven Years in a Cotton Mill: A Story of the Spindle City. Cambridge: Allen and Farnham, 1863.
Hill, Frank P. Lowell Illustrated; A Chronological Record of Events and Historical Sketches of the Large Manufacturing Corporations. Lowell: Huse, Goodwin and Company, 1884.
Hindle, Brooke. Engines of Change: the American industrial revolution, 1790-1860. Washington, D.C.: Smithsonian Institution Press, c1986.
Hipkiss, Robert A. Jack Kerouac; Prophet of the New Romanticism. Lawrence: The Regents Press of Kansas, 1976.
Hirsch, Susan E. Roots of the American Working Class: The Industrialization of Crafts in Newark, 1800-1860. Philadelphia: University of Pennsylvania Press, 1978.
Historical Sketch of Saint Anne's Church, Lowell, Massachusetts. Lowl: Courier-Citizen Co, 1925.
Holden, Raymond P. The Merrimack. New York: Rinehart, 1958.
Holzman, Robert S. Stormy Ben Butler. New York: Macmillian, 1954.
The Hours of Labor: Address of the Ten Hours State Convention, held in Boston, September 30, 1852 ...: together with a Report and Bill submitted to the Legislature of Massachusetts, session of 1852. Lowell, MA: Ten Hours State Committee, 1852.
Howells, John Mead. The Architectural Heritage of the Merrimack. Down East Books, 1980.
Hudon, Paul. The Valley & Its Peoples: an illustrated History of the lower Merrimack. 1st ed. Woodland Hills, CA: Windsor Publications, 1982.
Hunt, G.W., ed. Historical Sketch of the First Baptist Church, Lowell, Massachusetts, Centennial Anniversary. Lowell: 1926.
Hunter, Louis C. A History of Industrial Power in the United States, 1780-1930. University Press of Virginia, 1979.
_____. Water Power: A History of Industrial Power in the United States. Charlottesville, VA: , 1979.
Huntington, Elisha. An Address on the Life, Character, and Writings of Elisha Bartlett. Lowell: S.J. Varney, 1856.
Hurd, D. Hamilton. History of Middlesex County, Massachusetts, with Biographical Sketches of Many of Its Pioneers and Prominent Men. 3 vols. Philadelphia: J.W. Lewis & Co, 1890.
Hussey, Alfred Rodman. An Autobiography. [194-?].
Indentures, Agreements, and Other Documents Concerning the Proprietors of the Locks & Canals on Merrimack River and Other Corporations at Lowell, Massachusetts. 2 vols. Lowell: 1887-1921.
Jarvis, Charles E. Visions of Kerouac. Lowell: Ithaca Press, 1973.
_____. Exile. Salonica, Greece: Nicolaide, 1965.
_____. The Tyrants. Lowell: Ithaca Press, 1977.
_____. Zeus Has Two Urns. Lowell: Ithaca Press, 1976.
Johnson, James F.W. Notes on North America, Agricultural, Economical, and Social. 2 vols. Boston: Little & Brown, 1851.
Josephine Mellen Ayer; A Memoir. New York: Knickerbocker Press, 1900.
Josephson, Hannah. The Golden Threads; New England's Mill Girls and Magnates. New York: Duell, 1949. Reissue: Russell and Russell, 1967.
Juravich, Tom. Commonwealth of Toil: chapters in the History of Massachusetts workers and their unions. Amherst: University of Massachusetts Press, c1r96.
Karabatsos, Lewis K. and Martha Mayo. Comunidade: the Portuguese community in Lowell, 1905-1930. Lowell, MA: Lowell Historical Society, c1994.
Karas, Nicholas V. The Greek Triangle of the Acre: then and now. Lowell, MA: Meteora Press, c1984.
Karson, Robin S. The Muses of Gwinn: art and nature in a garden designed by Warren H. Manning, Charles A. Platt & Ellen Biddle Shipman. Sagaponack, N.Y.: Sagapress; Distributed by Harry N. Abrams, c1995.
Kasson, John F. Civilizing the Machine: Technology and Republican Values in America 1778-1900. New York: Grossman, 1976.
Katz, Michael B.; Doucet, Michael J.; and Stern, Mark J. The Social Organization of Early Industrial Capitalism. Cambridge: Harvard University Press, 1982.
Kenngott, George F. The Record of a City; A Social Survey of Lowell, Massachusetts. New York: Macmillian, 1912.
Kerouac, Jack. The Town and the City. New York: Harcourt, Brace & Co, 1950. Reissue: Harcourt, Brace & Jovanovich, 1970.
_____. Doctor Sax; Faust Part Three. New York: Grove Press, 1959. Reissue: Ballantine, 1973.
_____. Maggie Cassady. New York: Avon, 1959.
_____. Visions of Gerald. New York: Farrar, Straus, 1963.
Kerr, Malcolm. Manufacturing. New York: Ronald Press Company, 1928.
Kimball, Gilman. Report of the Lowell Hospital from 1840 to 1849. Lowell: 1849.
Kolack, Shirley. A New Beginning: the Jews of Historic Lowell, Massachusetts. New York: P. Lang, 1996.
Kossuth in New England; A Full Account of the Hungarian Governor's Visit to Massachusetts. Boston: John P. Jewett and Company, 1852.
The Ladies' Pearl; a monthly magazine embellished with engravings and original music. Lowell: E.A. Rice, 1840-1843.
Lane, Brigitte Marie. Franco-American Folk Traditions and Popular Culture in a Former Milltown: aspects of ethnic urban folklore and the dynamics of folklore change in Lowell, Massachusetts. New York: Garland Pub., 1990.
Lankton, Larry, and Patrick Malone. The Power Canals of Lowell, Massachusetts. Lowell: Human Services Corp, 1973.
Lannie, Vincent. Public Money and Parochial Education: Bishop Hughes, Governor Seward, and the New York School Controversy. Cleveland: Press of Case Western Reserve, 1968.
Larcom, Lucy. An Idyl of Work. Boston: James Osgood and Company, 1875. Reprint: Greenwood, 1970.
_____. A New England Girlhood; outlined from memory. Boston: Houghton Mifflin, 1889. Reprint: Peter Smith, 1973.
_____. Poems. Boston: Fields, Osgood and Company, 1869.
Lawrence, Abbott. Letters from the Hon. Abbott Lawrence to the Hon. William C. Rives, of Virginia. Boston: Eastburn's Press, 1846.
Lawrence, William. Life of Amos A. Lawrence; with Extracts from His Diary and Correspondence. Boston: Houghton Mifflin and Company, 1888.
Layer, Robert G. Earnings of Cotton Mill Operatives, 1825-1914. Cambridge: Harvard University Press, 1955.
Life of Luther C. Ladd; the First Martyr that fell a Sacrifice to His Country in the City of Baltimore, on the 19th of April, 1861. Concord, MA: P.B. Cogswell, printers, 1862.
Lights and Shadows of Factory Life in New England; by a Factory Girl. New York: J. Winchester, 1843.
Locke, Jane E. Miscellaneous Poems. Boston: Otis, Broaders and Company, 1842.
Lord, Robert H, et al. History of the Archdiocese of Boston. 3 vols. New York: Sheed and Ward, 1944.
Loubat, James F. Narrative of the Mission to Russia, in 1866 of the Hon. Gustavus V. Fox. New York: D. Appleton and Company, 1873.
Lowell an Early American Industrial Community; by the Department of English and History at Massachusetts Institute of Technology. Cambridge: MIT, 1950.
Lowell and Suburban Street Railway Company. Scenes Along the Routes. Lowell: June, 1896.
Lowell Board of Trade. Yearbook of the Lowell Board of Trade. 1911-1912.
Lowell, Chelmsford, Graniteville, Forge Village, Dracut, Collinsville of Today, Their Commerce, Trade and Industries, Descriptive and Historical. Lowell: Daily Citizen, 1893.
Lowell Conference on Industrial History (1980). Essays from the Lowell Conference on Industrial History, 1980 and 1981. Lowell, MA: The Conference, 1981.
Lowell Conference on Industrial History (1982). Essays from the Lowell Conference on Industrial History, 1982 and 1983. North Andover, MA: Museum of American Textile History, 1985.
Lowell Conference on Industrial History (1984). The World of The Industrial Revolution: comparative and international aspects of industrialization: essays from the Lowell Conference on Industrial History, 1984. Andover, MA: Museum of American Textile History, 1986.
Lowell Conference on Industrial History (1985). The Popular Perception of Industrial History: essays from the Lowell Conference on Industrial History, 1985. Lanham, MD: AASLH Library; Andover, MA: Museum of American Textile History, c1989.
Lowell Institute for Savings. At the Meeting of the Waters; A Sketch of Lowell Life from the Discovery of the Merrimack to the Present Day. Lowell: 1929.
Lowell, James Russell. The Biglow Papers. Boston: Houghton Mifflin, 1885. Reprint: AMS, 1973.
The Lowell Magazine; devoted to the commercial and civic interests of Lowell, Massachusetts. Lowell: 1909-1910.
Lowell Morning Mail. City of Lowell, Massachusetts, Its Commercial and Financial Resources; Souvenir of Lowell Morning Mail. Lowell: 1890.
The Lowell Offering; prepared by females employed in the mills. Lowell: 1840-1845. Reprint: Greenwood, 1970.
Lowell Technological Institute. Alexander Goodlet Cumnock; 1834-1919. Lowell: n.d.
Lowell Trades and Labor Council. Lowell; A City of Spindles. Lowell: 1900.
Lubar, Steven D. Corporate and urban contexts of textile technology innineteenth-century Lowell, Massachusetts a study of the Social nature of technological knowledge.
Lubar, Steven D.and Folsom, Michael. The Philosophy of Manufactures: early debates over industrialization in the United States. Documents in American industrial History; v. 1. Cambridge, MA: MIT Press; North Andover, MA: Merrimack Valley Textile Museum, c1982.
Lynch, P.J. Souvenir History of St. John's Hospital; written for the quarter-centennial celebration of the founding of the institution. Lowell: Morning Mail Print, 1892.
Malone, Patrick M. Canals and Industry: engineering in Lowell, 1821-1880. Lowell, MA: Lowell Museum, 1983.
Marchalonis, Shirley. The Worlds of Lucy Larcom, 1824-1893. Athens, GA: University of Georgia Press, c1989.
Marryat, Frederick. A Diary in America. London: 1839. Reprint: Grennwood, 1973.
Martineau, Harriet, ed. Mind Amongst the Spindles. Boston: Jordan, Swift and Wiley, 1845.
_____. Society in America. New York: Saunders and Otley, 1837. Reprint: AMS, 1966.
Marx, Leo. The Machine in the Garden: Technology and the Pastoral Ideal in America. London: Oxford University Press, 1964.
Massachusetts House of Representatives. Report of a Committee in Response to a Petition by Robert B. Caverly Accusing Lowell Manufacturing Companies of "Unduly Influencing"... the Citizens of Said City in the Exercise of Their Elective Franchise. Boston: May 4, 1852.
Mazur, Stella M. Roots and Heritage of Polish People of Lowell. Lowell: Stella M. Mazur, 1976.
McGouldrick, Paul F. New England Textiles in the Nineteenth Century; Profits and Investments. Cambridge: Harvard University Press, 1968.
McLeod, Robert and Lewis T. Karabatsos. Fixed in Time: photographs of Lowell, Massachusetts, 1860-1940. Lowell, MA: Lowell Historical Society, 1983.
Meader, J.W. The Merrimack River; Its Sources and Its Tributaries. Boston: B.B. Russell, 1869.
Meakin, David. Man & Work. Holmes & Meier Publishers, 1976.
Memorial Services for Eli Wait Hoyt, Sunday, February 20, 1887. Lowell: Morning Mail Company, 1887.
Meserve, H.C. Lowell; An Industrial Dream Come True. Boston: National Association of Cotton Manufacturers, 1923.
The Middlesex Hearthstone. Lowell: Middlesex Hearthstone Co, 1895-1896.
Miles, Henry A. Lowell As It Was and As It Is. Lowell: Powers, Bagley and Dayton, 1845. Reprint: Arno Press, 1972.
Miller, Douglas T. The Birth of Modern America, 1820-1850. Indianapolis: Bobbs-Merrill Co, 1970.
Miller, Marc Scott. Irony of Victory: World War II and Lowell, Massachusetts. Urbana: University of Illinois Press, c1988.
Mitchell, Albert G. Irish Family Patterns in Nineteenth Century Ireland and Lowell, Massachusetts. Boston University Dissertation, 1975.
Mitchell, Brian C. The Paddy Camps: The Irish of Lowell, 1821-61. Urbana: University of Illinois Press, c1988.
Montgomery, James. Practical Detail of the Cotton Manufacture of the United States of America Contrasted and Compared with that of Great Britain. Glasgow: John Niven, 1840. Reprint: Johnson Reprint Corp, 1968.
Mrozowski, Stephen A. Living on the Boott: Historical archaeology at the Boott Mills Boardinghouses, Lowell, Massachusetts. Amherst: University of Massachusetts Press, c1996.
Murphy, Teresa Anne. Ten Hours Labor: Religion, Reform, and Gender in Early New England. Ithaca, NY: Cornell University Press, 1992.
Murray, Charles A. Travels in North America during the Years 1834, 1835, 1836. 2 vols. New York: Harper and Brothers, 1839.
Nash, Howard P. Stormy Petrel: The Life and Times of General Benjamin F. Butler, 1818-1893. Rutherford, NJ: Fairleigh Dickinson University Press, 1969.
Neary, Jack. First Night. Boston, MA (100 Chauncy St., Boston 02111): Baker's Plays, c1988.
Nelson Colonial Department Store. Lowell Illulstrated; A Souvenir of the Textile Metropolis of Modern Industrial New England, and of the Great Nelson Colonial Department Store. Lowell: 1907.
Nesmith, James E. The Life and Work of Frederic Thomas Grennhalge, Governor of Massachusetts. Boston: Roberts Brothers, 1897.
The New England Offering; a magazine of industry, written by females who live by their labor. Lowell: Harriet Farley, April, 1848-March, 1850. Reprint: Greenwood, 1970.
The New Moon. Lowell: C.I. Hood and Company, 1881-1885.
Nickerson, Jan. Bright Promise. New York: Funk and Wagnalls Company, 1965.
Nolan, Dick. Benjamin Franklin Butler: the damnedest yankee. Novato, CA: Presidio, c1991.
North, Douglas C. The Economic Growth of the United States, 1790-1860. Englewood Cliffs, NJ: Prentice-Hall, 1961.
Norton, Bettina A. Edwin Whitefield; Nineteenth Century North American Scenery. Barre Publishers, 1977.
O'Connell, William Cardinal. Recollections of Seventy Years. Boston: Houghton Mifflin, 1934.
O'Connor, Thomas H. Lords of the Loom: The Cotton Whigs and the Coming of the Civil War. New York: Scribner, 1968.
O'Dwyer, George F. The Irish Catholic Genesis of Lowell. Lowell: Sullivan Brothers, 1920.
The Operatives Magazine; published by an association of females. Lowell: William Schouler, April, 1841-May, 1842.
Owen, Frank N. Fire Service of Lowell; A Souvenir Presented to the Appreciative Public of the City of Spindles. Lowell: Lowell Firemen's Fund Association, 1888.
Panas, Leo and Charles Nikitopoulos. The First Greek Immigrants in Lowell, Massachusetts. Lowell: 1982.
Paquet, Donat H. The Photographic History of Dracut, Massachusetts. Dracut Historical Society, 1982.
Parker, Brad. Black and Anti-Slavery History of Early Lowell. Chelmsford, MA: B. Parker,
Parker, Brad. Jack Kerouac: an introduction. Lowell, MA. (243 Worthen St., Lowell 01852): Lowell Corporations for the Humanities, c1989.
Parker, Brad. Kirk Boott: Master Spirit of Early Lowell. Chelmsford, MA: B. Parker,
Parker, Brad. Lowell`s Greatest Romance: The Saga of Eddie & Annie. Chelmsford, MA: B. Parker,
Parker, Margaret Terrell. Lowell: A Study of Industrial Development. New York: Macmillian, 1940. Reprint: Kennikat Press, 1970.
Parton, James. General Butler in New Orleans; History of the Administration of the Department of the Gulf in the Year 1862. New York: Mason Brothers, 1864.
Patterson, David N. Reminiscences of the Early Physicians of Lowell and Vicinity. Lowell: Morning Mail Print, 1899.
Paterson, Katherine. Lyddie. 1st ed. New York: Lodestar Books, c1991.
Pennell, Elizabeth R. and Joseph Pennell. The Life of James McNeill W histler. 2 vols. Philadelphia: J.B. Lippincott Company, 1908. Reprint: AMS, 1973.
Perry, Albert. W histler's Father. Indianapolis: The Bobbs-Merrill Company, 1939.
Pictorial Lowell. Lowell: Thomas E. Lawler, n.d.
Pierson, William H., Jr. American Buildings and Their Architects. New York: 1980.
Plimpton, Pauline Ames. The Ancestry of Blanche Butler Ames and Adelbert Ames. Privately Printed, 1977.
Pollard, John A. John Greenleaf Whittier, Friend of Man. Boston: Houghton Mifflin, 1949. Reprint: Archon Books, 1969.
Pomeroy, Marcus M. Life and Public Service of Benjamin F. Butler, Major-General in the Army and Leader of the Republican Party. New York: 1868.
Pred, Allen. Urban Growth and City Systems in the United States, 1840-1860. Cambridge: Harvard University Press, 1980.
Proceedings in the City of Lowell at the Centennial Observance of the Incorporation of the Town of Lowell, Massachusetts, March 1, 1926. Lowell: 1926.
Proceedings in the City of Lowell at the Semi-Centennial Celebration of the Incorporation of the Town of Lowell, Massachusetts, March 1, 1876. Lowell: 1876.
Proposal for the New City Hall and Memorial Building. Lowell: 1890.
Prude, Jonathan. The Coming of the Industrial Order: Town and Factory Life in Rural Massachusetts, 1810-1860. New York: Cambridge University Press, 1983.
Pulsifer, Mrs. Nathan. Wheel and Spindle; An Historical Pageant of the Lowell Textile Industry, 1836-1936. Lowell: M.G. Wight and Company, 1936.
Rankin, J.E. The Battle Not Man's but God's. Lowell: Stone and Huse, 1863.
Record of Massachusetts Volunteers; 1861-1865. 2 vols. Boston: Wright and Potter, printers, 1868.
Report of the Ministry-at-Large in Lowell to the Missionary Society Connected with the South Parish. Lowell: 1845-1868.
A Review of "The Necessity of Sabbath Labor" on Corporations, by a Citizen of Lowell. Lowell: Published by the author, 1847.
Reynolds, Terry S. Stronger than a Hundred Men. Johns Hopkins University Press, 1983.
Roberts, Christopher. The Middlesex Canal, 1793-1860. Cambridge: Harvard University Press, 1938.
Robertson, Suzanne. Musical programme
Robey, Harriet. No Luxury of Woe: reflections on the legacy of Ben and Sarah Butler. Boston: Howland and Co., 1992.
Robinson, Harriet Hanson. Early Factory Labor in New England. Boston: Wright and Potter Printing Company, 1883.
_____. Loom and Spindle; or, Life Among the Early Mill Girls. New York: Thomas Y. Crowell and Company, 1898. Reprint: Press Pacifica, 1976.
_____. Massachusetts in the Woman Suffrage Movement; A General, Political, Legal, and Legislative History, from 1774 to 1881. Boston: Roberts Brothers, 1881.
Robinson, William S. The Salary Grab. Boston: Lee and Shepard, 1873.
_____. "Warrington" Pen Portraits. Boston: Lee and Shepard, 1877.
Roelker, William G. The Abbotts of Lowell, Massachusetts in the Civil War. Lowell: 1941.
Romano, Paul. Life in the Factory. Boston: New England Free Press, [1969?].
The Rosebud. Lowell: Oliver Sheple, 1832-1833.
Rozenzweig, Roy. Eight Hours for What We Will: Workers and Leisure in an Industrial City, 1870-1920. New York: Cambridge University Press, 1983.
Saint Joseph's Hospital. One Hundreth Anniversary Celebration of St. Joseph's Hospital. Lowell: 1940.
Saloutos, teodore. The Greeks in the United States. Cambridge: Harvard University Press, 1964.
Santerre, Richard. Bibliographie des Imprimes Franco-Americains Parus a Lowell, Massachusetts, de 1837 a 1968. Manchester, NH: Ballard Freres, 1969.
_____. The Franco-Americans of Lowell, Massachusetts. Lowell: Franco-American Day Committee, 1972.
Sarmiento's Travels in the United States in 1847. Tr. by Michael A. Rockland. Princeton, NJ: Princeton University Press, 1970.
Savage, Sarah. The Factory Girl. Boston: Munroe, Francis & Parker, 1814.
Schiller, Herbert M. (Herbert Miles). The Bermuda Hundred campaign: "Operations on the south side of the James River, Virginia - May, 1864". Dayton, Ohio: Morningside, 1988.
Schouler, William. A History of Massachusetts in the Civil War. 2 vols. Boston: E.P. Dutton, 1868.
Scoresby, William. American Factories and Their Female Operatives. Boston: Ticknor, 1845. Reprint: Burt Franklin, 1968.
Selden, Bernice. The mill girls: Lucy Larcom, Harriet Hanson Robinson, Sarah G. Bagley. New York: Atheneum, 1983.
Shadwell, Arthur. Industrial Efficiency; A Comparative Study of Industrial Life in England, Germany, and America. New York: Longmans, Green and Company, 1906.
Sherr, Lynn. The American Woman's Gazetteer. New York: Bantam Book, 1976.
Siracusa, Carl. A Mechanical People: Perceptions of the Industrial Order in Massachusetts, 1815-1860. Middletown, CT: Wesleyan University Press, 1979.
Sobel, Robert. The Entrepreneurs; Explorations with the American Business Tradition. New York: Weybright and Talley, 1974.
Steinberg, Theodore. Nature incorporated: industrialization and the waters of New England. New York: Cambridge University Press, 1991.
Stern, Madeleine B. We the Women; Career Firsts of Nineteenth Century America. New York: Schulte Publishing Company, 1963.
Stine, Whitney. Mother Goddam with a Running Commentary by Bette Davis. New York: Hawthorne Books, 1974.
Stolte, Lawrence. The Forgotten Salmon of the Merrimack. Department of the Interior, Northeast Region. Washington: Government Printing Office, 1981.
Struik, Dirk J. Yankee Science in the Making. Boston: Little, Brown, 1948. Revised: Collier Books, 1962.
Sumner, Helen L. Report on Condition of Woman and Child Wage-Earners in the United States. Vol. IX: History of Women in Industry in the United States. Washington: Government Printing Office, 1910. Reprint: Arno Press, 1974.
Tharp, Louise H. The Appletons of Beacon Hill. Boston: Little, Brown, 1973.
Theriault, George French. The Franco-Americans in a New England Community; an Experiment in Survival. Arno Press, 1980.
Thernstrom, Stephan, and Sennett, Richard, eds. Nineteenth Century Cities: Essays in the New Urban History. New Haven: Yale University Press, 1974.
Thompson, William T. Major Jones' Sketches of Travels. Philadelphia: Peterson and Brothers, 1848.
Thoreau, Henry David. A Week on the Concord and Merrimack Rivers. New York: G.P. Putnam, 1849.
A thrilling and exciting account of the horrible murder of Mary Bean, the factory girl; together with an authentic statement of George Hamilton, the notorious burglar and murderer, and an account of the murder and robbery of Mr. Parsons, of Manchester, New Hampshire, also perpetrated by Hamilton and his co-adjutors in crime, Bowen and Wenton; a thrilling narrative of his intercourse with Mary Bean, and his betrayal of the beautiful but unfortunate girl, whose body was found floating in a mill stream in Saco, near Boston. Founded on recent events ... Cincinnati, H.M. Rulison, 1852.
Trefousse, Hans L. Ben Butler; The South Called Him Beast. New York: Twayne Publishing, 1957. Reprint: Octagon, 1974.
Trollope, Anthony. North America. 2 vols. New York: Harper and Brothers, 1862. Reprint: Kelley, 1970.
Tryon, Warren S., ed. A Mirror for Americans: Life and Manners in the United States, 1790-1870, As Recorded by American Travelers. 3 vols. Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 1952.
Tsongas, Paul. Heading Home. 1st ed. New York: Knopf: Distributed by Random House, 1984.
_____. Journey of Purpose: reflections on the presidency, multiculturalism, and third parties. The Castle lectures in ethics, politics, and economics. New Haven: Yale University Press, 1995.
_____. The Road from Here: liberalism and realities in the 1980s. 1st ed. New York: Knopf, 1981.
Two missionary heroines in Africa: Mary Slessor and Jeanie Gilchrist. Kilmarnock, Scotland: John Ritchie, [192-?].
Van Slyck, J.D. New England Manufacturers and Manufacturies. 2 vols. Boston: Van Slyck and Company, 1879.
Varnum, Atkinson C. History of Pawtucket Church and Society. Lowell: Morning Mail Print, 1888.
Vernon-Wortzel, Heidi. Lowell: the corporations and the city. Garland studies in entrepreneurship. New York: Garland Pub., 1992.
Views of Lowell and Vicinity. Portland, ME: L.H. Nelson Company, 1904.
Vital Records of Lowell, Massachusetts to the End of the Year 1849. 4 vols. Salem, MA: The Essex Institute, 1930.
Voice of Industry. Lowell and Worcester: May, 1845-May, 1848. Microfilm.
Vose, George L. A Sketch of the Life and Works of George W. W histler, Civil Engineer. Boston: Lee and Shepard, 1887.
Walkowitz, Daniel J. Worker City, Company Town: Iron and Cotton Worker Protest in Troy and Cohoes, New York, 1855-1884. Urbana: University of Illinois Press, 1978.
Wallace, John, Jr. The Factory Girl; a dramatic dialogue for five males and three females in two acts. Manchester: A. Heywood, [18--].
Walton, Perry. The Story of Textiles. Boston: Walton Advertising and Printing, 1925.
Ware, Caroline F. The Early New England Cotton Manufacture, A Study in Industrial Beginnings. Boston: Houghton Mifflin, 1931. Reprint: Johnson Reprint Corporation, 1966.
Ware, Norman. The Industrial Worker, 1840-1860; The Reaction of American Industrial Society to the Advance of the Industrial Revolution. Boston: Houghton Mifflin, 1924. Reprint: Quadrangle Books, 1964.
Waters, Rev. Wilson. History of Chelmsford, Massachusetts. Lowell: Courier-Citizen, 1917.
Wayman, Dorothy G. Cardinal O'Connell of Boston: A Biography of William Henry O'Connell, 1895-1944. New York: Farrar, Straus & Young, 1955.
Webber, Samuel. Manual Power for Machines, Shafts, and Belts; with the History of Cotton Manufacture in the United States. New York: D. Appleton and Company, 1879.
Webster, Prentiss, ed. The Story of the City Hall Commission, Including the Exercises at the Laying of the Corner Stones and the Dedication of the City Hall and Memorial Hall. Lowell: Citizen Newspaper Company, 1894.
Weible, Robert, ed. The Continuing Revolution: a History of Lowell, Massachusetts. Lowell, MA: Lowell Historical Society, 1991.
Weismann, Joanne, ed. The Lowell Mill Girls: life in the factory. Perspectives on History. Lowell, MA: Discovery Enterprises, c1991.
Welter, Rush. Popular Education and Democratic Thought in America. New York: Columbia University Press, 1962.
West, Richard S., Jr. Lincoln's Scapegoat General; A Life of Benjamin F. Butler, 1818-1983. Boston: Houghton Mifflin, 1965.
Whistler, James A. M. The Gentle Art of Making Enemies. New York: G.P. Putnam's sons, 1890. Reprint: Dover, 1967.
White, George S. Memoir of Samuel Slater; The Father of American Manufactures. Connected with a History of the Rise and Progress of the Cotton Manufacture in England and America. Philadelphia: 1836. Reprint: Kelley, 1967.
White, John H. American Locomotives; on engineering History, 1830-1880. Johns Hopkins Press, 1968.
Whittier, John G. Snow Bound; A Winter Idyl. Boston: Ticknor and Fields, 1867.
_____. The Stranger in Lowell. Boston: Waite, Pierce and Company, 1845.
Winthrop, Robert C. Memoir of the Hon. Nathan Appleton; prepared agreeably to a resolution of the Massachusetts Historical Society. Boston: John Wilson and Son, 1861.
Women of Lowell. New York: Arno Press, 1974.
Woodbury, C.J. H. Bibliography of the Cotton Manufacture. Waltham, MA: Press of E.L. Barry, 1909.
Young, James H. The Toadstool Millionaires; A Social History of Patent Medicines in America Before Federal Regulation. Princeton, NJ: Princeton University Press, 1961.
Zimiles, Martha. Early American Mills. C.N. Potter; distributed by Crown Publishers, 1973.
Zonderman, David A. Aspirations and anxieties: New England workers and the mechanized factory system, 1815-1850. New York: Oxford University Press, 1992