LibGuides: College Writing I: MLA (Modern Language Association) Citation Style

Modern Language Association (MLA) Style

MLA Handbook by The Modern Language Association of America
Call Number: Lydon Reference LB 2369 .M52 2021
ISBN: 9781603293518
Publication Date: 2021-04-22
"The ninth edition of the MLA Handbook is a textbook and reference guide that offers student writers and writing instructors guidance on creating works-cited-list entries in MLA style using the template of core elements. It features advice on punctuation, grammar, inclusive language, formatting research papers, and in-text citations. Includes an appendix of sample works-cited-list entries, illustrations, and an index"-- Provided by publisher

📌 Please Note:
The current version of the MLA citation style is the 9th edition (2021). Check with your instructor to be sure of which version of MLA to use.

Where to get Help

Official Resources

MLA Style Center is the official website of MLA Style. This is the comprehensive, up-to-date source for all aspects of formatting and citing in MLA style. It includes detailed instruction on proper formatting and layout, as well as examples of how to cite a variety of media types. The site includes video and interactive practice options.

MLA Handbook: Chapter 1: Introduction to Formatting Your Research Project
The first chapter of the MLA Handbook is available online for free. It contains the following sections: Margins and Text Formatting; Titles; Running Head and Page Numbers; Internal Headings and Subheadings; Placement of the List of Works Cited; Tables and Illustrations; Lists; Proofreading, Printing, and Submission; and Glossaries and Appendixes.
CItations by Format
Sample citations in MLA Style for a variety of resource types.
Works Cited: A Quick Guide
An overview of the elements of citations by the MLA Style Center.
Webinar on MLA Style given by MLA Staff
Covers the eighth edition, (works cited list)
Sample Papers in MLA Style
Essays demonstrating proper use of the MLA Style.

Other Useful Resources

Purdue OWL MLA General Format
Purdue Online Writing Lab, (OWL) has become the standard reference for citations for university libraries.

8th Edition

MLA Handbook by The Modern Language Association of America
Call Number: Lydon Library LB 2369 .G53 2016
Publication Date: 2016-04-01
There are two copies in Lydon and several copies on the Internet Archive.

MLA style gives references in the text to a list of works cited. Its distinguishing features:

an emphasis on the author and title instead of the date
use of in-text citations, not bibliographic notes

The approach to creating a list of works cited has changed as of the eighth edition. Works are no longer cited by publication format.

MLA Style Examples

Cryptids are animals whose existence is disputed.(Hurn 1) Nessie is one example.(Cray 258) Bigfoot is another cryptid.(Westrum 27)

Works Cited

Cray, Ed. “Loch Ness Monster.” Western Folklore, vol. 18, no. 3, July 1959, pp. 258–59. EBSCOhost, https://doi.org/10.2307/1497725.

Hurn, Samantha, editor. Anthropology and Cryptozoology: Exploring Encounters with Mysterious Creatures. Routledge, 2016.

Westrum, Ron. “Sasquatch and Scientists: Reporting Scientific Anomalies.” Manlike Monsters on Trial: Early Records and Modern Evidence, edited by Marjorie M. Halpin and Michael M. Ames, University of British Columbia Press, 1980, pp. 27–36. EBSCOhost, https://doi.org/10.59962/9780774857857-006.

Sample Books for Citations

Book

Title: Anthropology and Cryptozoology: Exploring Encounters with Mysterious Creatures

Editor: Samantha Hurn

Publisher: Routledge

Place of Publication: New York

Date of Publication: 2016

Book Section

Chapter Title: Sasquatch and Scientists: Reporting Scientific Anomalies

Chapter Author: Ron Westrum

Book Title: Manlike Monsters on Trial: Early Records and Modern Evidence

Book Editors: Marjorie M. Halpin and Michael M. Ames

Publisher: University of British Columbia Press

Place of Publication: Vancouver, BC

Date of Publication: 1980

Pages: 27-36

Journal Article

Article Title: Loch Ness Monster

Author: Ed Cray

Journal Title: Western Folklore

Volume: 18

Issue: 3

Date: 1959

Pages: 258-259