A collection of 50 databases related to all aspects of American History
The American Antiquarian Society is both a learned society and a major independent research library. The AAS library today houses the largest and most accessible collection of works related to all aspects of American history.
Library of Congress collection. Search America's historic newspaper pages from 1789-1943 or use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present.
Library of Congress search site related to the Chronicling America; Historic American Newspapers collection.
This directory of newspapers published in the United States since 1690 can help identify what titles exist for a specific place and time, and how to access them. Use the options below to select a particular place and time, using keywords to locate specific titles. Titles currently listed: 156,720.
The National Digital Newspaper Program (NDNP), a partnership between the National Endowment for the Humanities (NEH) and the Library of Congress (LC), is a long-term effort to develop an Internet-based, searchable database of U.S. newspapers with descriptive information and select digitization of historic pages. Supported by NEH, this rich digital resource will be developed and permanently maintained at the Library of Congress. An NEH award program will fund the contribution of content from, eventually, all U.S. states and territories.
This collection contains 111 newspaper titles, 132,668 issues comprising 1,440,499 pages and 6,887,660 articles. Since 2005, the History, Philosophy, and Newspaper Library at the University of Illinois has been developing unique digital newspaper content. The works collected here include digital facsimilies of newspapers and trade journals in a variety of fields. Users may search, browse, tag, and correct OCR text to improve searchability and access.
The Darrell W. Krueger Library at Winona State University is pleased to provide public access to our online archive of four Winona city newspapers spanning from 1855 through 1976. This archive includes many issues of the following newspapers:
Winona Argus, 1855-1857
Winona Daily Republican, 1860–1901
Winona Republican Herald, 1905-1954
Winona Daily News, 1954-1976
Welcome to Historic Oregon Newspapers. On this site you can search and access complete content for historic Oregon newspapers that have been digitized as part of the Oregon Digital Newspaper Program (ODNP). This full-text searchable database contains over 900,000 pages from Oregon newspapers dated 1846 - 2017, and we are continually adding new titles.
The following links provide access to either digitized versions of newspapers or links to digitized newspapers made available from a variety of sources. Among these links are papers held by the Clarke Historical Library and also Michigan newspapers found in Chronicling America , a database maintained by the Library of Congress.
A service of the Colorado State Library, the Colorado Historic Newspapers Collection (CHNC) currently includes more than 1,000,000 digitized pages, representing more than 220 individual newspaper titles published in Colorado primarily from 1859 to 1923. Due to copyright restrictions, the CHNC does not always include newspapers published after 1922
This site contains the archives of the University of Pennsylvania's Daily Pennsylvanian, which dates from 1885 through 2002. Thanks to the generosity of members of the classes of 1979, 1983, 1991, and 1992, issues from those years were the first to be made available here.
This collection presently contains 16,360 issues comprising 125,595 pages and 697,665 articles.
his collection contains 202,977 issues comprising 2,200,885 pages and 17,536,359 articles.
The California Digital Newspaper Collection is a project of the Center for Bibliographical Studies and Research (CBSR) at the University of California, Riverside.
This collection contains 117,106 issues comprising 939,809 pages and 122,203 articles.
May 2017: The Virginia Newspaper Project is adding a significant collection of Civilian Conservation Corps (CCC) newspapers. To explore the collection, click on the “Titles” tab and find the link for “Civilian Conservation Corps Newspapers,” which will direct you to the growing list of digitized CCC newspapers. The papers were originally microfilmed by The Center for Research Libraries in 1991