Other Sources for Articles
This is the "Start Here" page of the "Beginning Your Research" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Beginning Your Research   Tags: research search_techniques  

Tips & Tricks using library and other online resources
Last Updated: Mar 31, 2014 URL: http://libguides.uml.edu/content.php?pid=57499 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Start Here Print Page
  Search: 
 

Background Sources for Different Areas

videoSee how background info gives you a head start in searching

  • Sage Knowledge
    Encyclopedias are one of a few sources that give you an overiew of a topic. You can learn enough to choose a specific aspect of a broad topic. You can also pick up key terms as well as author names to search in our catalog and article databases.
  • CQ Researcher
    contains hundreds of research reports on topics of social policy. Each report includes a chronology, charts, graphs, bibliography, & other overview materials. Browse reports or search by keyword.
  • Literature Resource Center
    Find biographical and critical essays on major authors or literary themes. SEARCH by author name or title of the literary work.
  • Opposing Viewpoints in Context
    Features continuously updated viewpoint articles, topic overviews, full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, statistics, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites.
  • Oxford Art Online
    Find quick information about artists, artistic movements and styles, art in various time periods, etc.
  • Oxford Music Online
    Find quick information about musicians, music time periods, music themes, etc.
  • Science in Context
    Science in Context features authoritative information and detailed coverage of popular subjects. From earth science and life science, to space, technology, mathematics and science history and biography.
 

Books, journals, magazines....oh my!

          

 

We want your opinion

Was this information helpful?

How useful is this page?
(1 = Not Useful, 5 = Very Useful!)

Additional comments:


Your Email:


 

Developing a Topic

 

Deciding on a Topic

Deciding on a topic is possibly the most difficult part of doing research. If you're not sure how to start, talk with your professor, ask a librarian, or...

      1. Think about a topic that will keep your interest.

      2. Do some background reading from a textbook or subject encyclopedia.

      3. Narrow your topic to something manageable. You may need to rework it several times as you research.

      4. Try "Mind Mapping" or concept mapping your topic after consulting some of the resources on the left. You can also use CredoReference's Concept Mapping tool.  Just type in a term or phrase and see different aspects of the concept displayed.

      5. Once you have an idea, write it out as a short sentence or question then pick out search terms.

          "How does stress affect memory?"                    stress      memory

            6. Use the tabs in this research guide to find books and articles.
      Description

      Loading  Loading...

      Tip