Questions to think about:
1. Who is the authority behind the information?
2. What is the purpose of the information?
3. How biased or neutral is the information?
4. Can the information be verified from other sources?
100 full-text reference resources covering most academic subject areas.
Credo Reference aggregates authoritative high-quality reference works for online delivery to libraries worldwide. UMass Lowell subscribes to 100 reference titles in Credo, with over 600 thousand entries, all fully integrated and intelligently cross-linked. Reference resources include Encyclopedias, handbooks, dictionaries, and atlases. Subjects covered in particular are history, health, world politics and culture, social sciences, music, literature, biology, education, and religion.
Biographical information about current and historical people.
Biography in Context integrates over 1,000 volumes of Thomson Gale publications with full-text magazine articles, images, and website links. Search for current or historic people by name, occupation, nationality, ethnicity, birth/death dates and places, or gender, or by keyword and full text. Narrative biographies provide an in-depth overview of the subject's life and accomplishments. Over 538,000 full-text magazine articles bring coverage of the subject up-to-date and broaden the view of his or her place in history, society, a particular field of endeavor, or the news.
Debate.org is the premier online community where intelligent minds from around the world come to debate online and read the opinions of others. To encourage discussion we have built our website around these core features:
A non-partisan, non-profit organization, Intelligence Squared U.S. addresses a fundamental problem in America: the extreme polarization of our nation and our politics. Over 140 topics covered.
Our mission is to restore critical thinking, facts, reason, and civility to American public discourse.
By elevating a diversity of voices, forging common ground and improving dialogue and collaboration among leaders and communities, Public Agenda fuels progress on critical issues, including education, health care and community engagement.
Authoritative coverage of local, national and international news.
Coverage: September 1980 - current
Access to full-text coverage of the Boston Globe through detailed indexing that covers not only complete bibliographic information but also subjects, companies, people, products, and geographic areas. In addition, items such as editorials, editorial cartoons, obituaries, and letters to the editor from well-known people are also made easily accessible through the searchable index.
Coverage of national and international finance as well as hard news.
Coverage: 1984 - current
The Wall St. Journal's comprehensive, high-quality indexing covers not only complete bibliographic information but also subjects, companies, people, products, and geographic areas, so researchers can easily access not only top news stories but also detailed information on the arts, sports, business, and popular culture. Even such items as editorials, editorial cartoons, and letters to the editor from well-known people are indexed. For each article cited in the database, an abstract of up to 75 words helps the researcher know if the complete text will meet his or her needs.
A collection of over 41,000 full-length documentary videos to stream.
MulltiDatabase Discovery Search
Hints: Practice using the Boolean operators you learned about in the slides. For instance: Use AND between different terms Use OR between terms with similar meaning
Use * to retrieve all words with that root.