LibGuides: World Languages and Cultures: Film, Art, and Music

Film, Art, and Music

You can learn a lot about world cultures by exploring their film, art and music. Browse the resources below to find documentaries and foreign films (AVON, Kanopy, Films On Demand), discover the global impact of fine arts (JSTOR/ARTStor), or listen to classical, folk, and popular music from international sources (NAXOS Music Library).

When using these resources, we suggest searching for a combination of a country/language and descriptive keyword (e.g., "Spanish modern artists"; "French Architecture"; "Chinese watercolor", etc.). You can also try searching an artist’s name combined with the title of their work.

AVON (Academic Video Online)
A streaming media database that includes access to 84,000+ videos across almost all disciplines, with award-winning documentaries, interviews, training and demo films, news programs, and more. Channels include CNN content, BBC Landmark productions, Film Platform documentaries, PBS programming, and some Sony Pictures Classics. ALso known as ProQuest's Academic Video Online.
Films On Demand
A key collection of over 41,000 full-length documentaries and educational films to stream. The content spans all academic disciplines and comes from producers and distributors like the BBC, PBS, A&E, the History Channel, California Newsreel, Frontline, National Geographic, and many more.
Kanopy
A video streaming service for quality, thoughtful entertainment. Find movies, documentaries, foreign films, classic cinema, independent films and educational videos.
Artstor
Over 1.8 million images in art, architecture, humanities, and social sciences. Includes tools to view, present, and manage images -- any UML user can create an account and save collections. Instructors can create collections to share in a class or on campus, and can add their own images to their collections.

JSTOR now includes ARTstor.
Naxos Music Library
Naxos Music Library [NML] is the world´s largest online classical music library. Currently, it offers streaming access to more than 195,741 CDs with more than 2,994,781 tracks of both standard and rare repertoire. Over 600 new titles are being added to the library each month. The library offers the complete Naxos and Marco Polo catalogues plus the complete catalogues or selected titles from over 950 record labels, with more labels joining every month. Along with classical music, jazz, world, and pop/rock are also represented. NML can be accessed from any computer, anywhere, anytime. With the iOS and Android apps, subscribers can also access the service on the go with mobile devices.