UNIVERSITY OF MASSACHUSETTS LOWELL
CENTER FOR LOWELL HISTORY
CAMBODIAN MUTUAL ASSISTANCE ASSOCIATION OF GREATER LOWELL, INC.
EXTENT: 189 GB
This collection includes digitized photographs, publications, and misc. materials from the Cambodian Mutual Assistance Association of Greater Lowell, Inc.
The complete collection is available for viewing online at SEADA’s Omeka site.
The Cambodian Mutual Assistance Association of Greater Lowell, Inc. (CMAA) was founded in 1984 as a nonprofit organization. Lowell had, and continues to have, a large Cambodian population and it was important for Cambodians to be able to seek and receive help from people with the same background. Through the years CMAA has offered various programs and services including English classes, job skills training, a daycare, citizenship classes, and youth programs.
CMAA’s current mission is to “improve the quality of life for Cambodian Americans and other minorities and economically disadvantaged persons in Lowell through educational, cultural, economic and social programs.” Current programs and services include, but are not limited to, Cambodian After School Program, Citizen Assistance, English for Speakers of Other Languages (ESOL), First Time Home Buyer’s Training, Khmer Language Class, Monorom Family Support Program, Rising Stars Support Program, Translation Services, and Young Professional Program.
Information gathered from the CMAA website, https://www.cmaalowell.org/wp/, current and former CMAA staff, and from the publications in this collection.
This digitized Cambodian Mutual Assistance Association of Greater Lowell, Inc. collection is broadly organized into 3 areas:
Includes photographs from CMAA’s 15th anniversary event (1999), 16th anniversary event (2000), various events including Halloween, Thanksgiving, Christmas, New Year and a baby shower, and everyday photographs.
Includes a 1995 CMAA newsletter and several Khmer Lowell issues (1997-2001).
Subject Files, 2003-2014
Includes CMAA brochures, event flyers, forms, a letter, and a planning calendar.