UML 17. Southeast Asian Digital Archive Oral History Project, 2019-Ongoing

UNIVERSITY OF MASSACHUSETTS LOWELL

CENTER FOR LOWELL HISTORY

SOUTHEAST ASIAN DIGITAL ARCHIVE ORAL HISTORY PROJECT, 2019-ONGOING

UML 17

NOTE: This is a draft finding aid. This collection is currently in progress and information will be updated as it becomes available.

EXTENT: 1 records box

ABSTRACT: 

The collection consists 3 oral histories in an ongoing oral history project.

Part of the collection is available for viewing online at SEADA’s Omeka site.

DRAFT

Maryellen Cuthbert, April 2019, Oral History #19.01
An oral history interview with Maryellen Cuthbert and interviewer Sue J. Kim. Since the mid-1980s, Cuthbert has been a private defense attorney working in the Lowell, Massachusetts, area. In this oral history, Cuthbert shares information about her training as a lawyer and reflects on various cases she’s worked with related to Southeast Asian communities. Content warning: Mentions of weapons, abuse, assaults, and violent situations.

Thel Sar, April 2019, Oral History #19.0
An oral history interview with Thel Sar and interviewer Sue J. Kim. In this oral history, Sar talks about his early life: living through the Khmer Rouge, resettling in the United States, and his education; his career trajectory: working at the Cambodian Mutual Assistance Association, working at the Massachusetts Department of Youth Services, and becoming one of the earliest probation officers of Cambodian descent at Lowell District Court; his other community activities; and his family.

Sivaing Suos, August 2019, Oral History #19.05
An oral history interview with Sivaing Suos and interviewer Tyler Sar. In this oral history, Suos talks about her early life in Cambodia and immigrating to the U.S., her experiences pursuing education and holding various jobs, including working in the mental health field and with families experiencing domestic violence, and her family.

University of Massachusetts Lowell Southeast Asian Digital Archive Related Collections, https://www.uml.edu/Research/SEA-digital-archive/related-collections.aspx

For more information about the SEADA, please visit our home page at www.uml.edu/seada, or email us at seada@uml.edu.