Skip to main content

Help with MathSciNet

If you are logged in to your UML email you are logged in to the library. If prompted, enter your UML email credentials. If you still have trouble, clear the cache on your device. Email not working? Troubleshoot from here.

To access content in the subscription databases you may get an authentication phone call from Duo. This is routine.

Find Your Database

Start at the library home page, and click the Databases tab at left. Click the initial letter of the database you are looking for in the A-Z listing, or browse the titles on the page. Click the name of the database you are looking for.

If you cannot access the above video, you can watch it here

About MathSciNet

MathSciNet is a database of reviews, abstracts and bibliographic information for much of the mathematical sciences literature. First published in print as Mathematical Reviews in 1940, MathSciNet now publishes over 100,000 new items each year, most of them classified according to the Mathematics Subject Classification. 

Authors are uniquely identified (by their MR Author ID), enabling a search for publications by individual author rather than by name string.

Expert reviewers are selected by a staff of professional mathematicians to write reviews of the current published literature; over 80,000 reviews are added to the database each year. MathSciNet contains almost 3 million items and over 1.7 million direct links to original articles.

Bibliographic data from retrodigitized articles dates back to the early 1800s.

Reference lists are collected and matched internally from approximately 550 journals, and citation data for journals, authors, articles and reviews is provided.  This web of citations allows users to track the history and influence of research publications in the mathematical sciences.

Updates to MathSciNet

If you cannot access the above video, you can watch it here