LibGuides: Mathematics Research Guide: Articles and Databases

Mathematics Articles and Databases

On this page, you can learn when articles are most useful for research and how to borrow articles from other libraries with Interlibrary Loan.

We’ve also curated the most relevant Mathematics databases for journal articles, conference papers, and book chapters. They are split into categories to help you find the best match for your research.

Please note that you'll need to log in with your UML credentials before you can view article or database content.

Best Bets

These are top resources we recommend for getting started with your research:

MathSciNet (American Mathematical Society)
Core database for mathematical and statistical research, with citations to academic articles covering most leading journals in the field. Developed by a key association in the field, the American Mathematical Society, and includes tools to find most cited articles, authors, or books in a search, as well as find where individual articles have been cited by other articles.

Publication dates: 1864 - current
SIAM Journals Online
The Science and Industry Advance with Mathematics (SIAM) online journal collection consists of full-text access to 18 titles in applied and computational mathematics from 1997 to the current issue. In addition, the Locus Online Journal Archive offers back issue access from 1953 - 1996 for an additional three titles.

Exploring More

Try these options to expand your research:

ScienceDirect
Browse over 5 thousand journals and 36 thousand books covering many topics in general science, mathematics, computers, statistics, business and more. Coverage 1995 - present.
ACM Digital Library
A key collection for computer science and engineering but includes topics such as mathematical software, spatial algorithms and systems.
IngentaConnect Online Journals
Coverage includes 32 journals related to mathematics and statistics.
IOPscience Journals
Coverage includes the journal subject collection on "mathematics and computation".
Journal content hosted by the Institute of Physics in IOPscience represents more than 300,000 articles. You can browse assorted subject categories or search by keywords. You can also search by PACS and MSC codes to find articles. PACS is a hierarchical subject classification scheme for physics and astronomy. MSC codes are used to categorize items covered by the two reviewing databases, Mathematical Reviews (MR) and Zentralblatt MATH (Zbl). RSS feeds allow you to be alerted when new content is updated. IOP also offers PACS and MSC clouds to find content. The clouds are a text-based depiction of the content of a grouping of articles in IOPscience. The clouds help to navigate quickly and easily to groups of articles which might be of interest.

Deep Dives

These materials are recommended for more intensive research:

MathSciNet (American Mathematical Society)
This is a core database but also a key resource for drilling deep into mathematical and statistical research since it covers most leading journals in the field, has a depth of topics, and a long publication history.
JSTOR
A key collection of both high-quality academic journals including 60 journals on mathematics with backfiles dating back to the 1800s.

About Articles

What are Articles?

Articles are essays or reports published within a larger container like a journal, newspaper, or magazine. That larger container is called a "periodical" because it is published periodically, or on a regular basis. Different types of periodicals are made for different audiences (popular, scholarly, or trade) and you can learn more about those distinctions with our Types of Sources guide.

Articles are good for...

Current, up-to-date information
- Periodicals are generally quicker to publish than books or long-form films.
Literature reviews and other reviews of a topic
- These elements are often placed at the start of an article to set the stage.
A deep dive into a specific research question, experiment, or study
- Articles often focus on a narrower topic than books.
Peer-reviewed information
- Newspaper articles go through at least some fact-checking, while academic articles are typically reviewed by other scholars and dedicated editors.

To learn more about searching for articles, visit the Library’s Guide to Article Quick Search.

About Interlibrary Loan (ILL)

What is Interlibrary Loan?

Interlibrary Loan (ILL) is a free service that allows UML Library patrons to access items we don’t own by borrowing from partner libraries.

How do I use Interlibrary Loan?

Create an account
- Visit our ILL Login Page and click "First Time Users."
- On the new page, scroll down and click "Continue to new user registration."
- Fill out the form and click "Submit Information."
Place your request
- Once you’ve created your account, visit our Guide to Interlibrary Loan to learn how to submit an ILL request through our Library’s catalog and databases.

Can I get Interlibrary Loan items quickly?

Depending on how rare the item is or which libraries own a copy, it might take longer to process your ILL request. Be sure to allow enough time for your item to arrive.
- Physical books, CDs, and DVDs usually arrive within 2-14 business days
- Articles and book chapters often arrive in 1-2 business days, sent by email as a PDF

If you have questions about your ILL request or account, please send an email to ILLSOUTH@uml.edu.