Skip to Main Content

Find Newspaper Articles via the UML Library

Find Newspaper Articles Un UML Databases

The newspaper subscriptions at UML come in the form of searchable databases rather than the familiar landing page where you can browse. This does not mean you won't get the articles you are looking for, and you can find articles in the current issue.

Follow a few simple steps, as outlined in this guide, to find what you need in the: 

Boston Globe 
New York Times 

Financial Times
Wall Street Journal

and others.

Using Nexis Uni for New York Times Articles

The Nexis Uni database can be a simple option for searching for articles in the New York Times. Click the "Publication" tab, enter search terms in the field on the left and start typing "New York Times" in the field on the right but be sure to choose "New York Times from the dropdown. You can refine your search from the resulting landing page.

nexis uni database navigation showing publication and search fields

Sample Search, (in Gale NYT Database)

"I have been trying to get access to a specific NY Times article in the database that supposedly provides full text access to this newspaper but no matter how I try, I cannot locate the article and am hoping you can help.  The article is “First-Generation Students Unite” by Laura Pappano, publication date April 8, 2015. "

Librarian suggestion: "From the library homepage, I went into databases, then New York Times, then Advanced Search. I put in Pappano and unite. I wonder if the problem was that the article title used Gen rather than generation."

Search tip when using the library's Gale New York Times database: if at first you don't succeed, do less. Some search terms may not match up to the metadata the database has attached to a particular article. Try mixing and substituting search terms based on title, author, publication date. Not all items from the NYT magazine are included. Alternatively, try Nexis Uni, (see instructions below).

 

text


 VIA GOOGLE NEWS--

If you see an article on nytimes.com, or something archived via their SEARCH app (top of page) –then you can go to news.google.com and search for the headline or keywords.  The Times allows backdoor access to its content via Google News.  It is usually possible to find items from today's paper this way.


To search the New York Times Historical archive from 1851, click here.