Faculty and researchers: We want to hear from you! We are launching a survey to learn more about your library collection needs for teaching, learning, and research. If you would like to participate, please complete the survey by May 17, 2024. Thank you for your participation!
You will need to be logged in to the UML Library to access some of the material in this guide. If you are logged in to your UML email you are logged in to the library. You may get an additional authentication phone call from Duo. This is routine.
If prompted, enter your UML email credentials. If you still have trouble, clear the cache on your device. Email not working? Troubleshoot from here.
Start at the library home page, and click the Databases tab at left. Click the initial letter of the database you are looking for in the A-Z listing, or browse the titles on the page. Click the name of the database you are looking for.
JMU is mentioned in discussion of accessing the database. You should substitute UML library website.
PubMed is a free resource supporting the search and retrieval of biomedical and life sciences literature with the aim of improving health–both globally and personally.
The PubMed database includes the MEDLINE database plus the following types of citations:
➤ In-process citations, which provide records for articles before those records are indexed with MeSH or converted to out-of-scope status.
➤ Citations to articles that are out-of-scope (e.g., covering plate tectonics or astrophysics) from certain MEDLINE journals, primarily general science and general chemistry journals, for which only the life sciences articles are indexed with MeSH.
➤ "Ahead of Print" citations that precede the article's final publication in a MEDLINE indexed journal.
➤ Citations that precede the date that a journal was selected for MEDLINE indexing (when supplied electronically by the publisher).
➤ Pre-1966 citations that have not yet been updated with current MeSH and converted to MEDLINE status.
➤ Citations to some additional life sciences journals that submit full text to PMC® (PubMed Central®) and receive a qualitative review by NLM.
➤ Citations to author manuscripts of articles published by NIH-funded researchers.
➤ Citations for the majority of books available on the NCBI Bookshelf (a citation for the book and in some cases each chapter of the book)
It does not include full text journal articles; however, links to the full text are often present when available from other sources, such as the publisher's website or PubMed Central (PMC).
PubMed Central® (PMC) is a free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM). Some PubMed Central journals are also MEDLINE journals
PubMed citations come from:
1) MEDLINE indexed journals
2) journals/manuscripts deposited in PMC
3) NCBI Bookshelf.
If you limit your PubMed search to MeSH controlled vocabulary or the MEDLINE subset, you will see only MEDLINE citations in your results.
