Skip to main content

Help with PubMed and PubMed Central

You will need to be logged in to the UML Library to access some of the material in this guide. If you are logged in to your UML email you are logged in to the library. You may get an additional authentication phone call from Duo. This is routine. 

f prompted, enter your UML email credentials. If you still have trouble, clear the cache on your device. Email not working? Troubleshoot from here.

 

Find Your Database

Start at the library home page, and click the Databases tab at left. Click the initial letter of the database you are looking for in the A-Z listing, or browse the titles on the page. Click the name of the database you are looking for.

Brief Tour of Pubmed

If you cannot access the above video, you can watch it here

PubMed has been available since 1996. Its more than 31 million references include the MEDLINE* database plus the following types of citations: 

❖ In-process citations, which provide records for articles before those records are indexed with MeSH or converted to out-of-scope status.
❖ Citations to articles that are out-of-scope (e.g., covering plate tectonics or astrophysics) from certain MEDLINE journals, primarily general science and general chemistry journals, for which only the life sciences articles are indexed with MeSH.
❖ "Ahead of Print" citations that precede the article's final publication in a MEDLINE indexed journal.
❖ Citations that precede the date that a journal was selected for MEDLINE indexing (when supplied electronically by the publisher).
❖ Pre-1966 citations that have not yet been updated with current MeSH and converted to MEDLINE status.
❖ Citations to some additional life sciences journals that submit full text to PMC® (PubMed Central®) and receive a qualitative review by NLM.
❖ Citations to author manuscripts of articles published by NIH-funded researchers.
❖ Citations for the majority of books available on the NCBI Bookshelf (a citation for the book and in some cases each chapter of the book).

PubMed citations come from:

1) MEDLINE indexed journals 
2) journals/manuscripts deposited in PMC
3) NCBI Bookshelf.

Both MEDLINE and other PubMed citations may have links to full-text articles or manuscripts in PMC, NCBI Bookshelf, and publishers' Web sites. If you limit your PubMed search to MeSH controlled vocabulary or the MEDLINE subset, you will see only MEDLINE citations in your results.


PMC (PubMed Central) launched in 2000 as a free archive for full-text biomedical and life sciences journal articles. PMC serves as a digital counterpart to the NLM extensive print journal collection; it is a repository for journal literature from participating publishers, as well as for author manuscripts that have been submitted in compliance with the NIH Public Access Policy and similar policies of other research funding agencies. Some PMC journals are also MEDLINE journals.

*Medline is the National Library of Medicine journal citation database.

-Text adapted from the National Library of Medicine.

How to get the Full Text Article

If you cannot access the above video, you can watch it here