Conditions of Use
Coastal Engineering, Third Edition by Dominic Reeve; Andrew Chadwick; Christopher FlemingEffective coastal engineering is expensive, but it is not as costly as neglect or ineffective intervention. Good practice needs to be based on sound principles, but theoretical work and modelling also need to be well grounded in practice, which is continuously evolving. Conceptual and detailed design has been advanced by new industry publications since the publication of the second edition. This third edition provides a number of updates: the sections on wave overtopping have been updated to reflect changes brought in with the recently issued EurOtop II manual; a detailed worked example is given of the calculation of extreme wave conditions for design; additional examples have been included on the reliability of structures and probabilistic design; the method for tidal analysis and calculation of amplitudes and phases of harmonic constituents from water level time series has been introduced in a new appendix together with a worked example of harmonic analysis; and a real-life example is included of a design adapting to climate change. This book is especially useful as an information source for undergraduates and engineering MSc students specializing in coastal engineering and management. Readers require a good grounding in basic fluid mechanics or engineering hydraulics, and some familiarity with elementary statistical concepts.
Coastal Engineering by Dominic Reeve; A. J. Chadwick; Chris FlemingThe United Nations estimate that by 2004, in excess of 75% of the world's population will live within the coastal zone. These regions are therefore of critical importance to a majority of the world's citizens. The coastal zone provides important economic, transport, residential and recreational functions, all of which depend upon its physical characteristics, appealing landscape, cultural heritage, natural resources and rich marine and terrestrial biodiversity. This resource is thus the foundation for the well being and economic viability of present and future generations of coastal zone residents The pressure on coastal environments is also being exacerbated by rapid changes in global climate. The value of the coastal zone to humanity, and the enormous pressure on it, provide strong incentives for a greater scientific understanding which can ensure effective coastal engineering practice and efficient and sustainable management. Coastal Engineering: Processes, Theory and Design Practice is the only book providing a thorough introduction to all aspects of coastal processes, morphology and design of coastal defences. The use of detailed and state-of-the art modelling techniques are an important theme of this book, and there are numerous case studies showing actual examples where mathematical modelling has been applied through engineering judgement. With thorough coverage of the theory, and practical demonstration of the applications, Coastal Engineering: Processes, Theory and Design Practice is a must have for all students and engineers working in coastal management and engineering. .
Publication Date: 2004-11-03
Coastal Processes with Engineering Applications by Robert G. Dean; Robert A. DalrympleThe world's coastlines, dividing land from sea, are geological environments that are unique in their composition and the physical processes affecting them. At the dynamically active intersection of land and the oceans, humans have been building structures throughout history. Initially used for naval and commercial purposes, more recently recreation and tourism have increased activity in the coastal zone dramatically. Shoreline development is now causing a significant conflict with natural coastal processes. This text on coastal engineering will help the reader understand these coastal processes and develop strategies to cope effectively with shoreline erosion. The book is organized in four parts: (1) an overview of coastal engineering, using case studies to illustrate problems; (2) hydrodynamics of the coastal zone, reviewing storm surges, water waves, and low frequency motions within the nearshore and surf zone; (3) coastal responses including equilibrium beach profiles and sediment transport; (4) applications such as erosion mitigation, beach nourishment, coastal armoring, tidal inlets, and shoreline management.
Table of Contents
Chapter 1: The Terminal Settling Velocity of Particles
Chapter 2: Steady Uniform Flow in Open Channels
Chapter 3: Constructing the Shields Curve, Part A
Chapter 4: Constructing the Shields Curve, Part B
Chapter 5: Constructing the Shields Curve, Part C
Chapter 6: Hydraulic Transport of Sand/Shell Mixtures in Relation with the LDV
Chapter 7: Cutter Head Spillage
Chapter 8: The Pump/Pipeline System
Chapter 9: Modeling of the Swing Winches of a Cutter Dredge
Chapter 10: The Trailing Suction Hopper Dredge
Chapter 11: Production Estimation of Water Jets and Cutting Blades in Drag Heads
Chapter 12: The Closing Process of Clamshell Dredges in Water-Satured Sand
Chapter 13: Notes
Chapter 14: References
Chapter 15: List of Figures
Chapter 16: List of Tables
Hydrology by Wilfried BrutsaertWater in its different forms has always been a source of wonder, curiosity and practical concern for humans everywhere. Hydrology: An Introduction presents a coherent introduction to the fundamental principles of hydrology, based on the course that Wilfried Brutsaert has taught at Cornell University for the last thirty years. Hydrologic phenomena are dealt with at spatial and temporal scales at which they occur in nature. The physics and mathematics necessary to describe these phenomena are introduced and developed, and readers will require a working knowledge of calculus and basic fluid mechanics. The book will be invaluable as a textbook for entry-level courses in hydrology directed at advanced seniors and graduate students in physical science and engineering. In addition, the book will be more broadly of interest to professional scientists and engineers in hydrology, environmental science, meteorology, agronomy, geology, climatology, oceanology, glaciology and other earth sciences.
Publication Date: 2005-08-11
Practical Channel Hydraulics, 2nd Edition by Donald W. Knight; Caroline Hazlewood; Rob Lamb; Paul G. Samuels; Koji ShionoPractical Channel Hydraulics is a technical guide for estimating flood water levels in rivers using the innovative software known as the Conveyance and Afflux Estimation System (CES-AES). The stand alone software is freely available at HR Wallingford's website www.river-conveyance.net. The conveyance engine has also been embedded within industry standard river modelling software such as InfoWorks RS and Flood Modeller Pro. This 2nd Edition has been greatly expanded through the addition of Chapters 6-8, which now supply the background to the Shiono and Knight Method (SKM), upon which the CES-AES is largely based. With the need to estimate river levels more accurately, computational methods are now frequently embedded in flood risk management procedures, as for example in ISO 18320 ('Determination of the stage-discharge relationship'), in which both the SKM and CES feature. The CES-AES incorporates five main components: A Roughness Adviser, A Conveyance Generator, an Uncertainty Estimator, a Backwater Module and an Afflux Estimator. The SKM provides an alternative approach, solving the governing equation analytically or numerically using Excel, or with the short FORTRAN program provided. Special attention is paid to calculating the distributions of boundary shear stress distributions in channels of different shape, and to appropriate formulations for resistance and drag forces, including those on trees in floodplains. Worked examples are given for flows in a wide range of channel types (size, shape, cover, sinuosity), ranging from small scale laboratory flumes (Q = 2.0 1s-1) to European rivers (~2,000 m3s-1), and large-scale world rivers (> 23,000 m3s-1), a ~ 107 range in discharge. Sites from rivers in the UK, France, China, New Zealand and Ecuador are considered. Topics are introduced initially at a simplified level, and get progressively more complex in later chapters. This book is intended for post graduate level students and practising engineers or hydrologists engaged in flood risk management, as well as those who may simply just wish to learn more about modelling flows in rivers.
Publication Date: 2018-03-05
Water Engineering by Dominic P. Torres (Editor)Engineers and scientists work to secure water supplies for potable and agricultural use. They evaluate the water balance within a watershed and determine the available water supply, the water needed for various needs in that watershed, the seasonal cycles of water movement through the watershed and they develop systems to store, treat and convey water for various uses. This book presents current research in the study of water engineering including the methods and approaches of groundwater investigation, development and management; industrial wastewater treatment using cavitational reactors and the Fenton process; acquifer characterization using slug tests; water cluster ion beam processing and sustainable water engineering for vulnerable communities in Colombia.
Publication Date: 2011-11-01
Water Engineering by Lawrence K. Wang; Nazih K. Shammas; Daniel A. OkunDetails the design and process of water supply systems, tracing the progression from source to sink Organized and logical flow, tracing the connections in the water-supply system from the water's source to its eventual use Emphasized coverage of water supply infrastructure and the design of water treatment processes Inclusion of fundamentals and practical examples so as to connect theory with the realities of design Provision of useful reference for practicing engineers who require a more in-depth coverage, higher level students studying drinking water systems as well as students in preparation for the FE/PE examinations Inclusion of examples and homework questions in both SI and US units
Publication Date: 2015-05-26
Water Engineering by Nazih K. Shammas; Lawrence K. WangDetails the design and process of water supply systems, tracing the progression from source to sink Organized and logical flow, tracing the connections in the water-supply system from the water's source to its eventual use Emphasized coverage of water supply infrastructure and the design of water treatment processes Inclusion of fundamentals and practical examples so as to connect theory with the realities of design Provision of useful reference for practicing engineers who require a more in-depth coverage, higher level students studying drinking water systems as well as students in preparation for the FE/PE examinations Inclusion of examples and homework questions in both SI and US units
Sustainable Water Engineering by Ramesha Chandrappa; Diganta B. DasEnsuring safe and plentiful supplies of potable water (both now and for future generations) and developing sustainable treatment processes for wastewater are among the world's greatest engineering challenges. However, sustainability requires investment of money, time and knowledge. Some parts of the world are already working towards this goal but many nations have neither the political will nor the resources to tackle even basic provision and sanitation. Combining theory and practice from the developing and developed worlds with high- and low-tech, high- and low-cost solutions, this book discusses fundamental and advanced aspects of water engineering and includes: water resource issues including climate change, water scarcity, economic and financial aspects requirements for sustainable water systems fundamentals of treatment and process design industrial water use and wastewater treatment sustainable effluent disposal sustainable construction principles With integrated theory, design and operation specifications for each treatment process, this book addresses the extent to which various treatment methods work in theory as well as how cost effective they are in practice. It provides a nontechnical guide on how to recover and reuse water from effluent, which is suitable for those in water resource management, environmental planning, civil and chemical engineering.