Over 1,600 engineering reference books covering many scientific topics as well.
Coverage: 1996 - current
Knovel Library content covers 18 industrially important Subject Areas from more than 30 Sci-Tech publishers and professional societies including, McGraw Hill, John Wiley, Elsevier, Springer, Industrial Press, American Institute of Chemical Engineers and American Society of Mechanical Engineers. This data is enhanced with time-saving analytical tools to help analyze and manipulate the data equations and plot graphs, capture values from existing graphs and perform 'what if' experiments on the data.
Biomedical Engineering, Bioengineering and Biotechnology
Engineering Principles in Biotechnology by Wei-Shou HuThis book is a short introduction to the engineering principles of harnessing the vast potential of microorganisms, and animal and plant cells in making biochemical products. It was written for scientists who have no background in engineering, and for engineers with minimal background in biology. The overall subject dealt with is process. But the coverage goes beyond the process of biomanufacturing in the bioreactor, and extends to the factory of cell's biosynthetic machinery. Starting with an overview of biotechnology and organism, engineers are eased into biochemical reactions and life scientists are exposed to the technology of production using cells. Subsequent chapters allow engineers to be acquainted with biochemical pathways, while life scientist learn about stoichiometric and kinetic principles of reactions and cell growth. This leads to the coverage of reactors, oxygen transfer and scale up. Following three chapters on biomanufacturing of current and future importance, i.e. cell culture, stem cells and synthetic biology, the topic switches to product purification, first with a conceptual coverage of operations used in bioseparation, and then a more detailed analysis to provide a conceptual understanding of chromatography, the modern workhorse of bioseparation. Drawing on principles from engineering and life sciences, this book is for practitioners in biotechnology and bioengineering. The author has used the book for a course for advanced students in both engineering and life sciences. To this end, problems are provided at the end of each chapter.
Publication Date: 2017-11-13
Fundamental Bioengineering by Villadsen,A thorough introduction to the basics of bioengineering, with a focus on applications in the emerging "white" biotechnology industry. As such, this latest volume in the "Advanced Biotechnology" series covers the principles for the design and analysis of industrial bioprocesses as well as the design of bioremediation systems, and several biomedical applications. No fewer than seven chapters introduce stoichiometry, kinetics, thermodynamics and the design of ideal and real bioreactors, illustrated by more than 50 practical examples. Further chapters deal with the tools that enable an understanding of the behavior of cell cultures and enzymatically catalyzed reactions, while others discuss the analysis of cultures at the level of the cell, as well as structural frameworks for the successful scale-up of bioreactions. In addition, a short survey of downstream processing options and the control of bioreactions is given. With contributions from leading experts in industry and academia, this is a comprehensive source of information peer-reviewed by experts in the field. Show less
Biotechnology by Ulrich Kück (Editor); Nicole Frankenberg-Dinkel (Editor)Biotechnology is the technical application that uses living organisms or biological systems to make products that have a profound impact on agriculture, environment, and human health. In this text book, a color-coded classification is used to present basic chapters on white, red, green and blue biotechnology. Beside traditional biotechnical processes, the book will address principles of modern biotechnology research and applications. Each chapter has a general introduction and concluding paragraph, gives key terms, will address problems, and recommends additional readings. This text book is ideally suited for advanced graduate or master students and will also be a good reference for PhD students, physicians, engineers, attorneys, or non-specialist with an interest into biotechnology.
Publication Date: 2015-09-25
Biochemical Engineering and Biotechnology by Ghasem NajafpourBiochemical Engineering and Biotechnology, 2nd Edition, outlines the principles of biochemical processes and explains their use in the manufacturing of every day products. The author uses a diirect approach that should be very useful for students in following the concepts and practical applications. This book is unique in having many solved problems, case studies, examples and demonstrations of detailed experiments, with simple design equations and required calculations. Covers major concepts of biochemical engineering and biotechnology, including applications in bioprocesses, fermentation technologies, enzymatic processes, and membrane separations, amongst others Accessible to chemical engineering students who need to both learn, and apply, biological knowledge in engineering principals Includes solved problems, examples, and demonstrations of detailed experiments with simple design equations and all required calculations Offers many graphs that present actual experimental data, figures, and tables, along with explanations
Publication Date: 2015-02-23
Bioprocess Engineering by Kim Gail ClarkeBiotechnology is an expansive field incorporating expertise in both the life science and engineering disciplines. In biotechnology, the scientist is concerned with developing the most favourable biocatalysts, while the engineer is directed towards process performance, defining conditions and strategies that will maximize the production potential of the biocatalyst. Increasingly, the synergistic effect of the contributions of engineering and life sciences is recognised as key to the translation of new bioproducts from the laboratory bench to commercial bioprocess. Fundamental to the successful realization of the bioprocess is a need for process engineers and life scientists competent in evaluating biological systems from a cross-disciplinary viewpoint. Bioprocess engineering aims to generate core competencies through an understanding of the complementary biotechnology disciplines and their interdependence, and an appreciation of the challenges associated with the application of engineering principles in a life science context. Initial chapters focus on the microbiology, biochemistry and molecular biology that underpin biocatalyst potential for product accumulation. The following chapters develop kinetic and mass transfer principles that quantify optimum process performance and scale up. The text is wide in scope, relating to bioprocesses using bacterial, fungal and enzymic biocatalysts, batch, fed-batch and continuous strategies and free and immobilised configurations. Details the application of chemical engineering principles for the development, design, operation and scale up of bioprocesses Details the knowledge in microbiology, biochemistry and molecular biology relevant to bioprocess design, operation and scale up Discusses the significance of these life sciences in defining optimum bioprocess performance
Publication Date: 2013-10-31
Principles of Tissue Engineering by Robert Lanza (Editor); Robert Langer (Editor); Joseph P. Vacanti (Editor)Now in its fourth edition, Principles of Tissue Engineering has been the definite resource in the field of tissue engineering for more than a decade. The fourth edition provides an update on this rapidly progressing field, combining the prerequisites for a general understanding of tissue growth and development, the tools and theoretical information needed to design tissues and organs, as well as a presentation by the world's experts of what is currently known about each specific organ system. As in previous editions, this book creates a comprehensive work that strikes a balance among the diversity of subjects that are related to tissue engineering, including biology, chemistry, material science, and engineering, among others, while also emphasizing those research areas that are likely to be of clinical value in the future. This edition includes greatly expanded focus on stem cells, including induced pluripotent stem (iPS) cells, stem cell niches, and blood components from stem cells. This research has already produced applications in disease modeling, toxicity testing, drug development, and clinical therapies. This up-to-date coverage of stem cell biology and other emerging technologies -such as brain-machine interfaces for controlling bionics and neuroprostheses- is complemented by a series of new and updated chapters on recent clinical experience in applying tissue engineering, as well as a new section on the application of tissue-engineering techniques for food production. The result is a comprehensive textbook that will be useful to students and experts alike. Includes new chapters on biomaterial-protein interactions, nanocomposite and three-dimensional scaffolds, skin substitutes, spinal cord, vision enhancement, and heart valves Offers expanded coverage of adult and embryonic stem cells of the cardiovascular, hematopoietic, musculoskeletal, nervous, and other organ systems Full-color presentation throughout
Publication Date: 2013-10-17
Introductory Bioelectronics by Ronald R. Pethig; Stewart SmithBioelectronics is a rich field of research involving the application of electronics engineering principles to biology, medicine, and the health sciences. With its interdisciplinary nature, bioelectronics spans state-of-the-art research at the interface between the life sciences, engineering and physical sciences. Introductory Bioelectronics offers a concise overview of the field and teaches the fundamentals of biochemical, biophysical, electrical, and physiological concepts relevant to bioelectronics. It is the first book to bring together these various topics, and to explain the basic theory and practical applications at an introductory level. The authors describe and contextualise the science by examining recent research and commercial applications. They also cover the design methods and forms of instrumentation that are required in the application of bioelectronics technology. The result is a unique book with the following key features: an interdisciplinary approach, which develops theory through practical examples and clinical applications, and delivers the necessary biological knowledge from an electronic engineer's perspective a problem section in each chapter that readers can use for self-assessment, with model answers given at the end of the book along with references to key scientific publications discussions of new developments in the bioelectronics and biosensors fields, such as microfluidic devices and nanotechnology Supplying the tools to succeed, this text is the best resource for engineering and physical sciences students in bioelectronics, biomedical engineering and micro/nano-engineering. Not only that, it is also a resource for researchers without formal training in biology, who are entering PhD programmes or working on industrial projects in these areas.
Publication Date: 2012-08-22
Introduction to Biomechatronics by Graham M. BrookerThis is the age of biomechatronics, a time where mechanics and electronics can interact with human muscle, skeleton, and nervous systems to assist or replace limbs, senses, and even organs damaged by trauma, birth defects, or disease. Introduction to Biomechatronics provides biomedical engineering students and professionals with the fundamental mechatronic (mechanics, electronics, robotics) engineering knowledge they need to analyze and design devices that improve lives. The first half of the book provides the engineering background to understand all the components of a biomechatronic system: the human subject, stimulus or actuation, transducers and sensors, signal conditioning elements, recording and display, and feedback elements. It also includes the major functional systems of the body to which biomechatronics can be applied including: biochemical, nervous, cardiovascular, respiratory, and musculoskeletal. The second half discusses five broadly based inventions from a historical perspective and supported by the relevant technical detail and engineering analysis. It begins with the development of hearing prostheses including middle-ear implantable hearing devices and the amazingly successful cochlear implant. This is followed by sensory substitution and visual prostheses that researchers hope will do the same for the blind as the cochlear implant has done for the deaf. The last three chapters are more mechatronic in focus, examining artificial hearts, respiratory aids from the iron lung to the latest CPAP devices, and finally artificial limbs from the first hooks and peg legs to limbs that move and have a sense of touch. Introduction to Biomechatronics provides readers with the engineering background to analyze and design biomechatronic devices, and inspires them to greater designs by discussing successful inventions that have done the most to improve our lives. Supplementary material can be found at the IET's ebook page
Publication Date: 2012-04-11
Principles of Biomedical Engineering by Madihally. 2010 by Sundararajan V. MadihallyDescribing the role of engineering in medicine today, this comprehensive volume covers a wide range of the most important topics in this burgeoning field. Supported with over 145 illustrations, the book discusses bioelectrical systems, mechanical analysis of biological tissues and organs, biomaterial selection, compartmental modeling, and biomedical instrumentation. Moreover, you find a thorough treatment of the concept of using living cells in various therapeutics and diagnostics. Structured as a complete text for students with some engineering background, the book also makes a valuable reference for professionals new to the bioengineering field. This authoritative textbook features numerous exercises and problems in each chapter to help ensure a solid understanding of the material.
Introduction to Biomedical Engineering by John Enderle; Joseph BronzinoIntroduction to Biomedical Engineering is a comprehensive survey text for biomedical engineering courses. It is the most widely adopted text across the BME course spectrum, valued by instructors and students alike for its authority, clarity and encyclopedic coverage in a single volume. Biomedical engineers need to understand the wide range of topics that are covered in this text, including basic mathematical modeling; anatomy and physiology; electrical engineering, signal processing and instrumentation; biomechanics; biomaterials science and tissue engineering; and medical and engineering ethics.
Fundamentals of Biomedical Engineering by G. S. SawhneyAbout the Book: A well set out textbook explains the fundamentals of biomedical engineering in the areas of biomechanics, biofluid flow, biomaterials, bioinstrumentation and use of computing in biomedical engineering. All these subjects form a basic part of an engineer's education. The text is admirably suited to meet the needs of the students of mechanical engineering, opting for the elective of Biomedical Engineering. Coverage of bioinstrumentation, biomaterials and computing for biomedical engineers can meet the needs of the students of Electronic & Communication, Electronic & Instrumentation, Information Technology and Biotech Engineering. The book presents succinct coverage of the theory, definitions, formula and examples and is well supported by plenty of clear-cut diagrams and worked problems in order to make the underlying principles easily comprehensible. Key Features: Presents an introduction to basic biomedical engineering topics required by all engineering students in their studies Explains origin and simple rules to understand medical terminology Describes human joints and joint movements possible in various planes Presents methods to obtain various measurements from a human body Describes devices for prostheses and ortheses At the end of chapter objective type questions help students reinforce their conceptual understanding of the subject. Contents: Introduction Concepts of Physics, Mechanics and Fluid Mechanics Biomedical Engineering Biomechanics of Bone Biomechanics of Soft Tissues Skeletal Joints Mechanics of the Spinal Column Mechanics of Upper Limbs Machanics of Lower Limbs The Cardio vascular System and Blood Flow The Respiratory System The Function of the Kidney and Blood Flow Prostheses and Therapeutic Devices Orthosis Metallic Biomaterials Polymeric Biomaterials Bioceramics Composite Biomaterials Biogradable Polymeric Biomaterials Orthopedic Prostheses Fixation Physiological Singale & Transducers Signal Processing Digital Image Acquisition And Processing Radiography Computed Tomography Magnetic Resonance Imaging Ultrasound Imaging Radioisotopes and Radio Therapy Nuclear Medicine Healthcare Information & Communication Biotelemetry Applications of Computer in Medicine Telemedicine Database Design, Topologies & Network Security.