LibGuides: Physics Research Guide: Find Peer-Reviewed Articles

Using Article Quick Search

Article Quick Search is the name of the search engine for the library's journal content. It includes both titles the library owns and some it does not. If the library does not have access to an article, request it through Interlibrary Loan. Be sure first that the library does not own the title!

Databases

American Physical Society This link opens in a new window
Direct, full-text access to key Physics journals like Physical Review Letters; Physical Review A, B, C, etc.; Physical Review Fluids; and more -- all from the the American Physical Society (APS), which is a leading publisher in the field. The APS website also contains physics-related news, meeting reports, magazines, and explainers about selected research from APS journals.
IOPscience Journals This link opens in a new window
Access all IOP published journals covering physics, mathematics, and engineering.
Coverage: 1874 - current
Journal content hosted by the Institute of Physics in IOPscience represents more than 300,000 articles. You can browse assorted subject categories or search by keywords. You can also search by PACS and MSC codes to find articles. PACS is a hierarchical subject classification scheme for physics and astronomy. MSC codes are used to categorize items covered by the two reviewing databases, Mathematical Reviews (MR) and Zentralblatt MATH (Zbl). RSS feeds allow you to be alerted when new content is updated. IOP also offers PACS and MSC clouds to find content. The clouds are a text-based depiction of the content of a grouping of articles in IOPscience. The clouds help to navigate quickly and easily to groups of articles which might be of interest.
Optics InfoBase This link opens in a new window
Optica (formerly Optics Infobase) provides comprehensive coverage of all topics related to optics and photonics. A single search can include journal articles, conference papers and industry reports. Coverage 1917 - current.
Optics InfoBase offers complete full-text access to all OSA's publications dating back to 1917. The search engine includes advanced features such as topical clustering. In addition, the site offers browsing by subject, automatic reference linking between articles, TOC alerts, RSS feeds, and citation export.
SPIE Digital Library This link opens in a new window
Full text books, journals, and society proceedings covering optics and photonics.
SPIE (Society of Photo-Optical Instrumentation Engineers)is the international society for optics and photonics founded in 1955 to advance light-based technologies. The SPIE Digital Library contains 156 ebooks, 9 ejournals, and more than 268,000 full-text papers from SPIE Journals and Proceedings published since 1990. Approximately 17,000 new papers will be added each year. The following content is available within the Digital Library:

Proceedings of SPIE: Starting at Volume 1200 (1990)*
Optical Engineering: Starting at Volume 29 (1990)
Journal of Electronic Imaging: Starting at Volume 1 (1992)
Journal of Biomedical Optics: Starting at Volume 1 (1996)
Journal of Micro/Nanolithography, MEMS, and MOEMS: Starting at Volume 1 (2002)
Journal of Applied Remote Sensing: Starting at Volume 1 (2007)
Journal of Nanophotonics: Starting at Volume 1 (2007)
Journal of Photonics for Energy: Starting at Volume 1 (2011)
SPIE eBooks: A selection beginning 1989
Engineering Village (Compendex) This link opens in a new window
Bibliographic records and abstracts of scientific and engineering research
Coverage: 1996 - current
Dimensions This link opens in a new window
Access provided by the Office of Research Administration. A worldwide database of linked citations and awarded research funding. Use Dimensions for citation tracking (who has cited whom) or to explore grant and funding patterns such as who awards the most grants in your area. Developed by Digital Science in collaboration with over 100 leading research organizations around the world.
IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new window
IEEE (Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers) is a major professional science association that publishes academic journals, professional standards and the IEEE Xplore database, one of the largest resources for technical literature in computer science, electrical engineering, and electronics.
Coverage: 1864 - current
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Nearly 1,600 peer-reviewed journals covering many areas of science, medicine, computers, business and more.
Coverage: 1995 - current