Items include Dissertations, Journals, Monographs, Pamphlets etc.
Oblats de Marie-Immaculée, Album-Souvenir Et Historique De La Paroisse Saint Joseph De Lowell, Mass.: À L'occasion De La Réouverture De L'église St-Jean-Baptiste Détruite Par L'incendie Du 21 Novembre 1912. Lowell, Mass.: Imprimerie de l'Etoile, 1916. (Primarily in French, with some English throughout). Fully digitized by the University Library's Center for Lowell History in partnership with the World Languages and Cultures Department.
Note: This book contains incredibly important and detailed information on a Franco Canadian and American cornerstone of culture, religion, and community engagement in Lowell, with accompanying clear and striking images of the clergy, Lowell people and parishioners, orphans of the parish orphanage, parish buildings, and more. CLH has three copies of this book in the collection:
Mogan BX 1418.L69 A4 1916. Fine condition, hardcover bound in warm brown paper.
Mogan BX 5980.L69 A4 1916. Dark tan paper cover, front paper cover detached and ripped, back cover worn. Lowell Historical Society.
Mogan BX 5980. L69 A4 1916. Dark tan paper cover, good condition. Lowell Historical Society.
Oblats de Marie-Immaculée, Bulletin Paroissial Franco-Americain : 25ieme Anniversaire 1910-1925. (Lowell, Mass.: Oblats de Marie-Immaculée, 1935). (In French)
Clément, Antoine, Vallière, Dr. Léon, Pepin, Rodolphe. L’Alliance Francaise de Lowell, 1929 à 1936. Manchester, N.H., L'Impr. de l' Avenir national, 1937 (in French) No ISBN. *No digital version known to be available as of 2024.
Note: *There are three copies held in the CLH’s collection, one pale salmon colored paperback, one hardcover bound in textured red paper with the title embossed in gold, and one hardcover bound in oxblood leather and paper. The red paper embossed copy has an inscription that reads: “Avec les hommages de l’auteur au trésorier de l’Alliance Française de Lowell. M. Léon-A. Lavalleé le 20 ao(?)t 1948 Antoine Clément.” The oxblood leather and paper copy has handwritten inscription on the first page (front and back). Front of page: “Hommage de l’auteur. Robert Hayes Davis 164 Parker St. Lowell, Mass. June 22, 1938.” Verso of page: “French Book Prize, Graduation Exercises of Lowell High School at Lowell Memorial Auditorium. June 22, 1938.”
Vaillancourt, Emile. A Partial List of Canadian Discoverers, Explorers, and Founders of States and Cities of the United States of America: Who Proceeded from the Province of Quebec Wherein Most of Them Were Born and Others Had Their Home. (Montreal: publisher not identified, 1938. (In English) *No digital version known to be available as of 2024.
Note: Mimeographed copy, fragile pages. Holographic note on the front cover: “With the compliments of Arthur L. Eno, Jan. 16, 1939.”
Clément, Antoine. L'Alliance Française De Lowell: 1937-1947, Manchester, N.H.: L'Impr. de l' Avenir national, 1948 (in French) *No digital version known to be available as of 2024.
Note: Text on the back cover: “En préparation pour le 25ème anniversaire de journalisme de l’auteur à la fin novembre 1948. ‘Vingt-cinq ans de journalisme ou mon grand reportage pour la petite historie franco-américaine’. Publié sous les auspices de la Société Historique Franco-Américaine” There are three copies held in the CLH’s collection, two pale salmon-colored paperbacks, and one hardcover bound in textured red paper with title embossed in gold. The embossed copy has inscription: “Hommages de l’auteur le 20 a(?)(?)t 1948 Antoine Clément.”
Clément, Antoine, L’Alliance Française de Lowell, 1947-1957, (Manchester, N.H., publisher not listed, 1957) *No digital version known to be available as of 2024.
Note: This book is in a hardcover format, and appears to be a special large-scale (larger in scale than the other examples of this type of book recording the French Alliance of Lowell’s yearly activities) reprinting from the original manuscript as a gift for an ‘L. Lavallee’ embossed in the lower right corner of the front cover. Typewritten inscription on the third page (first non-blank page) reads: “A M. Léon Lavallée, fidèle continuateur de L’Alliance Française de Lowell, en témoignage de reconnaissance et d’estime” A line of the signature is overwritten in pen, “Noël 1970”
Crépeau, Georges., Bélanger: Ou, L'histoire D'un Crime: Un Roman Par. (Bedford, N.H. National Materials Development Center for French, 1979). (French). No ISBN. *No digital version known to be available as of 2024.
Doty, C. Stewart, and Federal Writers' Project. The First Franco-Americans: New England Life Histories from the Federal Writers' Project, 1938-1939. (1st ed. Orono, Me.: University of Maine at Orono Press, 1985. (English) ISBN: 0-89101-062-9 *No digital version known to be available as of 2024.
Duval André, and Mason Wade, Québec-Boston : Celebrating New England-Nouvelle France, 350 Years of Partnership in Shaping North America. (Boston, Mass. Délégation du Québec en Nouvelle-Angleterre, 1980). (Bilingual) *No digital version known to be available as of 2024.
Eno, Arthur L., Les Avocats Franco-Americains De Lowell, Massachusetts 1886-1936. (Lowell, Massachusetts, Eno Print, 1936.). (French).*No digital version known to be available as of 2024.
Note: CLH has two copies of this book.
clh KF 193 .L6 E5 1936.
Inscribed on the first page: “With the compliments of Arthur L. Eno.”
Eno, Arthur L., and Société historique franco-américaine, French Trails in the United States. (Lowell, Massachusetts. Manchester, N.H.: Published under the auspices of the Franco-American Historical Society, 1940). *No digital version known to be available as of 2024.
Note: There are four copies held in the CLH’s collection (3 in paper sleeves, 1 not in a sleeve). 3 copies, Lowell Historical Society. has water damage on the right-hand side from the front cover through to the back cover.
Dauphinais, Paul Raymond, “Structure and Strategy: French-Canadians in Central New England, 1850-1900,” (1991. (English). Hardbound dissertation.*No digital version known to be available as of 2024.
Félix, Albert. Immigrant Odyssey: A French-Canadian Habitant in New England = a Bilingual Edition of Histoire D'un Enfant Pauvre. (1st ed. Orono, ME., U.S.A.: University of Maine Press, 1991). (English and French, translated to French by Arthur L. Eno Jr.)
Note: Inside cover contains a holographic inscriptions in blue and black ink (possibly two writers?): “For Mary Blewett, A pon lad a rick story (unsure of the meaning of this?) With Best Wishes –Lou(?) Ev, Frans Ev(?).” (The handwriting is loose cursive with poorly defined letters) *The Boston Public Library has made this book available and an ebook via the Internet Archive.
Oblats de Marie-Immaculée (Lowell, Mass), and Eugene Fournier. Bulletin Paroissial Franco-Americain. Mar., 1941. Lowell, Mass.: Oblats de Marie-Immaculée, 1941. (in French) *No digital version known to be available as of 2024.
Franco American War Veterans Inc., Franco American War Vets: State Dept. Convention June 15, 16, 17. Lowell, Mass. (Department of Massachusetts. Lowell, Mass: Franco-American War Veterans Inc, 1951.)(In English). No ISBN. *No digital version known to be available as of 2024.
Note: Contains sponsors of the event (local businesses, individuals, companies). Binding is fragile, front cover has an image of soldiers printed in blue and red ink.
Gendreau, Rene E. and Ste. Jeanne d'Arc Parish, Ste. Jeanne d'Arc Parish 50th Anniversary Celebration. (Lowell, Mass.: publisher not identified, 1972). (In English) No ISBN.
Note: Back cover inscriptions, “Thank You... Father Herve Gagnon – who served so devotedly for six years as our pastor Marguerite Lyons of The Lowell Sun George of Lowell – who donated so many pictures for our historical section Ste Jeanne d’Arc Boy Scouts Troop 7 Our Junior Hostesses Melody Ranch – for so graciously allowing us the use of an organ Our Advertisers Our Patrons Our General Chairman, Mr. Rene Gendreau Our Hard-Working Committees Our Parishioners To all those who helped assemble pictures and memorabilia for the parish history.” *Contains history of the parish, its buildings, school, personnel, pastors, over a 50-year span, list of parishioners current in 1972. Includes advertisements for Lowell businesses, products, and sponsors.
Hendrickson, Dyke, Quiet Presence: Dramatic, First-Person Accounts: The True Stories of Franco-Americans in New England. (1st ed. Portland, Me.: G. Gannett Pub, 1980.)(English) *No digital version known to be available as of 2024.
Lane, Brigitte Marie, Franco-American Folk Traditions and Popular Culture in a Former Milltown: Aspects of Ethnic Urban Folklore and the Dynamics of Folklore Change in Lowell, Massachusetts. (New York City, New York. Garland Publishing, 1990.) (Primarily in English, with some French). ISBN: 0-8240-2674-8. *No digital version known to be available as of 2024.
Cheney, Liana, Donna Cassidy, and Nancy Gill. L., Religious Architecture of Lowell. (Lowell, Mass. L. Cheney, 1984). (In English) No ISBN. Contains building histories, illustrations and diagrams of the layout of French Catholic churches in Lowell.
Note: CLH has 3 copies of this book.
Paper cover edition of Vol. 1 (Mogan NA 5235 .L9 C48 1984 vol. 1)
Paper cover edition of Vol. 2 (Mogan NA 5235 .L9 C48 1984 vol. 2)
Blue library binding copy that contains both volumes (NA 5235 .L9 C48 1984 v.1 & v.2)
Ledoux, Denis. Lives in Translation: An Anthology of Contemporary Franco-American Writings. Lisbon Falls, Me. Soleil Press. 1991. ISBN: 0-9619373-1-9.
Note: CLH has 2 copies of this book, with one copy donated by Paul Marion with his signature on the front page and annotations on the page featuring his poetry (p. 59). Both copies have the same call code/number, Mogan PS 508 .F74 L58 1991.
Milot, Arthur, and Claude Milot, Childhood Memories. (Rochester Hills, Mich.: Claude Milot, 1992). (English and French)
Note: Contains a personal account of the upbringing of Arthur Milot in early 20th century Lowell, as a member of the French-Canadian community in Pawtucketville and Little Canada. *No digital version known to be available as of 2024.
Fr. Armand ‘Spike’ Morrisette, O.M.I., and Arthur L. Eno, A directory of member addresses as of 1898. *No digital version known to be available as of 2024.
Oblats de Marie-Immaculée, Bulletin Paroissial Franco-Americain. (Lowell, Mass. June, 1940ed. Lowell, Mass.: Oblats de Marie-Immaculée, 1940). (in French) *No digital version known to be available as of 2024.
Note: This copy is missing a front and back cover, and the first page has a rectangular section in the lower right corner that has been cut out.
Aguilar, Guillermo, and Harvard University, Franco-American Project: Summary Report. Graduate School of Design. Community Assistance Program. Cambridge, Massachusetts. Community Assistance Program, Harvard Graduate School of Design, 1979. (In English) *No digital version known to be available as of 2024.
Brault, Gerard J. Hanover, The French-Canadian Heritage in New England. University Press of New England, 1986. (In English) *No digital version known to be available as of 2024.
La Paroisse Saint Jean-Baptiste Et Les Franco-Américains De Lowell, Massachusetts, 1868 À 1968. (Manchester, N.H. Editions Lafayette, 1993). *No digital version known to be available as of 2024.
Robertson, Susanne M, and Lowell Historic Preservation Commission (U.S.) Programme: Lowell Musicale (1825-1900): A Musical Portrait of the Spindle City. (Lowell, Mass. 1981. (In English) *No digital version known to be available as of 2024.
Note: Franco-American/French Canadian culture, with a subsection of a chapter (p. 64-66) detailing French Canadian music/musical culture. CLH has 2 copies of this book in its collection.
Brouillette, Susan, Paul, Marion, Paul, and Louise St. Onge, Marie. French Class: French Canadian American Writings on Identity, Culture and Place. (Lowell, Mass., Loom Press, 1999) (In English) *No digital version known to be available as of 2024.
Pelletier, François., Marion, Paul., and Picher, Pascal., 1Re éded. Poetry Face Off: Poésie Des Séries. (Montréal, Canada. Steak haché. 2007).
Pelletier, François., Marion, Paul., Picher., Pascal. Poetry Face Off: Poésie Des Séries. (Seconde éded. Montréal, Canada. Steak haché. 2008).
Note: CLH has 2 copies of this book, from the 2008 event, Mogan PS 8581 .E345 P64 2008, and clh PS 8581 .E345 P64 2008.
Petrin, Ronald Arthur. French Canadians in Massachusetts Politics, 1885-1915: Ethnicity and Political Pragmatism. Philadelphia, Pennsylvania. Balch Institute Press, 1990. (In English)
Pressman, Sylvie, Etude Comparee De L'immigration Ancienne Et Recente a Lawrence Et a Lowell, Deux Anciens Centres Textiles Du Massachusetts, 1950-1995. (1997th ed. Paris, France. Presses Universitaires du Septentrion, 1997). (French)
Note: 3 copies of this dissertation held in CLH’s collection. *No digital version known to be available as of 2024.
Quintal, Claire, Steeples and Smokestacks: A Collection of Essays on the Franco-American Experience in New England. (Worcester, Mass.: Assumption College, Institut français, 1996). (English) No digital version known to be available as of 2024.
Note: Contains various perspectives on the Franco-American experience in New England, with two portions relating specifically to Lowell (The Settling-In Process: The Beginnings of the Little Canada in Lowell, Massachusetts, in the Late Nineteenth Century, by Frances H. Early, p.89, and Section IV., Education (begins p. 233).
Roy, J. H., Voix Étranges. (Lowell, Mass: Impremerie de L'Etoile, Lepine & Cie. 1902.) *No digital version known to be available as of 2024.
Note: CLH has 4 copies of this book, in varying conditions and formats, including 2 hardcover versions bound in a red fabric, with a title embossed in gold, both in fair condition for their age, with 1 copy containing a tipped in 3rd page (now detached from the spine) with a circular portrait of a man (unknown but possibly the author?) glued in onto the black paper (PQ 2389.R69 V64 1902), with the other copy also containing the tipped in black paper page, but without a portrait (Mogan PQ 2389 .R69 V64). The other 2 copies are both soft/paperback copies bound with black paper covers embossed with leaves, the front covers of both copies are detached (Both have the same call code/number, Mogan PQ 2389 .R69 V64 1902).
Sage, Doris, and Tholen Stauffer, Ann, Entraidez-Vous: Stick Together. Place of publication not identified: publisher not identified, 1974. (In both English and French) *No digital version known to be available as of 2024.
La societe de publications francaises des Etats-Unis, Le Guide Francais Des Etats-Unis: Comprenant Les Noms, Le Genre D'affaire Et L'adresse Des Marchands, Manufacturiers, Hommes De Profession, Ainsi Que Des Messieurs Du Clerge. (3. ed. Lowell, Mass: 1891). (In French) 966 pages.
Note: This book is exceptionally fragile (brittle book syndrome). *The Massachusetts State Archives has made the 1889 edition available digitally: Le guide français de la Nouvelle-Angleterre et de l'État de New York: contenant les noms, le genre d'affaire et l'adresse des marchands, manufacturiers, hommes de profession, ainsi que des messieurs du clergé, journaux, publications françaises et sociétés canadiennes des états du Maine, New Hampshire, Vermont, Massachusetts, Rhode Island, Connecticut, et New York, suivi d'une foule d'autres statistiques et renseignements précieux sur tous les centres canadiens des Etats-Unis et du guide de Cohoes, N.Y.
Santerre, Richard., translators Quintal, Claire and Sawyer, Lucien., Saint Jean Baptiste Parish and the Franco-Americans of Lowell, Massachusetts 1868-1968. (Lowell, Mass. Saint Joseph Shrine, 2013. (In English)
Note: this book is a later translation of Santerre’s 1993 French publication book (cited below). CLH has one copy of the 2013 translation, and two copies of the 1993 version.
Santerre, Richard. Jubile De Diamant: 1898-1973 Dimanche Le 21 Octobre, 1973. (Club Citoyens Americains, Inc, Lowell, Mass. No publisher identified. 1973). (Primarily in French, with some English).
Note: contains historical overview of the Club Citoyens Americains of Lowell, Mass., from its founding in 1898 to its ‘Diamond Jubilee’ in 1973 and photographs of members throughout the years, including leaders in the Franco-American community.
Takai, Yukari, Gendered Passages: French-Canadian Migration to Lowell, Massachusetts, 1900-1920. (New York. Peter Lang, 2008. (English) ISBN: 978-0-8204-8672-7. *No digital version known to be available as of 2024.
Shideler, Janet L., Camille Lessard-Bissonnette: The Quiet Evolution of French-Canadian Immigrants in New England. Francophone Cultures and Literatures, V. 14. New York: P. Lang, 1998. (In English and French) *No digital version known to be available as of 2024.
Ste Jeanne D'Arc School, Ste. Jeanne D'arc Parish: A Personal View, Oral History Interviews Conducted by the Members of the Class of 2005 St. Jeanne D'arc School. Lowell, Mass. 2005. (In English).
Note: This spiral bound paperback book contains valuable transcriptions of oral histories of parishioners of Ste Jean d’Arc Parish (Several of those interviewed were attendees of the associated parochial school as of Jan. 2005).
Ste. Jeanne D'Arc PTO, and Ste. Jeanne D'Arc School, A Book of Favorite Recipes. (Lowell, Mass. Shawnee Mission, KS. Circulation Service. 1979. (In English) *No digital version known to be available as of 2024.
Thibault, Anna., Duval Marie., Les Deux Testaments: Un Roman. (Bedford, N.H. National Materials Development Center for French, 1979. (In French). No ISBN. *No digital version known to be available as of 2024.
Societe Historique Franco-Americaine, Bulletin de la Societe Historique Franco-Americaine (Boston, Mass., publisher not identified, 1936). (In French) No ISBN.
Note: Holographic inscription on the front cover: “With the compliments of Arthur L. Eno.” *Editions of Bulletin de la Societe Historique Franco-Americaine have been digitized by the Boston Public Library.
Hardy, Louis R., The Hardys of Melvin Street: Memories of Little Canada. (Location of publication not identified. Publisher not identified. 2006) (In English). *No digital version known to be available as of 2024.
Note: CLH has 2 copies of this book filed under F 74 .L9 H27. Copy located on 2nd Floor wooden cabinets, has a handwritten inscription on the front of the title page: “Thank you my friend. You have inspired me more than you will ever know. Louis, 2006.”
Takai, Yukari, “Migration, Family and Gender: A Longitudinal Analysis of French-Canadian Immigrants in Lowell, Massachusetts, 1900-1920,” Reprinted from original Microfilm by ProQuest Company. Ann Arbor, Michigan. Original date of publication, 1998. (In English and French, dissertation).
Carrière, Gaston, Sawyer, Lucien A., Missionary Oblates of Mary Immaculate. The Man Lowell Remembered: Andre-Marie Garin, O.M.I., 1822-1895. Lowell, Mass., Missionary Oblates of Mary Immaculate, 1998. (In English, translated and edited from the French)
Note: 1 copy in WorldCat, 1 uncatalogued copy located in Kerouac Room, Wall C]
Theriault, George, The Franco-Americans in a New England Community; an Experiment in Survival. (French American Ethnic Groups. New York: Arno Press, 1980. (English) Hardbound thesis first presented April 1951, at Harvard University) ISBN: 0-405-13460-6 *No digital version known to be available as of 2024.
The 20th Century Franco-American: Le Franco-Américain Au 20e Siècle. Le Comité de Vie Franco-Americaine. Franco-Americans of New England. New Hampshire: Le Comité de Vie Franco-Americaine, 1976. (In both English and French). No ISBN *No digital version known to be available as of 2024.
Note: Cataloguer’s Note from WorldCat: “In English and French, the French section bound upside-down and reading from back to front. A translation of the studies presented at the 11th Congress of the Franco-Americans of New England, held at Bedford, New Hampshire, September 27, 28 and 29, 1974.” *There are two copies held in the CLH’s collection, both paperbacks, in a faded salmon color with a stapled binding.
Vermette, David, A Distinct Alien Race: The Untold Story of Franco-Americans, Industrialization, Immigration, Religious Strife. Montréal: Baraka Books, 2018. (In English) *No digital version known to be available as of 2024.
Note: Advance copy, contains a thoroughly researched history of Franco-Americans within the context of issues such as Industrialism, Nativism, Manufacturing and Race.
