Faculty and researchers: We want to hear from you! We are launching a survey to learn more about your library collection needs for teaching, learning, and research. If you would like to participate, please complete the survey by May 17, 2024. Thank you for your participation!
We recommend downloading your citations directly from databases to save to your EndNote Library. All our databases, catalogs, and journal subscriptions allow exporting citations. Here is a guide to help you with each of our resources.
How you export your references may vary by database. See the table below for general guidance on how to download your citations from some resources available at UML. Once you've downloaded your citations, follow the instructions for importing them into EndNote. Import options will be dependent on the way each database exports citations for you.
| Vendor/Database | Export | Import Option |
|---|---|---|
| Cochrane | Export citations as directed. | Other Filters to locate and add the Cochrane Library (Wiley) filter to your list |
| Credo | Select: Reference Manager from Cite Entry option. | Reference Manager (RIS) |
| EBrary | Select: EndNote/Citavi after clicking cite book. | Reference Manager (RIS) |
| EBSCOHost |
Select: Direct Export in RIS Format when exporting. Or, Select: Direct Export to EndNote Web to import directly into EndNote Web. |
Reference Manager (RIS) |
| Gale | Select: EndNote from citation tools. | Reference Manager (RIS) |
| Google Scholar | In Settings, select EndNote as your Bibliography Manager. | EndNote Import |
| Ovid | Select: EndNote when exporting a citation. |
Other Filters then locate and add the Ovid Nursing Databases (OvidSP) filter to your list. |
| ProQuest |
Select: More (not Cite) then select RIS. |
Reference Manager (RIS) |
| PubMed | Select: RIS when getting the citation. | Reference Manager (RIS) |
| Sage Journals |
Select: EndNote from the option to Download to Citation Manager. Or, Select: EndNote Web from the option to Download to Citation Manager to directly import into EndNote Web. |
EndNote Import |
| Science Direct | Select: RIS when getting the citation. | Reference Manager (RIS) |
| WorldCat/UML Catalog | Select: Export to EndNote / Reference Manager from cite/export options. |
Reference Manager (RIS) |
Here are some PowerPoint presentations prepared by the Library on exporting citations from databases.
