Once you've set up EndNote, you can start adding citations. You can add citations by importing PDFs and citation files such as RIS or XML files or by searching within EndNote.
We recommend downloading your citations directly from databases to save to your EndNote Library.
Import files and folders by selecting File, then Import
You can import PDFs of articles that will be added to your library as citations along with the attached PDF. These can be PDFs of references you already have saved in your library, or references not in your library at all.
Select File > Import > File...
Select the file you wish to import.
Check your import options. Select PDF and choose whether you want to import duplicates.
Select Import
Select File > Import > Folder... to import all PDFs in a given folder.
Select the folder you wish to import.
Check your import options. You can choose whether to include files located in subfolders. If you would like to group your imports select Create a Group Set for this import.
Select your Duplicates options. You can import all regardless of duplicates, or choose not to import duplicates.
Select Import
Select File, then Import, and then File...
Select the citation file you wish to import
Check your import options. Be sure to specify the type of file to be imported.
Select your Duplicates options. You can import all regardless of duplicates, or choose not to import duplicates.
Select Import
Once you have imported your citations you can move these references to a new group or edit the fields in the right panel if they did not transfer correctly. Here, you can manually change the author, title, journal, etc.
PDF attachments appear on the right side of the screen, once you have a reference selected.
You can also get citations into EndNote by using "Online Search Mode."
Access Online Search Mode by clicking on the globe icon. From here you can search various databases. You can also add additional resources to search by selecting Tools then Online Search to add a "Connection File" to other databases.
You can then add any references you find to your citation library.
Under your Preferences, you must Authenticate the UML library site so you can access full text. Under the "Find Full Text" tab in your preferences, type the following: https://login.umasslowell.idm.oclc.org/login in the "Authenticate with" URL box.
Now that you have done this, you have broadened your search for full text. You can now select citations to search for full text. Select the citations you would like to search full text for. In the the top menu select the icon with the magnify glass next to the document. A new group will appear on the left which will display the found full text citations.
