Skip to Main Content

Kerouac Collection, Center for Lowell History

A Guide that aggregates Inventories, Finding Aids, and bibliographic holdings of Jack Kerouac and Beat Literature

Collection Description

University of Massachusetts Lowell

Center for Lowell History

The Jack Kerouac Collection by the Lowell Historical Preservation Commission

Kerouac Commemorative under construction

Kerouac Commemorative, May 1988, base plate installation, Box 35A, Ben Woitena folder.

Dates: 1986-1995
Extent: 7 Boxes (2 Oversized Boxes)
Repository: Center for Lowell History; Kerouac Room, 1st Floor
Provenance: Paul Marion
Language: English

Historical Note

Established in the same 1978 legislation as the Lowell National Historical Park, the Lowell Historic Preservation Commission (LHPC) was a fundamental partner in the City of Lowell’s downtown revitalization. Under Cultural-Affairs Director, Paul Marion, LHPC focused on restoring and preserving historic buildings, while also promoting the city’s art and culture. The Jack Kerouac Commemorative (1989) is one example of the ways in which this organization integrated art and the humanities with the city’s historic background. Per the 1978 legislation, the LHPC continued its work through 1995.

Scope and Content

The collection contains a variety of artifacts relating to the Lowell Historic Preservation Commission’s involvement with Kerouac-related projects. Collection items include proposals, correspondences, invitations, articles and clippings, photos, ephemera, posters, and brochures.

Collection Finding Aid / Inventory

Citation

University of Massachusetts Lowell Center for Lowell History, Jack Kerouac Collection, Lowell Historic Preservation Commission. Indicate box number, folder name, description of item, date accessed.

Contact

For reference questions, LibAnswers: admin@uml.libanswers.com

To schedule an appointment: 978-934-4997