University of Massachusetts Lowell
Center for Lowell History
Beat Scene Collection
Issue No. 25, 1995, Box 1
Repository: University of Massachusetts Lowell, Center for Lowell History, Lowell, MA
Creator(s): Kevin Ring
Title: Beat Scene Collection
Dates: 2002-2014
Extent: 5 boxes
Language(s): Collection materials are in English.
Beat Scene Collection contains magazines and publication booklets devoted to the life and work of writers and artists associated with the Beat Generation. The collection is mostly compromised of Beat Scene magazine issues as well as publication booklets by various authors such as Kevin Ring and Jim Burns. Content in the Beat Scene Magazine and the various publishing booklets feature interviews with close associates of the Beat Generation, photos, and articles.
Beat Scene (1988-) is a Beat Generation-themed magazine founded by editor and publisher, Kevin Ring, in the United Kingdom. The collection features magazine issues spanning from 2002 to 2014, along with miscellaneous Beat Generation-themed publishing booklets.
Arrangement
The records are arranged into the following series:
Box 1. Beat Scene Magazines
Box 2. Beat Scene Magazines
Box 3. Beat Scene Magazines
Box 4. Beat Scene Magazines
Box 5. Publication Booklets
Access and Use
Conditions Governing Access: Collection is open for research.
Reproduction and Use: This material is protected by copyright and/or related rights. You are free to use this Collection in any way that is permitted by the copyright and related rights legislation that applies to your use. For other uses you need to obtain permission from the rights-holder(s).
Researchers are reminded that it is their obligation to comply with copyright law when quoting, publishing, or otherwise using materials from the Center’s collections. Permission must be obtained from the holders of the copyright.
Custodial History: Created and collected by Kevin Ring.
Acquisition History: Purchased from Kevin Ring, UK.
Conservation Notes: Newspaper Clippings that are included with related materials have been separated by acid-free paper to minimize their potential to damage the paperwork.
Names and Places
Baker, Chet; Beiles, Sinclair; Bowles, Paul; Buckley, Lord; Bukowsky, Charles; Burroughs, William S.; Cassady, Carolyn; Cassady, Neal; Corso, Gregory; Di Prima, Diane; Everson, William; Ferlinghetti, Lawrence; Ginsberg, Allen, 1926-1997; Holmes, John Clellon, 1926-1988; Huncke, Herbert, E; Jones, Jimmy; Kerouac, Jack, 1922-1969; Kerouac, Jean Lebris, 1922- 1969; Kerouac, John, 1922-1969; Kesey, Ken; McClure, Michael; Ring, Kevin Snyder, Gary; Vega, Janine Pommy; Waldman, Anne; Whalen, Philip; Welch, Lew
Subject Headings
American Literature; American Haiku; Beat Generation – Fiction; Buddhism; Jazz; Literature; Magazine; Maggie Cassidy; On the Road; Poetry; Spontaneous Prose; Satori in Paris; The Dharma Bums; The Town and The City; Tristessa; TripTrap; Vanity of Duluoz
University of Massachusetts Lowell Center for Lowell History, Beat Scene Collection. Indicate box number, issue number or description of item, date accessed.
