Faculty and researchers: We want to hear from you! We are launching a survey to learn more about your library collection needs for teaching, learning, and research. If you would like to participate, please complete the survey by May 17, 2024. Thank you for your participation!
University of Massachusetts Lowell
Center for Lowell History
Lois Beckwith Collection
"Dreamed in My Sleep," Book of Dreams selections, Swank Magazine, page 52, VIII, March 1, 1961
Repository: University of Massachusetts Lowell, Center for Lowell History, Lowell, MA
Creator(s): Lois Beckwith
Title: Lois Beckwith Collection
Dates: 1959-2001
Extent: 1 box (0.5 linear feet)
Language(s): Collection materials are in English.
The Lois Beckwith Collection includes announcement flyers, correspondence, and magazine and newspaper clippings by or about Kerouac and the Beats. The collection also contains original letters from Beat associate John Montgomery (the charter Henry Morley in the Dharma Bums) to Beckwith as well as a notice of his death. One folder contains the print out of a website in which Beckwith reflects on her relationship with Kerouac but otherwise the collection contains no other Beckwith writings.
The poet Lois Sorrells Beckwith (1935- ) met Jack Kerouac in 1958. The character “Louise” in Big Sur (1963) is modeled after Beckwith. Beckwith remained friends with Kerouac until his 1969 death.
Arrangement
The records are arranged in original order.
Access and Use
Conditions Governing Access: Collection is open for research.
Reproduction and Use: A portion of this material is protected by copyright and/or related rights. You are free to use this Item in any way that is permitted by the copyright and related rights legislation that applies to your use. For other uses you need to obtain permission from the rights-holder(s).
Researchers are reminded that it is their obligation to comply with copyright law when quoting, publishing, or otherwise using materials from the Center’s collections. Permission must be obtained from the holders of the copyright
Acquisition
Custodial History: Accrued by Lois Beckwith
Acquisition History: Donated by Lois Beckwith
Conservation Notes: Newspaper clippings and items with adhesive tape are separated by acid-free paper to minimize potential damage to other records. Photographs are in acid-free envelopes or Mylar sleeves.
Processing Information: Processed by Janine Whitcomb; updated by Emily Parsons, February 2021
Names and Places
Kerouac, Jack, 1922-1969; Beckwith, Lois Sorrells; Montgomery, John; Oates, Joyce Carol; Gifford, Barry; Lee, Lawrence; Charters, Ann; DeFeo, Jay, 1929-1989; Cassady, Carolyn; Cassady, Neal; Kerouac, Jan; Ferlinghetti, Lawrence; Ginsberg, Allen; Kerouac, Joan Haverty; Ali, Joan; Ring, Kevin; Niccolei; Marion, Paul; Lowell (Massachusetts)
Subject Headings
Announcements; Posters; Events; Articles; Clippings; Magazines; Newspapers; Beat – Fiction; Beat Generation; Bop; Alone on a Mountaintop; On the Road; Maggie Cassidy; Dreamed in My Sleep; Home at christmas; Ronnie on the Mound; The Dharma Bums; Gone in October; Beatniks; Art; American literature
University of Massachusetts Lowell Center for Lowell History, Beckwith Collection. Indicate box number, folder name, description of item, date accessed.
