LibGuides: CHEM.1350: Honors Chemistry: Databases

Chemistry Databases

American Chemical Society (ACS) Journals This link opens in a new window
A collection of top academic journals focused on chemistry, published by the American Chemical Society, one of the leading societies and publishers in chemistry and related disciplines. Also includes access to the ACS weekly newsmagazine.

Publication dates: 1879 - current
Dimensions This link opens in a new window
Access provided by the Office of Research Administration. A worldwide database of linked citations and awarded research funding. Use Dimensions for citation tracking (who has cited whom) or to explore grant and funding patterns such as who awards the most grants in your area.
Handbook of Chemistry and Physics Online This link opens in a new window
Provides wide coverage of data on properties of inorganic and organic compounds.
Coverage: Current Edition
Journal of the American Medical Association (JAMA) This link opens in a new window
JAMA is an international peer-reviewed general medical journal.
There are also 11 JAMA network specialty journals that offer enhanced access to research, reviews and perspective shaping medicine today and into the future.
Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology This link opens in a new window
Articles on chemical substances— their properties, manufacturing, and uses.
Written by prominent scholars from industry, academia, and research institutions, the Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology presents a wide scope of over 1,000 articles on chemical substances—including their properties, manufacturing, and uses. It also focuses on industrial processes and unit operations in chemical engineering, as well as covering fundamentals and scientific subjects related to the field. Additionally, environmental and health issues concerning chemical technology are also addressed. Monthly updates keep the online version on the cutting edge of chemical technology.
Knovel Technical Reference This link opens in a new window
Over 1,600 engineering reference books covering many scientific topics as well.
Coverage: 1996 - current
Knovel Library content covers 18 industrially important Subject Areas from more than 30 Sci-Tech publishers and professional societies including, McGraw Hill, John Wiley, Elsevier, Springer, Industrial Press, American Institute of Chemical Engineers and American Society of Mechanical Engineers. This data is enhanced with time-saving analytical tools to help analyze and manipulate the data equations and plot graphs, capture values from existing graphs and perform 'what if' experiments on the data.
Merck Index This link opens in a new window
One-volume encyclopedia of chemicals, drugs, and biologicals.
Nature Journals Online This link opens in a new window
Access all issues of the journal Nature along with other content.
Coverage: 1869 - current
Royal Society of Chemistry Gold Collection (RSC) This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to all 37 RSC journals plus backfile archive.
Coverage: 1841 - current
The Royal Society of Chemistry is the UK's professional society dedicated to the study of chemistry and the dessemination of knowledge and research. The Gold Collection includes access to all 37 RSC journals including the full backfile archive dating to 1841. It also includes two magazines (Chemistry World and Education in Chemistry) and five Literature Updating Service databases, plus 41 ebook titles in the "Issues in Environmental Science & Technology" Series. In addition, the subscription includes credits in the form of Voucher Codes that cover publishing fees for UML researchers who wish to publish in an RSC open-access journal or other type of OA publication.
Sax's Dangerous Properties of Industrial Materials 12th ed. This link opens in a new window
Excellent detailed toxicity information and references for most chemicals. Journal names are given in Bibliography.
Science in Context This link opens in a new window
Combines journals, news, primary source documents, images, videos, and audio.
Gale Science in Context is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information on hundreds of today's most significant science topics. The new solution merges Gale's authoritative reference content with full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, experiments, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Nearly 1,600 peer-reviewed journals covering many areas of science, medicine, computers, business and more.
Coverage: 1995 - current
SciFinder-n Login This link opens in a new window
Access to the complete Chemical Abstracts Service and Medline databases. Registration required before using and popups must be enabled in your browser.
Coverage: CAS 1907 - current & Medline 1950 - current
Toxline This link opens in a new window
Produced by the U.S. National Library of Medicine, provides bibliographic citations and abstracts from the core journal literature in all areas of toxicology, including chemicals and pharmaceuticals, pesticides, environmental pollutants and mutagens and teratogens.

Publication dates: 1999 - current
Compass: ASTM Standards This link opens in a new window
American Society for Testing and Materials standards search portal. Access any of ASTM’s 12,000+ standards, as well as AASHTO, AATCC, API, and UOP standards.
Polymer Library This link opens in a new window
Abstracts covering rubbers, plastics, adhesives and polymeric composites.
Coverage: 1947 - current