British Literature of the Twentieth Century

Full text literary database covering all genres and time periods. Includes plot summaries, overviews, author biographies and interviews, book reviews, and literary journals. (See editing notes) Contents include The New Princeton Encyclopedia of Poetry and Poetics, The Oxford Illustrated History of English Literature, The Columbia Companion to the 20th Century American Short Story.

A key collection of both high-quality academic journals and high-quality art and history images. Now including Artstor, over 1.8 million images in art, architecture, humanities, and social sciences, with tools to view, present, and manage images. Most journals include full backfile, dating from the first issue, reaching back decades or even over 100 years. Most journals do not include the most recent 1-3 years. Covers topics across the disciplines, from arts and humanities to social sciences, sciences, and engineering.

The MLA (Modern Language Association) International Bibliography provides up-to-date and historical citations from a myriad of humanities subjects and formats. An excellent resource for research in history, philosophy, communications, cross-disciplinary subjects, world languages and literatures, linguistics, dramatic arts, film, folklore, rhetoric and writing studies, teaching of language, and history of publishing.

It also includes the MLA Directory of Periodicals and the MLA Thesaurus, a proprietary, searchable collection of thousands of subject terms, and personal names used in indexing the bibliography.

Coverage: late 19th century - present

Contains information on modern authors from the U.S. and around the world. Entries typically include career details and awards received along with an essay that covers the critical reception of the author's works in detail.

Bio-critical essays focuses on the lives and works of more than 1,400 important authors from around the world. Entries include concise essays, citations, and biographical information that places the author's work in personal and historical context.

Twayne’s Author Series (Gale) of literary criticism provides in-depth overviews into the biographies and works of literary authors especially those that are often studied in high schools and colleges. Within the over 800 books available you will find the biography, major works, critical response, and important bibliographies for the featured writer. Resources may also cover the history and influence of literary movements and development of literary genres and are divided into United States Authors, English Authors, and World Authors.