The University Archives Nursing Collection contain extensive holdings of historical textbooks and journals which we are in the process of being cataloged. The two books below were co-authored by UMass Lowell Professor Emerita May Futrell, Ph.D., FAAN, FGSA. Click on the images to link to the WorldCat records.
University Archives Nursing Collection legacy brochure describing the collection's establishment and purpose.
University of Massachusetts Lowell
Center for Lowell History
University Archives Nursing Collection
EXTENT: 74 boxes, 253 books, 23 artifacts; 60 linear feet.
HISTORICAL NOTE: The University Archives Nursing Collection (previously known as the Nursing Archives) was established in 1989 by UMass Lowell's Nursing Department and the local chapter of the National Nursing Honor Society to support and promote the study and research of nursing and health care through the records and collections of the University, local health care organizations, and nursing professionals.
DATE RANGE: 1920s-2021
SCOPE AND CONTENT: The collection documents the history of nursing in the Merrimack Valley community as well as nurse education as it evolved from hospital-based diploma programs, into the mainstream of higher education. The archival materials from Lowell and the Merrimack Valley include the Lawrence General Hospital School of Nursing, Lowell Visiting Nurse Association (Lowell Guild), Sigma Theta Tau International: Eta Omega Chapter, as well as materials from the Susan and Alan Solomont School of Nursing. Documents include academic program proposals and approvals, audio and video recordings, books, budget reports, bulletins, course catalogs, communications, correspondence, handbooks, meeting minutes, oral histories, photographs, private papers, programs, reports, scrapbooks, yearbooks, etc. While primarily comprised of two-dimensional documents, the collection includes some artifacts.
PROCESSING HISTORY: The collection was compiled by Frances Dumont, RN, SGNP in 1993 and updated by Jennifer Violette, RN, SGNP, (1996 – 1997), Vanessa Preble, RN, SGNP, (1997), Christine J. Anderson, RN, SGNP, March 2000, Charlene A. Saulnier, SFNP, RN, March 2000, with addition processing and description by Center for Lowell History Archives Manager Janine Whitcomb, (post – 2000).
From the Visiting Nurses Program. Click on thumbnail to go to full-sized image.
