UML 7. Higgins, James (Jim). Lowell Books Collection, 1983-1997

UNIVERSITY OF MASSACHUSETTS LOWELL
CENTER FOR LOWELL HISTORY

HIGGINS, JAMES (JIM). LOWELL BOOKS COLLECTION, 1983-1997
UML 7

EXTENT: 1 flat box (6 books)

ABSTRACT:

The James Higgins book collection includes 2 copies each of 3 books related to Lowell and the Lowell area Cambodian and larger Southeast Asian communities.

Items in the collection have been digitized: https://umlseada.omeka.net/collections/show/6

James (Jim) Higgins is a photographer and visual artist based in the greater Lowell area. He is co-owner of Higgins & Ross Photography + Design with Joan Ross. Their work extends from photography and design into book publishing, logo design, archival digital printing, films and experimental dance.

Higgins is also co-founder, along with Angkor Dance Troupe’s Monica Veth and Sophy Leng, of Flying Orb Productions. Flying Orb's films and theater work deal with the legacy of America's war in Southeast Asia. Performances are co-directed by Peter Veth and Higgins.

Information gathered from Flying Orb Productions’ website, http://www.flyingorb.com/ and the Higgins & Ross Photography + Design website, https://www.higginsross.com/.

The collection includes 2 copies each of the following monographs. One of each book was disbound for digitization.

For a listing of related collections at the University of Massachusetts Lowell and elsewhere, please visit: https://www.uml.edu/Research/SEA-digital-archive/related-collections.aspx.

Copies of books have also been cataloged for Special Collections and may be viewed at the Center for Lowell History.

For more information about the SEADA, please visit our home page at www.uml.edu/seada, or email us at seada@uml.edu.