Legal Studies Textbooks: Library Subscription and Open Access

By Melissa Randall. Undergraduate business law textbook written in collaboration with lawyers and business professionals for use in required 200 level business law courses in the United States. This book is an introductory survey of the legal topics required in undergraduate business law classes.

By Mirande Valbrune, Renee De Assis, Texas Woman's University, Suzanne Cardell, University of Massachusetts Dartmouth.
A brief introductory textbook designed to meet the scope and sequence requirements for courses on introductory Business Law. Concepts are presented in a streamlined manner, and cover the key concepts necessary to establish a strong foundation in the subject. Each chapter contains learning objectives, explanatory narrative and concepts, references for further reading, and end-of-chapter questions.

2012. Saylor course. By Don Mayer, University of Denver, Daniel Warner, Western Washington University
George Siedel, University of Michigan
Jethro Lieberman, New York Law School
Provides students with context and essential concepts across a broad range of legal issues which managers and business executives must use in business.

2013. Saylor course. By Don Mayer, University of Denver, Daniel Warner, Western Washington University
George Siedel, University of Michigan
Jethro Lieberman, New York Law School
Provides students with context and essential legal concepts relating to the Uniform Commercial Code and various aspects of property law. Provides the vocabulary and legal knowledge necessary for business people to talk in an educated way to their customers, employees, suppliers, and staff lawyers.

2012. Saylor course. By Don Mayer, University of Denver
Daniel Warner, Western Washington University
George Siedel, University of Michigan
Jethro Lieberman, New York Law School
After introductory chapters covering the legal environment of business, Government Regulation and the Legal Environment of Business provides students with context and essential legal concepts relating to contracts, consumer credit transactions, bankruptcy, intellectual property, securities regulation, regulation of real estate, antitrust, unfair trade practices, employment law and labor relations.

2012, Saylor Course. By Don Mayer, University of Denver, Daniel Warner, Western Washington University
George Siedel, University of Michigan
Jethro Lieberman, New York Law School
Provides students with context and essential legal concepts relating to property rights and duties, estate planning, insurance, secured transactions, mortgages, and related topics.

2012. Saylor course. By Don Mayer, University of Denver
Daniel Warner, Western Washington University
George Siedel, University of Michigan
Jethro Lieberman, New York Law School
Covers the broad spectrum of legal issues that entrepreneurs must understand when starting and running a business, relating to contracts, product liability, intellectual property, insurance, agency law, partnerships, corporations, and employment law.

2012. Saylor course. By Terence Lau, University of Dayton, Lisa Johnson, University of Puget Sound
Each chapter contains not only substantive law, but also illustrative videos, interactive exercises for hands-on learning, and discussion questions for critical thought. Additionally, each chapter presents ”A Question of Ethics“ section, which contains real world ethical dilemmas relevant to the topic under study.

2021. Contributing authors: David Kline, Pulitzer Prize-nominated journalist
David Kappos, Former Director, United States Patent and Trademark Office
Provides an introduction to patents, copyright, trademarks, and trade secrets. The material offers examples and scenarios, as well as exercises and references.

An Introduction to Labor and Employment Discrimination Law is not an attempt to teach law to undergraduates, but rather to introduce them to legal reasoning. The principal means to this end are cases that present competing arguments (e.g., in majority and dissenting opinions) on major issues.

Each case is preceded by the author’s introduction and followed by the author’s comments and questions. Chapter 1 focuses on labor law in the Nineteenth and early Twentieth Centuries, i.e., before the National Labor Relations Act of 1935. Chapter 2 surveys modern labor law under the Labor Act, covering such topics as representation and unfair labor practices. Chapter 3 is a brief introduction to the law of employment discrimination under the Equal Pay Act, Title VII of the Civil Rights Act of 1964, and Americans With Disabilities Act.

2012. Saylor course. Don Mayer, University of Denver, Daniel Warner, Western Washington University
George Siedel, University of Michigan
Jethro Lieberman, New York Law School
Provides students with context and essential legal concept relating to contracts, product liability, intellectual property, insurance, agency law, partnerships, corporations, and employment law.

Don Mayer, University of Denver, Daniel Warner, Western Washington University
George Siedel, University of Michigan
Jethro Lieberman, New York Law School
Provides students with context and essential legal concepts relating to contracts, agency law, partnerships, corporations, commercial paper, debtors and creditors.