2019 by J. Franklin Williamson, Thomas Aiello, Gordon State College.
Topics include:
The Colonial South / The Colonial North
18th Century Colonial Life
American Revolution
Jeffersonian Era
Slavery and Southern Life
Western Expansion
Sectional Conflict
American Civil War.
A collaborative, openly available American history textbook designed for general readers and college-level history courses. Over 300 academic historians volunteered their expertise to democratize
the American past for twenty-first century readers. Try to ignore the ridiculous title. Excellent layout and well illustrated.
2015 by P. Scott Corbett, Ventura College
Volker Janssen, California State University-Fullerton
John M. Lund, Keene State College.
Covers the chronological history of the United States and also provides the necessary depth to ensure the course is manageable for instructors and students alike. Designed to meet the requirements of most courses.Introduces key forces and major developments, with particular attention paid to issues of race, class, and gender. Provides a balanced approach to U.S. history, considering the people, events, and ideas that have shaped the United States.
Includes faculty-only content and interactive homework and study guides.
2013 by Catherine Locks, Fort Valley State University
Sarah K. Mergel, Dalton State College
Pamela Thomas Roseman, Georgia Perimeter College
Tamara Spike, University of North Georgia.
Examines U.S. History from before European Contact through Reconstruction. Underwent a rigorous double blind peer review, involving over thirty scholars to ensure not only its scholarly integrity but also its high standard of quality.Provides a strong emphasis on critical thinking about US History. Learning Objectives at the beginning of each chapter help students to understand what they will learn in each chapter. Before You Move On at the end of each main section are designed to encourage students to reflect on important concepts and test their knowledge as they read. In addition, each chapter includes Critical Thinking Exercises that ask the student to explore chapter content, Key Terms, and a Chronology of events.
2020 by Chris Collins,Skyline College .
A compilation of selected readings from African American History (Lumen), American Yawp, Boundless US History, and US History.
2019 by Joshua Farrington, Norman W. Powell, Gwendolyn Graham Eastern Kentucky University.
Gives instructors and students a comprehensive account of African Americans’ cultural and political history, economic development, artistic expressiveness, and religious and philosophical worldviews in a critical framework. Offers interdisciplinary analysis of selected issues surrounding the origins and manifestations of White supremacy in the United States. Offers lessons for understanding the institutional marginalization of Blacks in contemporary America and their historical resistance and perseverance.
2018 by Harry L. Watson, University of Chicago Press.
Though this comprehensive book is freely available it is not an OER because it carries a conventional copyright. It can be read but not remixed or reused elsewhere. It includes no essay questions, quizzes or other textbook attributes. However, it is an enormous text and myy be of interest.
2012 by David J. Trowbridge. From Saylor Academy, published without attribution as requested by the work's original creator or licensor.
Has as many pictures and maps as any other history textbook but is careful to place these images in ways that do not disrupt the narrative. The team of photo researchers and map-makers worked with historians and reviewers to only select images that had a compelling message.
2020 by Chris Collins,Skyline College .
A compilation of selected readings from African American History (Lumen), American Yawp, Boundless US History, and US History.
2015 by P. Scott Corbett, Ventura College
Volker Janssen, California State University-Fullerton
John M. Lund, Keene State College.
Covers the chronological history of the United States and also provides the necessary depth to ensure the course is manageable for instructors and students alike. Designed to meet the requirements of most courses.Introduces key forces and major developments, with particular attention paid to issues of race, class, and gender. Provides a balanced approach to U.S. history, considering the people, events, and ideas that have shaped the United States.
Includes faculty-only content and interactive homework and study guides.
2018 by Jane Dailey, University of Chicago Press.
Takes the reader from the Gilded Age to the present, as the nation becomes an imperial power, rethinks the Constitution, witnesses the rise of powerful new technologies, and navigates an always-shifting cultural landscape shaped by an increasingly diverse population. Ending with the 2016 election, this volume provides a needed reminder that the future of the American republic depends on a citizenry that understands—and can learn from—its history.
This is not a true OER as it carries a conventional copyright and therefor can not be remixed or reused elsewhere. However the text is freely available to read. No ancillary material.
