LibGuides: Lowell History: Mill Boy Letters: Abbott Brothers Letters

1850s MAC

PHILADELPHIA COLLEGE
SPECIAL COLLECTIONS¹

WRITTEN BY MARGARET H. KING ABBOTT CLARK²
TO VARNUM AND JONAS ABBOTT³

my Sons I was glad to hear from you and to hear that you was well and may you injoy life The first rate be carflel of your helth and becouted to stay in this part of the world whare I can see you once and A wile you don’t know how much good it dose me to see my children A coming home my helth is vary good at the time mr. clark’s helth is better but he have this distress spell more but not so often Jonas we recent you should take pay for your trouble and thank you to for selling the butter it is cold hear now but no slaying yet I an A fraid we shant have any for thanksgiving the folks are all well as well give my love to all write as soon as you get this I send my best love to you both write as soon as you get this Jonas did Varnum tell you how he lived of his pistal under our shed well write son as you get this want you glad to see Varum yes I was writ soon as you get this I wich that you both could eat liverweist with me thankgiving morning so good by for these time

Varnum or Jonas A Margaret Clark
V V A V J A M V J A J V A

^{1This letter is part of the Abbott Brothers Collection at Philadelphia College in}
^{Pennsylvania. Transcribed by the University of Massachusetts Lowell, Center}
^{for Lowell History.}
^{2Margaret H. King b: 7 Oct 1804, Portsmouth, NH d: 7 Mar 1858, VT; [first]}
^{married: Jonas Varnum Abbott b: 4 Mar 1804, Londonderry, NH; [second]}
^{married 1851: Cephas Clark, Jr. b: 17 Jul 1784, Westmoreland, NH d: 8 Aug 1858,}
^{VT; [first marriage] children: Varnum Abbott, Jonas Abbott, and Dorothy “Dolly” M. Abbott.}
^{3Sons - Varnum Abbott b: 1834, VT and Jonas Abbott b: 1836, Glover, VT; parents:}
^{Margaret H. King and Jonas Varnum Abbott; stepfather: Cephas Clark; employed}
^{1852-1854: Lowell, Massachusetts.}

1852-04 VA

PHILADELPHIA COLLEGE
SPECIAL COLLECTIONS¹

WRITTEN BY VARNUM ABBOTT²
TO MARGARET AND CEPHAS CLARK³

Lowell⁴ April th 1852

Respected parents I now set down to let you know that my health is first rate and I hope that these lines will find you the same – I had a letter from Jonas⁵about a fortnight ago he was well and the same place
I have had the measles I think that I shall go to work to morrow it has been a weak since I left work they
went cazy with me. I drinked three pints of gin and it drove them out first rate so I shall go it a gain I suppose that it would be a good time now for me to come up to get some shugar⁶ but it get along with
out the shugar this year but I should like to see you more than I want the shugar but il make the pen do so il write I should like to know how aunt hannah was and how fordy folks get a long with their hired help this is rather for writing and il close
prety son

tell dolly⁷ to be a good girl and I send my respects to her and hope that she is ruged I have a lot to write but not of much consequence.

The rest next time I send my respects to all so I remain the Same

yours respectfully Varnum Abbott

Margaret & Cephas Clark

Write as soon as you get this write how all folks do

           Worthen St 75
           Merrimac
           Lowell
           Mass

So good bay sometimes im a good a mind to come up and slay

^{1This letter is part of the Abbott Brothers Collection at Philadelphia College}
^{in Pennsylvania. Transcribed by the University of Massachusetts Lowell,}
^{Center for Lowell History.}
^{2Varnum Abbott b: 1834, VT; parents: Margaret H. King and Jonas Varnum}
^{Abbott; stepfather: Cephas Clark; employed 1852-1854: Lowell, Massachusetts.}
^{3Parents - Margaret and Cephas Clark, Glover, VT.}
^{4Lowell, Massachusetts.}
^{5Brother - Jonas Abbott b: 1848, Glover, VT; parents: Margaret H. King and}
^{Jonas Varnum Abbott; stepfather: Cephas Clark; employed 1852-1854:}
^{Lowell, Massachusetts.}
^{6Maple Sugar.}

^{7Sister – Dorothy “Dolly” M. Abbott b: 1841, Glover, VT; parents:}
^{Margaret H. King and Jonas Varnum Abbott; stepfather: Cephas Clark.}

April 18, 1852 VA

PHILADELPHIA COLLEGE
SPECIAL COLLECTIONS¹

WRITTEN BY VARNUM ABBOTT²
TO NATHANIEL E. CLARK³

Lowell⁴ Apr 18th 1852 Sunday

Repected friend I now write a few lines to you my health is first rate and has bin since I left Glover⁵ except I had the measles I lost 8 days but didn’t have any doctor I drinked 75 cents worth of gin

I kept drank till they come out I drinked all the gin that I could and went to bed I didn’t know much more that day the aint any snow, here nor haint ben any for a month to stay on more than to or three day the farmers haint done anything to their land yet I don’t think much of this place for farming the land is poor
and wants a good deal of labor to make it produce anything I under stand that Elmer Bartlet is to [unclear] Nashua and olin Drew a weak a go [unclear] hadnt got in to work and gush steveson is down here I stay at the same place it is not so hard here as it is on a farm but when I get a little money I think that I shall but me a bit of land up there and keep a badcheldors hall we have to sleep in the watch house and make our own bed

^{1This letter is part of the Abbott Brothers Collection at Philadelphia}
^{College in Pennsylvania. Transcribed by the University of Massachusetts}
^{Lowell, Center for Lowell History.}
^{2Varnum Abbott b: 1834, VT; Cephas Clark and Margaret H. King}
^{[first married] Jonas Varnum Abbott; employed 1852-1854: Lowell,}
^{Massachusetts.}
^{3Nathaniel E. Clark b: 1826, VT; employed: teacher, Glover, VT.}
^{4Lowell, Massachusetts.}
^{5Glover, Vermont.}



I expect that you are a making shugar⁶ And prerhaps a shugaring of to day I wish that I could be up there to one Shugaring of and jest see you all but il wait a while, good butter is from 25 to 30 cents a pound and good beaf stake cts, potatoes as they cary them round to the boarding places they have a dollar a bushel, foesale are about 60 cts Eegs 30 cts a dozen the is a good many stores here but every thing is high all they live on is folks that work in the factorys the is 11 corporations in this sitty and the merimac is the largest and the richest, Loren frost haint ben able to do any thing for four weaks he thinks that he shall go to work this weak I got a letter from Jonas last weak he is well. I wonder how ford and his french m,a,n, gets a long I don’t expect that you have got home yet haint heard whether caleb has got home or not tell Sanford that the is a letter at the post ofice for him if he aint got it I give or send my best wishes to betsey and Sarah and all the family write as soon as you get this for I am quite anxious to whether caleb has got home or not

  ^{6Maple Sugar.}


Wel the people have had a nice time in getting maried up to vermont I believe that they are all married if you are when you get maried jest let me know whether you get [shiverru] or not if I was up there I would be one of the gang it is most, 1 O’clock and il Close my letter wash up and get my dinner so I close wishing you health and prosperity

Respectfully yours

Varnum Abbott

Mr. N.E. Clark

Worthen St 75
Lowell, Mass

write soon jest write whare Ezra is and what he is a doing I heard that he was a book age

June 20, 1852 JA

PHILADELPHIA COLLEGE
SPECIAL COLLECTIONS¹

WRITTEN BY JONAS ABBOTT²
TO MARGARET AND CEPHAS CLARK³

Lowell⁴ July the 20 1852

Dear mother an sister⁵ and mr Clark I spend a few moments to inform you the state of my health it is very poor at present I have not done any work for a week last week I was quite sick for three days I think I shall go to work in a day or two I was glad to hear from you and that you were well I hope these few lines will find you enjoying good health and the wrest of the folks in old glover⁶ write how you get a long with your
haying I would like help yo get hay I think.. that I should feel beter to go back in the country and work a while but I don’t know I weather I shall or not the crops are light this way buter 20 cents a pound I would
like some of your buter down here I send my best love to you all I have not any more time to write now please write as soon As you get this

Dolly I want to see you more than hen
Can you tell I send my best love to you

Jonas Abbott Jonas Abbott

July 20, 1852 VA

PHILADELPHIA COLLEGE
SPECIAL COLLECTIONS¹

WRITTEN BY VARNUM ABBOTT²
TO CEPHAS AND MARGARET CLARK³

Lowell⁴ July 20the 1852 July

I now set down to write a few lines to you I received your letter a weak ago last wednesday I ment to rote before but haint got about it till now I have got half an hour to rite be fore super and I must cary it out and put in the post ofice

I had a letter from you and there want but just three words in it besides California it was all california. I didnt think of your going to california no I dididnt once dream of it seems that you have I hope that you dream about gold now, a, spell. Oh California again I have felt most sick last week I felt pretty well yesterday and to day I should come home if I hadent got better jonas is and has ben, unwell he is out round but haint worked any for four or five days except staid in his mill Sunday if he don’t get better I guess he will come home

           From A. Varrnun Abbott
           To          Mr. Cephas Clark
                         Margaret Clark

My Respects to you all

May health and prosperity be with you now and peace for ever more I have done work a neough to
Make my time whole ever since I begun to work except half a day I don’t tthink that I shall do many
More extrys this hot weather

Varnum Abbott

Tell Dolly⁵ to be a good girl and learn all that She can for I hope that, She is able to go to school pher perhaps that you with see some of us up there one of these days

California

haint gone yet don’t think that I shall till I come up there and see old glover⁶

^{5Sister – Dorothy “Dolly” M. Abbott b: 1841, Glover, VT; parents:}
^{Margaret H. King and Jonas Varnum Abbott; stepfather: Cephas Clark.}
^{6Glover, Vermont.}

September 19, 1852 VA

PHILADELPHIA COLLEGE
SPECIAL COLLECTIONS¹
WRITTEN BY VARNUM ABBOTT²
TO MARGARET AND CEPHAS CLARK³

Lowell⁴ Sept. 19th 1852

Mother I will send a few lines to you my health is first rate. I hope that these few lines will find you and Farther and Dolly⁵ the same I should like to visit you with, Jonas⁶ but I will, put it of till a more convenient time as my health is good I can labor with comfort I shall come up and see you another Spring if we are alive time rools on son we shall come to our end that present I suppose you will expect I feel rather stingy and you may expect It will be small I send you a Dress I do not know whether it will suit you or not I aint much of a hand to buy calico

Dolly I was glad to receive a line from you you must write and send when Jonas comes back give my respects to Emma Abbott hope that she enjoys life write where she stays that sumer

I will close by sending my love to you all

I remain the same person
Yours respectfuly

             Cephas Clark
             Margaret Clark
             Dolly

Varnum Abbott
Varnum Abbott

October 17, 1852

PHILADELPHIA COLLEGE
SPECIAL COLLECTIONS¹

WRITTEN BY VARNUM ABBOTT²
TO MARGARET AND CEPHAS CLARK³

Lowell⁴ Sunday 17th 1852 Oct. Mass

Respected parents I having a leisure Time will pen a few lines to you hoping all Good my health is first rates
this fall and I hope that yours is and Dolly’s⁵ is to and all the people’s Jonas⁶ has gone to bed he rote this fore non I don’t know what he rote so I may write the same that does Nancy is to work in the mill I guess that she don’t like as well as she thought she should I ment to rote before the time hass passed I was glad of those greetings you sent to me and that Cake went first rate it was the best that we eat this six months I should like to call on you this evning insteade of watching but as I cant you must write I would like to have you all write Farther Mother & Sister & how you all get a long etc. I have a lot to write but not of much value I close
By send my love to you all.

From Varnum Abbott

I know I share thy smiles with many
That autumn time is come that sheds
Upon the naked scenes charms only
Known in this northern clime Bright Seasens
Far between

[these five lines were written in a circle]

When I get this page all rote over I shall stop dont get out of patience youl find the end fore soon if you can read this I am shure that you cant read comon writing do you know where and why it is the girls talk of getting married ive got to a period.

I have only time to add that
I am in great haste

[written along the right hand side]

we had a frost here
last night to night
it is cold & rainy

January 6, 1853 VA

PHILADELPHIA COLLEGE
SPECIAL COLLECTIONS¹

WRITTEN BY VARNUM ABBOTT²
TO MARGARET AND CEPHAS CLARK³

Thursday Lowell⁴ Jan. 6th 1853

Affectionate Parents I set down to write A few lines to you hoping that they will find you as well as we are & this worlds enjoyments with you to we ment to rote before but the time has passed away swift rools the whels of time which will soon bring us to our ends I have ben waiting for Jonas⁵ to write for me as I have A few moments to spare & I thought that id just scratch A few lines to you I suppose that you have heard
what I am A doing now if you have seen William, Chris he can tell you all about it he staid here to long time
write as soon as you get this & how all the folks get a long & if Ezra is taf & whare he is etc etc so on

Enjoy life when you can as oer lifes trouble sea we pass waves swell before us but we rise above them all

[Sideways on the right side]

We haint got any snow to
speak of here yet

^{6Sister – Dorothy “Dolly” M. Abbott b: 1841, Glover, VT; parents:}
^{Margaret H. King and Jonas Varnum Abbott; stepfather: Cephas Clark.}

April 3, 1853 VA

PHILADELPHIA COLLEGE
SPECIAL COLLECTIONS¹

WRITTEN BY VARNUM ABBOTT²
TO CEPHAS AND MARGARET CLARK³

Lowell⁴ Apr. 3dh 1853 Sunday

Respected Farther & Mother & Sister⁵ I once more inform you of our health which is First rate. & I trust that these few lines will find you enjoying the same blessing it is pleasant here to day & presume it is a good sap day in Glover.⁶ I wish I was there helping you make shugar but I can do better here than up there. one of these days I am A coming up & buy me A. Woman & then hunt me up A, farm & selle down George King & his wife is down here & Nancy Christie & Abigail Day & Jerusha Barker George has gone on the watch here & Martha in the weaving room. Jonas⁷ has left the Watch & gone to work on the carpet

Much Obliged For those Greetings thas nancy brought you Wanted that I should get some silk When I come up I think that it will cost as much here as it will up ther I do not know what kind you want

Direct your letters to 65 Worthen St.

I shall ben glad to Caried on your shugar
Place this spring but couldn’t leave here
The last three months I made 65 Dollars
Besides my board that is more than I
can make up there on A farm.

Write soon Yours With respect

Cephas & Margaret Clark V. Abbott

excuse all mistakes

[around the edge of the page]

Remember

Dolly I was glad to see some of your writing I write this page to you Write again I heard that you was to work to siases be A good girl & keep your nose
Clean.

Worthen St 68

April 18, 1853 JA

PHILADELPHIA COLLEGE
SPECIAL COLLECTIONS¹

WRITTEN BY JONAS ABBOTT²
TO DOROTHY “DOLLY’ M. ABBOTT³

Lowell⁴ Apr. 18th 1853

Dear sister I received your leter last week and was glad to hear from you and the wrest of the folks and that they was doing well my health is good at present and hope that these few lines will find you the same and mother and Mr. Clark⁵ I want to hear how they are getting along this spring give my love to them tell mother that I want to see her very much and mr Clark and you twus more than pen can tell but I cant now varnum⁶ health is good and sends his best wishes to you tell sias that I would like to help him shoogar off⁷ and have some to eat give my love to Jane tell her to get smart and down here the fourth of July I saw nancy yesterday and she was smart and so was abagil day they are a doind well I wish you would send me some shoogar to eat but you cant Dolly I was glad to hear from

^{1This letter is part of the Abbott Brothers Collection at Philadelphia}
^{College in Pennsylvania. Transcribed by the University of Massachusetts}
^{Lowell, Center for Lowell History.}
^{2Jonas Abbott b: 1836, VT; parents: Margaret H. King and Jonas Varnum}
^{Abbott; stepfather: Cephas Clark; employed 1852-1854: Lowell, Massachusetts.}
^{3Sister – Dorothy “Dolly” M. Abbott b: 1841, Glover, VT; parents: Margaret H.}
^{King and Jonas Varnum Abbott; stepfather: Cephas Clark.}
^{4Lowell, Massachusetts.}
^{5Parents – Margaret and Cephas Clark, Glover, VT.}
^{6Brother –Varnum Abbott b: 1834, VT; parents: Margaret H. King and Jonas}
^{Varnum Abbott; stepfather: Cephas Clark; employed 1852-1854: Lowell, Massachusetts.}
^{7Sugar off – making maple sugar.}

you I want you should write as soon as you get this Dolly I cant think of much to write now and my, hands
are sore sow I cant hardly write at all I have written this in A hury I don’t know as you can wread it but if you cant you send me a line and I will try to write A beter one nex time good by for this time write as soon as you get this

From Jonas Abbott
to Dolly M Abbott

April 24, 1853 VA

PHILADELPHIA COLLEGE
SPECIAL COLLECTIONS1

WRITTEN BY VARNUM ABBOTT2
TO MARGARET AND CEPHAS CLARK3

Lowell4 Apr. 24th 1853

Dear Farther & Mother I take my pen to let you know that we are well & enjoying our selves first rate & I hope these few lines will find you the same it is pleasant here today it may be up there to as we draw A picture of each place before our eyes we se. A vast diference one surounded with trees. The other with
steples & liberty poles, one made merry with the sweet songs of the robin the other with church bells & sweet songs of the other sex Time rools swiftly by youth quick passes I was a thinking the other day that I
should begin to sow my wild oats this spring so I am determind to puter through while I am young & enjoy life for when I am old I can’t I will give you a hint about Jonases You, may guess the rest Mary Jane W I have got ten thousands things to write but don’t know which to write first the church bells are ringing & I will finish after church don’t forget to rite if you don’t get this write before you stop to read this so I may

  1This letter is part of the Abbott Brothers Collection at Philadelphia
     College in Pennsylvania. Transcribed by the University of Massachusetts
     Lowell, Center for Lowell History.
2Varnum Abbott b: 1834, VT; parents: Margaret H. King and Jonas
     Varnum Abbott; stepfather: Cephas Clark; employed 1852-1854:
     Lowell, Massachusetts.
3Parents – Margaret and Cephas Clark, Glover, VT.
4Lowell, Massachusetts.


Where are we the hapiest in the citty or at the foot of the rocky abiss where the hawk builds his nest & the fox digs his hole in the day the hawk soars high oer head at night the fox slighly robs your hen rost till the racoon eats the corn. Whilst all this is a going on something disturbs your slumbers you get up & go to the
door all is still except a Faires dog is a barking, so back to your couch you retire

Don’t forget to rite if you don’t get this George & Martha are well & like very well. Jonas5 likes over on the carpet6 I believe I shall come home before I get maried There is a lot of pretty down east girls here
Give me the green mountain girl that gathers may flowers & sings like an Italian

I cant settle my mind on any thing to write

O tell Dolly that I haint forgten her would write more if I thought you could read this
Varnum Abbott
Cephas Clark Margaret & Dolly7
Varnum Abbott

  5Brother – Jonas Abbott b: 1836, Glover, VT; parents: Margaret H.
     King and Jonas Varnum Abbott; stepfather: Cephas Clark; employed
     1852-1854: Lowell, Massachusetts.
6Lowell Carpet Manufacturing Company.
7Sister – Dorothy “Dolly” M. Abbott b: 1841, Glover, VT; ; parents:
    Margaret H. King and Jonas Varnum Abbott; stepfather: Cephas Clark.

I forgot to write some things

I have got the letters sealed up & cant rite any more

I send my best wishes & respects to you all

hapy is the man who has chosen Wisdoms ways I would rite more but I cant get it through the post ofice

V Abbott

I guess that I shall go to writers school if you think I had better

Butter 17 & 20

May 29, 1853 VA

PHILADELPHIA COLLEGE
SPECIAL COLLECTIONS¹

WRITTEN BY VARNUM ABBOTT²
TO DOROTHY “DOLLY” M. ABBOTT³

Lowell⁴ May 29th 1853

Dear Sister

I once more write A few lines to you hoping they will find you in good health & spirits to I cant stop to to write much it is most dinner time & I wants go to meeting this after noon. Jonas talks some of going to the gold mines guess that I shant go this year tell farther & Mother⁵ that I am well wish them so I hope that you will learn lots this sumer give my love to the prety girls write as soon as you get this if not before & tell Sias to write to & Samuel King, excuse the bad writing

Your Friend Varnum Abbott

Dorothy M Abbott

June 12, 1853 JA

PHILADELPHIA COLLEGE
SPECIAL COLLECTIONS¹

WRITTEN BY JONAS ABBOTT²
TO VARNUM ABBOTT³

Lowell⁴ June 12th 1853

Dear brother I take my pen in hand to inform you that I am tierd for I worked last night and to day in the fore noon the Jack broke on the no 2 mill on the half next to no 3 s mill the wrest goes well a nough I got squezed in no 1 pit saturday after noon but not very bad between the pulley that regulates the gate and the pit but I can do the work it makes me little lame he wants me to go to work in the shop a week from to morows you com back next Saturday if you can and yo cant want to stay till monday I will try to do your
work monday suit your self and you will suit me the boss of the wood workmen in the shop had his arm sawed very bad the boss under green I feel tierd and cant write much my love to mother and father⁵ my health is good and hope yours is the same give my love to dolly⁶ Jonas Abbott

June 14, 1853 JA

PHILADELPHIA COLLEGE
SPECIAL COLLECTIONS¹

WRITTEN BY JONAS ABBOTT²
TO VARNUM ABBOTT³

Lowell⁴ June 14th 1853

Dear brother I will write a few lines to let you know  how I get along first rate my health is first rate and hope these few lines will find you the same father & mother⁵ the same and Dolly⁶ to and the wrest of the  folks give my love to them all I haint much time to write I  want you should come back Saturday for the boss up to the shop wants me now he sent word that that he wood wait the wrest of this week I must go
in next monday whether you  come come back or not I am sory to hury you back but I don’t want to lose my chance I am in a hury and cant write much
           yours Jonas Abbott
           to Varnum Abbott

Glover⁷

June 19, 1853 VA

PHILADELPHIA COLLEGE
SPECIAL COLLECTIONS¹

WRITTEN VARNUM ABBOTT²
TO MARGARET AND CEPHAS CLARK³

June Lowell⁴ 19th 1853 Sunday

Honored Farther & Mother & Sister⁵ I set down to let you know that I got home safe & sound I found Jonas well & Nancy finaly all the folks One of the mills burnt sown while I was gone About $ 80,000 dollars was distroyed they are A going to bild another in the same place the mill got a fire while they was gone to breakfast do not know how it got A fire I feel so that I had got home once more the girls shine like silver
batons. Some of them think or ask me how I found woman up to Glover⁶ & up there they want to know how my woman is down here, I tell them that I have got the mitten up to Glover now some of them will get Courted come on galhs gahals

June 23th 1853

[Written Sideways on the letter]

tell the galls to go it while they are young My love to all that aint Courted I enjoy my self first rate --- & hope you do Jonas⁷ is well & gone to work to the big shop tell Clark to call this way if he can If you don’t get this letter some time fore soon write fore soon I haint had to work more than half the Time since I come back Don’t make fun of my writing

June 24th 1854

we are bound to celebrate the 4th
Varnum Abbott

^{7Brother – Jonas Abbott b: 1836, VT; parents: Margaret H. King}
^{and Jonas Varnum Abbott; stepfather: Cephas Clark; employed}
^{1852-1854: Lowell, Massachusetts.}

June 23, 1853 VA

PHILADELPHIA COLLEGE
SPECIAL COLLECTIONS¹

WRITTEN VARNUM ABBOTT²
TO DOLLY ABBOTT³

Lowell⁴ June 23th –1853- Thursday

Dear sister I write A few lines to you hoping that they will find you in good health & A going to school, Dolly rise early in the morning & exercise your anbition, up & take the morning air up & hear the wild birds Sing
up & takes A little exercise that you may have an Apetite for breakf

            I close by sending you my best wishes
            & I hope that you will do as well
            as you can & take Care of your self
            to Dorothy M Abbott from Varnum Abbott

Write soon & write all the news
Give my love to Abby.

Good After noon
Yours with respect

August 4, 1853 VA

PHILADELPHIA COLLEGE
SPECIAL COLLECTIONS¹

WRITTEN BY VARNUM ABBOTT²
TO MARGARET AND CEPHAS CLARK³

Lowell⁴ August 4th 1853

Respected Father & Mother & Sister⁵ I once more inform you of our health which is first best & trust yours the same I received A letter from you 5 or 6 weeks ago Uncle Samuel got here A weak ago to night & staid till wednesday moring he then went to Boston we some expect him back to night to go to the the lecture .
we had A fist rate time when he was here & he was vary much taken up with some of ours pretty girls he is quite A boy yet for the girls I talk of going out west next fall to see the Country but havent fully Concluded yet I have lots to write but dont seem to have much time my time is all taken up in enjoyment or employment, & A Dreaming & Sleeping

finish foce soon enjoy life while you can

Farther I supose you will think you got A long haying uncle said you was smart & every thing looked nice

Mother I supose you will think That I might wrote more wal I Might if I had let it alone till Sunday I write this at dinner time & it is time for Me to go to work so good by

Jonas⁶ is well & doing well he has ben telling about writing but I Guess he haint my best respects
To Betsy & Abby

Mr. & Mrs. Cephas Clark your humble servant
Varnum Abbott

The rest next time
Write Soon

^{6Brother - Jonas Abbott b: 1836, Glover, VT; parents: Margaret H.}
^{King and Jonas Varnum Abbott; stepfather: Cephas Clark; employed}
^{1852-1854: Lowell, Massachusetts.}

August 26, 1853 VA

PHILADELPHIA COLLEGE
SPECIAL COLLECTIONS¹

WRITTEN VARNUM ABBOTT²
TO JONAS ABBOTT³

Lowell⁴ Friday 26th 1853 [august]

Dear Brother

I set down to let you know that I am the same I calcilate to start next week Saturday noon from this place
I want that you should get back as soon as Friday at any rate get what you can & sell the rest be [ ] at
presant, if you don’t get 100, dollars fetch down some of the notes with you A Ye Clark & Albert Dwinell s. & leave the rest with mother till I, call, for them Find out where Clark & Roberson is & Frederick Cheny & Haliburt & set down the names of the places where they are so that I can find them,

            tell Dolly to
            give my love to
            Abby
            Yours with respect
            Varnum Abbott

Jonas Abbott

Tell Mother not to wory for I am big enough to take care of my self

Varnum Abbott

This side up with
Care

Don’t let any body see
this

^{5Parents – Margaret and Cephas Clark, Glover, VT.}
^{6Sister - Dorothy “Dolly” M. Abbott b: 1840, VT, parents:}
^{Margaret H. King and Jonas Varnum Abbott; stepfather: Cephas Clark.}

September 11, 1853 JA

PHILADELPHIA COLLEGE
SPECIAL COLLECTIONS¹

WRITTEN TO JONAS ABBOTT²
TO MARGARET AND CEPHAS CLARK³

Lowell⁴ Sept. 11th 1853

respes parents I take this opportunity to inform you how i got home I reached Saturday night all safe folks are all well and hope that these few lines will find you the same and all of the folks in glover⁵ varnum⁶ left last monday morning for the west⁷he wrote to have me come back Friday but i did not get the leter you can take it out and sent or keep it I haint hurd from him yet but I expect to soon when I do I will write nancy is well and sends her love to you all Misses A-b is well and sends her love to you and dolly⁸ and so do I when you get your corn picked you let me know and

please write as soon as you get this

Jonas Abbott
Lowell Mass

October 2, 1853

PHILADELPHIA COLLEGE
SPECIAL COLLECTIONS¹

WRITTEN BY JONAS ABBOTT²
TO MARGARET AND CEPHAS CLARK³

Lowell⁴ Oct. the2 1853

Dear Father and mother and sister⁵ I received your leter last week and was glad to hear from you and the
wrest of the folks in glover⁶ my health is good at present I Jamed my foot a very bad week a go last Monday and was laid up a while but have got to work again the cylinder head of the engine fell on to it I put a boot on yesterday I heard from varnum⁷ when he was alon lake erie and have not hurd since he was well
then if you have hurd since I wish you would write and let me now for I want to hear from him very much and from you to it is a bout time for him to come back to lowell if he comes I want that he should the weather is fine here now and not very cold yet

the produce is very high here now and buter is 28 cents a 25 pound potatoes 80 cents a bushel aples 60 cents if you have a tub of buter to sell my bordind mistress wants to get one if you send one she will pay a good prise for it write what it is fetching a pound up there I could sell a number of tubs if I had it it will
cost some thing to freight it down here if you send one you write as soon as you get this them peaches that I sent to you was not very good the man that I was to have them of did not bring them in and these was late peaches and want so good nor half so large as the early ones are write if you had to pay any thing on them for they want hardly worth paying for I haint

[written along the left side]

much to write to you this time I have wrote this in a hury if you cant wread it burns it give my love to dolly and all the folks from Jonas Abbott

October 24, 1853 JA

PHILADELPHIA COLLEGE
SPECIAL COLLECTIONS¹

WRITTEN BY JONAS ABBOTT²
TO MARGARET AND CEPHAS CLARK³

Lowell⁴ Oct. the 24h 1853

Dear father and mother and sister⁵ I received a leter from you last week and was glad to hear from you and the wrest of the folks in glover⁶ my health is good and hope yours is the same I hurd that mr Clark
of that I hope that he wont be sick long I had a leter from varnum⁷ Friday he was well and likes first he
has took 260 acors of land he is a goin to build him a barn this winter he has wrote you two leters and wants two nose if you get them - or not I have received three from him he sends his love to you all it is warm and pleasent and fine weather here and we haint had any cold night yet

^{1This letter is part of the Abbott Brothers Collection at Philadelphia}
^{College in Pennsylvania. Transcribed by the University of Massachusetts}
^{Lowell, Center for Lowell History.}
^{2Jonas Abbott b: 1836, Glover, VT; parents: Margaret H. King and Jonas}
^{Varnum Abbott; stepfather: Cephas Clark; employed 1852-1854:}
^{Lowell, Massachusetts.}
^{3Parents – Margaret and Cephas Clark, Glover, VT.}
^{4Lowell, Massachusetts.}
^{5Sister – Dorothy “Dolly” M. Abbott b: 1841, Glover, VT; parents: Margaret H.}
^{King and Jonas Varnum Abbott; stepfather: Cephas Clark;}
^{6Glover, Vermont.}
^{7Brother – Varnum Abbott b: 1834, VT; parents: Margaret H. King and Jonas}
^{Varnum Abbott; stepfather: Cephas Clark; employed 1852-1854:}
^{Lowell, Massachusetts.}

the buter that you sent to me I have sold but not so well as I expected to it fell one 1 cent on a pound
and part if it was not very good its tasted the tub a litle just a nough to not fetch the best price I sold some for 22 cents a pound And some for 21 and one tub for 19 cents a pound but I done the best that I could with it if it had come to weeks before it did I could have done beter it was fore days coming down the frieght was 160 cents on the buter I have got a part of the money now the wrest I shall have in fore weeks
when the payments is in I will send 25 dollars this week buy the express and the wrest as soon as I get it write when you receive the money yours

Jonas Abbott

November 8, 1853 JA

PHILADELPHIA COLLEGE
SPECIAL COLLECTIONS¹

WRITTEN BY JONAS ABBOTT²
TO MARGARET AND CEPHAS CLARK³

Lowell⁴ Nov. 8th 1853

Dear father and mother and sister⁵ I received your leter last week and was glad to hear from you and the wrest of the folks in glover my health and miss is very good at present and hope that yours is the same the buter you sent down to me I have sold [unclear] [unclear] and have got part of the pay and sent 25 dollars
tou buy the express last week tues day and wrote a leter to you be fore I sent it the wrest of the money I will send in thre of or fore weeks I will write before I send it to you

Jonas Abbot of Lowell Mass

November 27, 1853 VA

PHILADELPHIA COLLEGE
SPECIAL COLLECTIONS¹

WRITTEN BY VARNUM ABBOTT²
TO MARGARET AND CEPHAS CLARK³

Lowell⁴ Nov. 27th 1853

Respected Farther & Mother & Sister⁵ I pen A few lines to let you know that I am the Same I have not gone to work yet but have had one or to Chances but they did not suit me So I expect to go to work this week Some time butter sells, 23 Pork from 8 to 9 at retail from 9 to 11, Aples 1.50 per bushel

Write if they heard from Caleb Since I Came down here & A bout thanksgiving we had thanksgiving last
Thursday & had a good time I read in the papers that they would not have any thanksgiving because A loco Goviner good by dolly

how do you like your school diner is most ready

I will write more next time by write As Soon As you get this from your

Friend
Varnum Abbott

20.70
20.58
20.20
9.97
72.35       70.00
4.25       67.51
67.51 Mr. & Mrs Cephas Clark
                 2.49

[written along the left side of page]

Dolly Write how you get A long & how you do

November 28, 1853 JA

PHILADELPHIA COLLEGE
SPECIAL COLLECTIONS¹

WRITTEN BY JONAS ABBOTT²
TO MARGARET AND CEPHAS CLARK³

Lowell⁴ Nov. the 28th 1853

Dear father and mother and sister⁵ I sit down to write a few lines to you my health is very good and hope that these find you in good health I did not think of seeing varnum⁶ at present but was glad to see him and to hear from you and the wrest of You folks in glover⁷ I am to work in the shop⁸ yet I think I go to some other place and get more pay but I don’t know how soon I shall leave in about fore weeks I think that I shall but if they raise my pay I shall stay this winter we haint had any snow here yet it is rather cold here yet I will write to you about the buter I did not do so well as I expected

^{1This letter is part of the Abbott Brothers Collection at Philadelphia}
^{College in Pennsylvania. Transcribed by the University of Massachusetts}
^{Lowell, Center for Lowell History.}
^{2Jonas Abbott b: 1836, Glover, VT; parents: Margaret H. King and Jonas}
^{Varnum Abbott; stepfather: Cephas Clark; employed 1852-1854:}
^{Lowell, Massachusetts.}
^{3Parents - Margaret and Cephas Clark, Glover, VT.}
^{4Lowell, Massachusetts.}
^{5Sister – Dorothy “Dolly” M. Abbott b: 1841, Glover, VT; parents: Margaret H.}
^{King and Jonas Varnum Abbott; stepfather: Cephas Clark.}
^{6Brother – Varnum Abbott b: 1834, VT; parents: Margaret H. King and Jonas}
^{Varnum Abbott; stepfather: Cephas Clark; employed 1852-1854:}
^{Lowell, Massachusetts.}
^{7Glover, Vermont.}
^{8Lowell Machine Shop.}

to thre tubs tasted the tub so it has had to go for the second quality I doe the best that I could with it I sold 2 tubs for 22 cents weight 95 pounds brought $20,90 and 2 tubs for 21 cents weight 98 lbs made $20,58 and 2 tubs for 20 cents weight 104 ½ pounds made $20,90 and one for 19 cent weight 52 ½ pounds made $9.97

the whole weight
350 lbs

the whole amount $72.35

the freight on the buter was 1.60 and 25 cents to the truckman that moved it the tubs wade 7 pounds a piece the wrest of the money I will send in a leter varnum said that he let you have 35 dollars and I pay it to him I was out one and a half day to selicit but I shall take any thing for that the peaches that I sent five quorts and six big pars and for aples and for newspapers the peaches would keep 58 or 60 days before they would rot you tell mr drew that I am much oblige to him for opning the box

varnum is well and tuff this From Jonas Abbott to

Mr. Clark of
Glover VT

December 4, 1853

PHILADELPHIA COLLEGE
SPECIAL COLLECTIONS¹

WRITTEN BY DOROTHY “DOLLY” M. ABBOTT²
TO VARNUM AND JONAS ABBOTT³

Dec. the 4 1853

Dear brothers,

I now set down to let you know that I am well and hope that these few lines I will find you the same. My school begins Monday. Thanksgiving is next Thursday and we are A celebrting to go out to uncle Cephas they are agoing to have a turkey. they have not heard from Caleb yet & not as I know of. they have not unless they get a letter today when they go down to meating. Mr. Randal keeps our school it is cold enough
up hear, well I can’t think of anything more to write I will finnish I dont know as you can read it. If you cant call it some thing and let it go to that good by write as soon as you get this write write

            Dolly M. Abbott
            Varnum Abbott
            Jonas Abbott
            Dolly M. Abbott

^{1This letter is part of the Abbott Brothers Collection at Philadelphia}
^{College in Pennsylvania. Transcribed by the University of Massachusetts}
^{Lowell, Center for Lowell History.}
^{2Dorothy “Dolly” M. Abbott b: 1840, VT, parents: Margaret H. King and}
^{Jonas Varnum Abbott; stepfather: Cephas Clark; married: Elijah A. Norton}
^{b: 1864, VT.}
^{3Brothers - Varnum Abbott b: 1834, VT and Jonas Abbott b: 1836, Glover,}
^{VT; parents: Margaret H. King and Jonas Varnum Abbott; stepfather:}
^{Cephas Clark; employed 1852-1854: Lowell, Massachusetts.}

uncle Jonathan got a letter from cousin Benjamin Hurlbut and cousin Betsy is dead she had the tyfoyd fever then the bloody flux set in and carried her of. So good by

Dolly M. Abbott

January 18, 1854 JA

PHILADELPHIA COLLEGE
SPECIAL COLLECTIONS¹

WRITTEN BY JONAS ABBOTT²
TO MARGARET AND CEPHAS CLARK³

Lowell⁴ Jan. 18th 1854

Dear father and mother and sister⁵ I received the leter that you wrote to varnum⁶ last week and was glad to hear from you and the wrest of the folks in glover⁷ was sorey to hear that granser was sick give my love to him and to alvas folks and [unclear] all the wrest of the folks I guess you got a little mistaken about me
going to californa⁸ one dear son has gone I had a leter from varnum lst week from the isthmus he was well and in good spirits and sent his best wishes to you all thare was eight went from here with him

^{1This letter is part of the Abbott Brothers Collection at Philadelphia College in Pennsylvania. Transcribed by the University of Massachusetts Lowell, Center for Lowell History.}
^{2Jonas Abbott b: 1836, Glover, VT; parents: Margaret H. King and Jonas Varnum Abbott; stepfather: Cephas Clark; employed 1852-1854: Lowell, Massachusetts.}
^{3Parents - Margaret and Cephas Clark, Glover, VT.}
^{4Lowell, Massachusetts.}
^{5Sister – Dorothy “Dolly” M. Abbott b: 1841, Glover, VT; parents: Margaret H. King and Jonas Varnum Abbott; stepfather: Cephas Clark.}
^{6Brother – Varnum Abbott b: 1834, VT; parents: Margaret H. King and Jonas Varnum Abbott; stepfather: Cephas Clark; employed 1852-1854: Lowell, Massachusetts.}
^{7Glover, Vermont.}
^{8California Gold Rush.}

he found 7 from lyndon VT on the same boat with him he said that they was some see sick and he said that he was sum sea sick to or three days I wished that I had gone with him but he had some good fellows with him and steady he boarded with one fellow most one year that they went with him I expect to have a leter
from him in a week or a fortnight when I do get one I will send it to you there want much in the one that he sent from the isthmus duston and ayers want with him I think he will do well I hope so I think that I shall stop in lowell for the present my health iIs not very good I have had the whooping cough this winter my stomac got sore coughing but it is some beter now I have worked most all the time to think I shall

my pay rise soon I get 58 cents per day now and pay $2.25 per week for my bord that don’t leave me a great pile but I am learning a good trade I let varnum have all the money that I could spare to him I will
send you $5.00 dollars now and the wrest by and by, when you want it it is cold weath here now and I must go to bead for I cant think of much to write this time only mary I health is good and sends hur best wishes to dolly and you both so good by for this time

this from Jonas Abbott
to Mr Clark