LibGuides: Biomedical Engineering Research Guide: Bioinstrumentation

Bioinstrumentation

Bioinstrumentation is the development of technologies for the measurement and manipulation of parameters within biological systems, focusing on the application of engineering tools for scientific discovery and for the diagnosis and treatment of disease. Examples include instrumentation for medical imaging, disease diagnosis, medical sensors, and therapeutics.

Library Resources

Engineering Village (Compendex) This link opens in a new window
Bibliographic records and abstracts of scientific and engineering research. Compendex content is sourced from thousands of publishers from around the world, including major engineering societies such as IEEE, ASME, SAE and ACM. Coverage: 1996 - current
IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new window
Technical literature in electrical engineering and computer engineering. Includes access to journals on biomedical circuits and systems, bioinformatics, medical imaging and sensors, medical robotics, nanobioscience, and more. Coverage: 1864 - current
SPIE Digital Library This link opens in a new window
Full text books, journals, and society proceedings covering optics and photonics, including coverage on topics such as biomedical optics, medical imaging, neurophotonics, and more
SPIE (Society of Photo-Optical Instrumentation Engineers)is the international society for optics and photonics founded in 1955 to advance light-based technologies. The SPIE Digital Library contains 156 ebooks, 9 ejournals, and more than 268,000 full-text papers from SPIE Journals and Proceedings published since 1990. Approximately 17,000 new papers will be added each year. The following content is available within the Digital Library:

Proceedings of SPIE: Starting at Volume 1200 (1990)*
Optical Engineering: Starting at Volume 29 (1990)
Journal of Electronic Imaging: Starting at Volume 1 (1992)
Journal of Biomedical Optics: Starting at Volume 1 (1996)
Journal of Micro/Nanolithography, MEMS, and MOEMS: Starting at Volume 1 (2002)
Journal of Applied Remote Sensing: Starting at Volume 1 (2007)
Journal of Nanophotonics: Starting at Volume 1 (2007)
Journal of Photonics for Energy: Starting at Volume 1 (2011)
SPIE eBooks: A selection beginning 1989
ASTM Standards (now Compass) This link opens in a new window
A multi-disciplinary forum for the applied sciences and engineering. ASTM's medical device, implant and imaging standards are instrumental in specifying and evaluating the design and performance requirements of a number of biomedical materials, tools, and equipment. Coverage:1973 - current
American Society for Testing and Materials standards search portal. Access any of ASTM’s 12,000+ standards, as well as AASHTO, AATCC, API, and UOP standards.

Web Resources

National Institute of Biomedical Imaging and Bioengineering (NIBIB)
The mission of the National Institute of Biomedical Imaging and Bioengineering (NIBIB) is to transform through engineering the understanding of disease and its prevention, detection, diagnosis, and treatment. The laboratories at NIBIB conduct research using a combination of basic and clinical science. NIBIB training programs support everything from short-courses to mentored research.