LibGuides: Biomedical Engineering Research Guide: Handbooks and Encyclopedias

Handbooks and Encyclopedias

Handbooks, encyclopedias, and other biomedical engineering reference books can be found by searching our UML databases ENGnetBASE, Credo Reference, Knovel Technical Reference and O'Reilly eBooks (formerly Safari). We've gathered some biomedical engineering reference books below to provide some comprehensive resources for your coursework and research. We invite you to make use of our databases to find additional resources that meet your needs!

Depending on the title, you might need to log in with your UML credentials or create a different free account (Internet Archive, O'Reilly Media, etc.) before you can view eBook content.

Encyclopedia of Biomedical Instrumentation
An essential reference filled with 400 of today's current biomedical instruments and devices. Each description in Compendium of Biomedical Instrumentation covers four aspects: purpose of the instrument; principle of operation, which covers physics, engineering, electronics, and data processing; brief specifications; and major applications.
Instrumentation Handbook for Biomedical Engineers
Provides hands-on laboratory exercises designed for biomedical engineering undergraduates. Students using this book are expected to have basic knowledge of electrical circuits and troubleshooting.
Sensors, Nanoscience, Biomedical Engineering, and Instruments
Provides thorough coverage of sensors, materials and nanoscience, instruments and measurements, and biomedical systems and devices, including all of the basic information required to thoroughly understand each area.
Medical Imaging
Winner of the "Outstanding Academic Title" recognition by Choice for the 2020 OAT Awards. The book discusses varied topics pertaining to modern techniques in medical imaging using artificial intelligence (AI), image recognition (IR) and machine learning (ML) algorithms.
Bioelectronics and Medical Devices
Covers a wide range of concepts and technologies, discussing such modern technological methods as the Internet of Things, e-pills, biomedical sensors, support vector machines, wireless devices, image and signal processing in e-health, and machine learning.
Biomedical Signal Processing
This book presents the theoretical basis and applications of biomedical signal analysis and processing.