LibGuides: Biomedical Engineering Research Guide: Biomaterials

Biomaterials

Engineers who specialize in biomaterials study naturally occurring or laboratory-designed substances for use in medical devices and implants. Some specific examples of biomaterials include artificial heart valves, contact lenses, hernia mesh, pacemakers, skin grafts, cochlear implants, and joint replacements. The modern field of biomaterials combines medicine, biology, physics, and chemistry. The field has grown significantly in the past decade due to discoveries in tissue engineering and regenerative medicine.

Library Resources

JoVE: Bioengineering This link opens in a new window
This collection covers core bioengineering concepts, which include the production of biomaterials, histotypic and whole organ tissue cultures, bioprocessing techniques, and the complex system-level fields of bioMEMs and biosensing
Polymer Library This link opens in a new window
Abstracts covering rubbers, plastics, adhesives and polymeric composites.
Coverage: 1947 - current
CHEMnetBASE This link opens in a new window
Premier chemistry references, presenting facts, formulas, tables, and illustrations. Includes Dictionary of Drugs, Dictionary of Inorganic and Organometallic Compounds, Polymers: A Property Database, Properties of Organic Compounds, and more.
CHEMnetBASE offers the following resources. Each product is a separate entity and can only be searched on its own. Combined Chemical Dictionary (CCD) - combines the following titles into one searchable database: Dictionary of Commonly Cited Compounds, Dictionary of Drugs (Formerly Pharmasource), Dictionary of Inorganic and Organometallic Compounds, Dictionary of Natural Products, Dictionary of Organic Compounds
The Handbook of Chemistry & Physics, now in its 87th Ed. - with the most heavily used tables updated and expanded.
Polymers: A Property Database - is fully searchable and offers the ability to produce tables customized to user preference.
Properties of Organic Compounds - contains over 29,000 of the most commonly sought organic compounds, featuring physical data, spectral data, and structures.
Biological Science Collection This link opens in a new window
Citations and abstracts from journals, patents, conference proceedings, books, and reports. including resources on biotechnology, bioengineering, cell biology, microbiology, molecular biology, and more. Publication dates: 1946 - current
SciFinder-n Login This link opens in a new window
Access to the complete Chemical Abstracts Service and Medline databases. Contains scientific information in journals and patent literature from around the world, including biomedical sciences, chemistry, material science, and more. Patrons are required to register for an account with a valid UMass Lowell email address.Coverage: CAS 1907 - current & Medline 1950 - current

Web Resources

National Institute of Biomedical Imaging and Bioengineering - Biomaterials
The National Institute of Biomedical Imaging and Bioengineering (NIBIB) offers science education modules on various biomedical topics, including Biomaterials.
National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST) Biomaterials Portal
NIST's research examines the interactions among lab-made materials and biological systems, advancing the development of diagnostics and therapeutics, and improving the performance of biomaterials used in dentistry and regenerative medicine.
National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI)
NCBI provides access to biomedical and genomic information, including PubMed, Gene and PubChem, among others. Its search and retrieval system provides users with integrated access to literature on genome sequencing, DNA, taxonomy, proteins, and more.