LibGuides: Biomedical Engineering Research Guide: Biomechanics

Biomechanics

Biomechanics is the application of mechanical principles to living organisms. Biomechanics studies the movement and structure of a living body and is part of the larger fields of kinesiology and biophysics. Five important components in biomechanics are motion, force, momentum, levers and balance. This field makes substantial contributions to medicine and health, human and animal movement and performance, and prosthetics. Biomechanics can be applied to whole organisms, organs and cells.

Library Resources

Engineering Village (Compendex) This link opens in a new window
Bibliographic records and abstracts of scientific and engineering research. Compendex content is sourced from thousands of publishers from around the world, including major engineering societies such as IEEE, ASME, SAE and ACM. Coverage: 1996 - current
ASME (American Society of Mechanical Engineers) Digital Library This link opens in a new window
The American Society of Mechanical Engineering (ASME) is a core publisher in mechanical engineering. The ASME database features journal articles from various sources focused on biomedical science, such as the Journal of Biomechanical Engineering, the Journal of Medical Devices, and the Journal of Nanotechnology in Engineering and Medicine. Publication dates: varies by journal, oldest dated from 1916
NetAnatomy This link opens in a new window
NetAnatomy is designed to teach human anatomy to students of the health professions, including undergraduate medical and health sciences students.
Physical Therapy and Sports Medicine This link opens in a new window
Provides access to academic journals and magazines covering the fields of physical therapy, physical fitness, and sports medicine. The database offers a wide spectrum of information, including proven treatment techniques, experimental research, and more. Coverage: 1980 - current
Biological Science Collection This link opens in a new window
Citations and abstracts from journals, patents, conference proceedings, books, and reports. Combines key databases like Biological Sciences, MEDLINE, and TOXLINE with full-text titles from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, and government publications. Includes specialized, editorially-curated organization, with applications to medicine, technology and the environment. Publication dates: 1946 - current
PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed comprises more than 19 million citations for biomedical articles from MEDLINE and life science journals. Citations may include links to full-text articles from PubMed Central or publisher web sites.