Open Datasets by Topic

Find tables, maps and more.

For more than 20 years, the Dartmouth Atlas Project has documented glaring variations in how medical resources are distributed and used in the United States. The project uses Medicare and Medicaid data to provide information and analysis about national, regional, and local markets, as well as hospitals and their affiliated physicians.

The Harvard Dataverse Repository is a free data repository open to all researchers from any discipline, both inside and outside of the Harvard community, where you can share, archive, cite, access, and explore research data. Each individual Dataverse collection is a customizable collection of datasets (or a virtual repository) for organizing, managing, and showcasing datasets.

IPUMS provides census and survey data from around the world integrated across time and space. Study change, conduct comparative research, merge information across data types, and analyze individuals within family and community context.

The Forum's annual report, America's Children: Key National Indicators of Well-Being, provides the Nation with a summary of national indicators of child well-being and monitors changes in these indicators over time.

The ISSP is a cross-national collaboration programme conducting annual surveys on diverse topics relevant to social sciences.

The HHS Data Council is the principal internal advisory body to the Secretary on health and human services data policy. The Council coordinates data collection and analysis activities in HHS, including an integrated data collection strategy as well as coordination of health data standards and privacy policy.

Since 2006, state and federal agencies, research institutes, foundations, and universities have used the Enclave to securely house and provide remote access to confidential data. Enclave-based research informs a wide spectrum of public and private sector decision-making, as well as journal articles, books, position papers, conference presentations, dissertations, etc. At any given time, the Enclave supports over 1000 researchers via contracts and grants with a wide variety of government, academic, nonprofit, and commercial clients.

The open source web application designed for sharing, preserving and using research data. UCLA Dataverse will allow data, text, software, scripts, data visualizations, etc., created from research projects at UCLA to be made publicly available, widely discoverable, linkable, and ultimately, reusable.

A longitudinal project sponsored by the National Institute on Aging (NIA U01AG009740) and the Social Security Administration. The study director is Dr. David R. Weir of the Survey Research Center at the University of Michigan's Institute for Social Research.

US AID Statistics

Wide-ranging Online Data for Epidemiologic Research -- an easy-to-use, menu-driven system that makes the information resources of the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) available to public health professionals and the public at large. It provides access to a wide array of public health information.