LibGuides: Literature Review Step by Step: Narrow Your Topic

How to Narrow your Topic for Literature Review

Here are some ways to narrow your topic:

Theoretical approach: Limit your topic to a particular approach to the issue. For example, if your topic concerns cloning, examine the theories surrounding of the high rate of failures in animal cloning.

Aspect or sub-area: Consider only one piece of the subject. For example, if your topic is human cloning, investigate government regulation of cloning.

Time: Limit the time span you examine. For example, on a topic in genetics, contrast public attitudes in the 1950's versus the 1990's.

Population group: Limit by age, sex, race, occupation, species or ethnic group. For example, on a topic in genetics, examine specific traits as they affect women over 40 years of age.

Geographical location: A geographic analysis can provide a useful means to examine an issue. For example, if your topic concerns cloning, investigate cloning practices in Europe or the Middle East.

(From MIT Libraries)

Find Background Information

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Search across 100 high-quality, full-text reference resources covering subjects including business, health and medicine, history, literature, psychology, and science. A single search can yield results from works in a variety of disciplines.
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Focusing on a single issue in the news each week, CQ Researcher provides in-depth, original, comprehensive reporting and analysis. Sections of the reports generally include background, pro/con arguments, chronology, and resources for additional research.

Coverage: 1991 - present
Biography in Context This link opens in a new window
Biographical information about current and historical people. Search for current or historic people by name, occupation, nationality, ethnicity, birth/death dates and places, or gender, or by keyword and full text. Narrative biographies provide an in-depth overview of the subject's life and accomplishments. In some cases, includes current magazine articles to expand coverage.
Global Issues In Context This link opens in a new window
International viewpoints on a broad spectrum of global issues, hot topics, and current events, through issue and country portals that bring together specially selected, highly relevant sources for analysis of social, political, military, economic, environmental, health, and cultural issues. Gateway pages include overviews, unique "perspectives" articles written by local experts, primary source and statistical information, and rich multimedia like podcasts, video, and interactive graphs.
Sage Knowledge This link opens in a new window
Encyclopedias and handbooks covering the Social Sciences.
Coverage: Publication dates 2000 - 2016

Keywords

Once you start to narrow your topic, finding the right keywords is important. Don't be afraid to let your topic change as you do more research. Note: when the narrator says "one search" what she really means is "Article Quick Search"

Video Tutorial: More on Choosing Keywords