This is the "Home" page of the "Music" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

A Guide to Resources about Music and Musicians
Last Updated: Apr 20, 2015 URL: http://libguides.uml.edu/music Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Overview of this Guide: Music

This guide is divided into a number of tabs under which you will find both UML and web resources relevant to music.

Recordings - links to the UML catalog and large online collections of recordings

Books & Scores - links to the UML catalog, to online books, large online collections of scores, sheet music, and manuscripts; music dissertation indexes; how to get books from other libraries through Interlibrary Loan and the Boston Library Consortium

Articles - links to indexes, specilaized and general, and journals in which to find articles on music

Dictionaries & Encyclopedias - sources with brief articles on topics and persons; links to specialized musician biographies 

Multimedia - links to TED Talks, MIT Media Labcasts, online lectures, and performances; sheet music generator; online composition tools.

 

 

Research Guide Books and eBooks

Research Guide to Musicology - James W. Pruett; Thomas P. Slavens
Call Number: ML3797 .P78 1985
ISBN: 0838903312
Publication Date: 1985-04-01

Chamber Music - John H. Baron
Call Number: ML128.C4 B37 1987
ISBN: 0824083466
Publication Date: 1987-08-01

The Art Song - Douglas Seaton
Call Number: ML128.S3 S33 1987
ISBN: 082408554X
Publication Date: 1987-03-01

Cover Art
Elliott Carter - John F. Link
ISBN: 9780203906552
Publication Date: 2000-09-01
This is a comprehensive guide to research on the American composer Elliott Carter (b. 1908), widely acknowledged as one of the greatest composers of the twentieth century. It contains a chronology, complete list of works, detailed discography, and fully annotated bibliography of over 1,000 books, articles, interviews, video recordings, and Carter's own writings. This essential reference book covers the most significant works in English, French, German, and Italian, from the 1940s-when Carter's music first began to attract attention-to the 1990s.

Cover Art
Frédéric Chopin - William Smialek
ISBN: 9780203906736
Publication Date: 1999-11-01
Important books, articles, reviews, and theses on Fr d ric Chopin (1810-1849) in Western European languages and in Polish are cited; selected references in languages such as Russian, Czech, and Japanese are included as well. The Chopin legend is considered through studies of the performance tradition and a discography of recent and reissued recordings. Short essays outline the historiography of Chopin research and the current direction of scholarship. Index.

Cover Art
Gabriel Faur´e - Edward R. Phillips
ISBN: 9780203906712
Publication Date: 1999-10-01
First published in 2000. Routledge is an imprint of Taylor & Francis, an informa company.

Cover Art
Guide to the Pianist's Repertoire, Fourth Edition - Maurice Hinson; Wesley Roberts
ISBN: 9780253010230
Publication Date: 2013-01-01
Guide to the Pianist's Repertoire continues to be the go-to source for piano performers, teachers, and students. Newly updated and expanded with over 250 new composers, this incomparable resource expertly guides readers to solo piano literature. What did a given composer write? What interesting work have I never heard of? How difficult is it? What are its special musical features? How can I reach the publisher? It's all here. Featuring information for more than 2,000 composers, the fourth edition includes enhanced indexes. The new "Hinson" will be an indispensable guide for many years to come.

Cover Art
Fanfares and Finesse - Elisa Koehler
ISBN: 9780253011855
Publication Date: 2014-01-01
Unlike the violin, which has flourished largely unchanged for close to four centuries, the trumpet has endured numerous changes in design and social status from the battlefield to the bandstand and ultimately to the concert hall. This colorful past is reflected in the arsenal of instruments a classical trumpeter employs during a performance, sometimes using no fewer than five in different keys and configurations to accurately reproduce music from the past. With the rise in historically inspired performances comes the necessity for trumpeters to know more about their instrument's heritage, its repertoire, and different performance practices for old music on new and period-specific instruments. More than just a history of the trumpet, this essential reference book is a comprehensive guide for musicians who bring that musical history to life.

Cover Art
Guide to the Euphonium Repertoire - R. Winston Morris (Editor); Lloyd E. Bone (Editor); Eric Paull (Editor)
ISBN: 9780253112248
Publication Date: 2007-03-01
Guide to the Euphonium Repertoire is the most definitive publication on the status of the euphonium in the history of this often misunderstood and frequently under-appreciated instrument. This volume documents the rich history, the wealth of repertoire, and the incredible discography of the euphonium. Music educators, composers/arrangers, instrument historians, performers on other instruments, and students of the euphonium (baritone horn, tenor tuba, etc.) will find the exhaustive research evident in this volume's pages to be compelling and comprehensive. Contributors are Lloyd Bone, Brian L. Bowman, Neal Corwell, Adam Frey, Marc Dickman, Bryce Edwards, Seth D. Fletcher, Carroll Gotcher, Atticus Hensley, Lisa M. Hocking, Sharon Huff, Kenneth R. Kroesche, R. Winston Morris, John Mueller, Michael B. O'Connor, Eric Paull, Joseph Skillen, Kelly Thomas, Demondrae Thurman, Matthew J. Tropman, and Mark J. Walker.

Cover Art
Guide to the Tuba Repertoire - R. Winston Morris; Daniel Perantoni
ISBN: 9780253112255
Publication Date: 2006-11-08
Guide to the Tuba Repertoire is the most comprehensive investigation ever undertaken into the literature and discography of any single musical instrument. Under the direction of R. Winston Morris and Daniel Perantoni, this publication represents more than 40 years of research by dozens of leading professionals throughout the world. The guide defines the current status of the tuba and documents its growth since its inception in 1835. Contributors are Ron Davis, Jeffrey Funderburk, David Graves, Skip Gray, Charles A. McAdams, R. Winston Morris, Mark A. Nelson, Timothy J. Northcut, Daniel Perantoni, Philip Sinder, Joseph Skillen, Kenyon Wilson, and Jerry A. Young.

Related Websites

Search Engines

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Ann Spinney
Contact Info
ann_spinney@uml.edu
Send Email
Subjects:
Music
 

What's New

Naxos Music Library Recent Additions

Loading Loading...
blank padding

Recommend a site

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip