LibGuides: HSCI.3400: IPE Research Methods: Literature Review

Literature Review in Nursing- Problem Statement

Colling, "Demystifying the clinical nursing research process: the literature review"
Marcellus, "Looking at families in nursing research: Strategies for study design."
Issues in Comprehensive Pediatric Nursing, Vol 29(4), Oct-Dec, 2006. pp. 225-245.
Grant and Booth, "A typology of reviews: an analysis of 14 review types and associated methodologies."
Health Information & Libraries Journal. Jun2009, Vol. 26 Issue 2, p91-108
UMass Lowell Doctor of Nursing Practice Publications

Doing a Literature Review in Health and Social Care by Helen Aveyard
ISBN: 9780335263080
Publication Date: 2014-01-01
Writing for Publication in Nursing by Marilyn H. Oermann; Judith C. Hays
ISBN: 9780826119919
Publication Date: 2015-02-01

Developing a Good Nursing Research Question
Created by Regis College Library

On Literature Reviews in General Subjects (print book).

Literature Reviews Made Easy by Paula Dawidowicz
ISBN: 9781617351914
Publication Date: 2010-10-01

Places to look for Background Information

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
100 full-text reference resources covering most academic subject areas.
Credo Reference aggregates authoritative high-quality reference works for online delivery to libraries worldwide. UMass Lowell subscribes to 100 reference titles in Credo, with over 600 thousand entries, all fully integrated and intelligently cross-linked. Reference resources include Encyclopedias, handbooks, dictionaries, and atlases. Subjects covered in particular are history, health, world politics and culture, social sciences, music, literature, biology, education, and religion.
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
In-depth, original, comprehensive reporting and analysis on issues in the news.
Coverage: 1991 - current
Sage Knowledge This link opens in a new window
Encyclopedias and handbooks covering the Social Sciences.
Coverage: Publication dates 2000 - 2016
Biography in Context This link opens in a new window
Biographical information about current and historical people. Search for current or historic people by name, occupation, nationality, ethnicity, birth/death dates and places, or gender, or by keyword and full text. Narrative biographies provide an in-depth overview of the subject's life and accomplishments. In some cases, includes current magazine articles to expand coverage.
Global Issues In Context This link opens in a new window
Offers international viewpoints on a broad spectrum of global issues, topics, and current events.
Global Issues in Context features hundreds of continuously updated issue and country portals that bring together a variety of specially selected, highly relevant sources for analysis of social, political, military, economic, environmental, health, and cultural issues. Each of these gateway pages includes an overview, unique "perspectives" articles written by local experts, reference, periodical, primary source and statistical information. Rich multimedia - including podcasts, video, and interactive graphs - enhance each portal. Use Browse Issues and Topics, Country Finder, Basic Search or Advanced Search to explore the database.

Keywords

Once you start to narrow your topic, finding the right keywords is important. Don't be afraid to let your topic change as you do more research. Note: when the narrator says "one search" what she really means is "Article Quick Search"

Video Tutorial: More on Choosing Keywords