Chapter 1: What is Marketing?
1.1 Defining Marketing
1.2 Who Does Marketing?
1.3 Why Study Marketing?
1.4 Themes and Organization of This Book
1.5 Discussion Questions and Activities
Chapter 2: Strategic Planning
2.1 The Value Proposition
2.2 Components of the Strategic Planning Process
2.3 Developing Organizational Objectives and Formulating Strategies
2.4 Where Strategic Planning Occurs within Firms
2.5 Strategic Portfolio Planning Approaches
2.6 Discussion Questions and Activities
Chapter 3: Consumer Behavior: How People Make Buying Decisions
3.1 Factors That Influence Consumers' Buying Behavior
3.2 Low-Involvement Versus High-Involvement Buying Decisions and the Consumer's Decision-Making Process
3.3 Discussion Questions and Activities
Chapter 4: Business Buying Behavior
4.1 The Characteristics of Business-to-Business (B2B) Markets
4.2 Types of B2B Buyers
4.3 Buying Centers
4.4 Stages in the B2B Buying Process and B2B Buying Situations
4.5 International B2B Markets and E-commerce
4.6 Ethics in B2B Markets
4.7 Discussion Questions and Activities
Chapter 5: Market Segmenting, Targeting, and Positioning
5.1 Targeted Marketing versus Mass Marketing
5.2 How Markets Are Segmented
5.3 Selecting Target Markets and Target-Market Strategies
5.4 Positioning and Repositioning Offerings
5.5 Discussion Questions and Activities
Chapter 6: Creating Offerings
6.1 What Composes an Offering?
6.2 Types of Consumer Offerings
6.3 Types of Business-to-Business (B2B) Offerings
6.4 Branding, Labeling, and Packaging
6.5 Managing the Offering
6.6 Discussion Questions and Activities
Chapter 7: Developing and Managing Offerings
About the Book
Principles of Marketing teaches the experience and process of actually doing marketing – not just the vocabulary. It carries five dominant themes throughout in order to expose students to marketing in today's environment:
Service dominant logic — This textbook employs the term "offering" instead of the more traditional First "P" — product. That is because consumers don't sacrifice value when alternating between a product and a service. They are evaluating the entire experience, whether they interact with a product, a service, or a combination. So the fundamental focus is providing value throughout the value chain, whether that value chain encompasses a product, service, or both.
Sustainability — Increasingly, companies are interested in the impact they are having on their local community as well as the overall environment. This is often referred to as the "triple bottom line" of financial, social, and environment performance.
Ethics and social responsibility — Following on the sustainability notion is the broader importance of ethics and social responsibility in creating successful organizations. The authors make consistent references to ethical situations throughout chapter coverage, and end of chapter material in most chapters will encompass ethical situations.
Global coverage — the authors deliberately entitled Chapter 1 "What is Marketing?" Whether it is today's price of gasoline, the current U.S. presidential race, or Midwestern U.S. farming, almost every industry and company needs strong global awareness. And today's marketing professionals must understand the world in which they and their companies operate.
Metrics — Firms today have the potential to gather more information than ever before about their current and potential customers. That information gathering can be costly, but it can also be very revealing. With the potential to capture so much more detail about micro transactions, firms should now be more able to answer "well, what this marketing strategy really worth it?" And "what is the marketing ROI?" And finally, "what is this customer or set of customers worth to us over their lifetime?"
Conditions of Use
Publication Date: 2015-10-27
Understanding Markets and Strategy by Malcolm Morley 2014In order to expand your business in existing and into new and diverse markets, it is vital that strategies and plans can be developed with realistic prospects of success. Understanding Markets and Strategy explains the context, meaning and value of markets. It shows you how to analyze them, develop appropriate strategies and respond appropriately to changing competitive dynamics, ensuring that resources are used to create the greatest chances of success. Debunking myths around how markets are defined, it explores how to exploit the assets you currently possess and how to develop new assets for the target market. It also explores the implications for the strategies, resources, competencies and capabilities of expansion into international territories on your organization. The author explains, with practical tools and techniques, how marketing needs to be a product of, and consistent with, strategic competitive and corporate analysis. Ideal for Directors and senior managers as well as strategic planners and marketing managers, it provides you with everything you need to understand markets and to create a strategic context for the development of credible and robust commercial strategies and plans to exploit them.
Publication Date: 2014-08-03
Marketing (the Brian Tracy Success Library) by Brian Tracy 2014The success or failure of your business depends on the success or failure of your marketing efforts. If you can identify what your customers want, need, and can afford--and then give it to them--you will achieve outstanding results. Filled with Brian Tracy's trademark wisdom, this indispensable guide contains 21 powerful ideas you can use to immediately improve your strategic marketing results. You'll discover how to: Build your customer base ● Set yourself apart from the competition ● Answer three crucial questions about any new product or service ● Use market research and focus groups to fuel better decisions ● Fulfill a basic emotional need for buyers ● Determine the correct price point for your offerings ● Become truly customer-focused ● Make the most of your distribution channels ● Master the concepts of specialization, differentiation, segmentation, and concentration ● Give customers a reason to switch from your competitors ● And more Packed with time-tested marketing strategies, this practical and portable book shows you how to overcome the competition, increase sales and profitability, and dominate your market niche.
Kellogg on Marketing by Alice M. Tybout (Editor); Bobby J. Calder (Editor); Philip Kotler (Foreword by) 2010The business classic, fully revised and updated for today's marketers The second edition of Kellogg on Marketing provides a unique and highly regarded perspective on both the basics of marketing and on new issues that are challenging businesses today. Includes more than 60% new material on both fundamental marketing concepts and hot topics such as Product Innovation, Social Media, Marketing to Consumers at the Bottom of the Pyramid, and Internal Branding With a foreword by Philip Kotler The Kellogg School of Management is recognized around the world as the leading MBA program in Marketing Along with the new material, the core concepts covered in the first edition have all been updated-including targeting and positioning, segmentation, consumer insights, and more. This is a must-have marketing reference.
Electronic Commerce by Richard T. Watson 2009This textbook provides a strategic marketing and managerial perspective of electronic commerce. The research of the four authors provides the basis for the book, allowing for first-hand experience, varied viewpoints, and relevance. Contents: 1) Electronic commerce: An introduction. 2) Electronic commerce technology. 3) Web strategy: Attracting and retaining visitors. 4) Promotion: Integrated Web communications. 5) Promotion & purchase: Measuring effectiveness. 6) Distribution. 7) Service. 8) Pricing. 9) Post-Modernism and the Web: Societal effects.