This is a Springer open access ebook. It addresses four standard business school subjects: microeconomics, macroeconomics, finance and information systems as they relate to trading, liquidity, and market structure. It provides a detailed examination of the impact of trading costs and other impediments of trading that the authors call “frictions”. It also presents an interactive simulation model of equity market trading, TraderEx, that enables students to implement trading decisions in different market scenarios and structures. Addressing these topics shines a bright light on how a real-world financial market operates, and the simulation provides students with an experiential learning opportunity that is informative and fun.
Each of the chapters is designed so that it can be used as a stand-alone module in an existing economics, finance, or information science course. Instructor resources such as discussion questions, Powerpoint slides and TraderEx exercises are available online.
2022, curated by Evan van Dyk (Coast Mountain College)
A first-year course, introducing topics including simple interest formulas, payments, promissory notes, market price and rate of return for treasury bills, load repayment and amortization schedules, compound interest, annuities, bond discounts and premiums, market price of bonds and net present value. The course is comprised of lesson plans designed to be used in conjunction with a workbook and video tutorials. The instructor may use any mathematics of finance open textbook as a supplement however, it is not necessary and learning outcomes can easily be met by following the workbook.
2016. Sharon Kioko, Justin Marlowe, University of Washington.
A new generation textbook for financial management in the public sector. It offers a thorough introduction to the financial concepts and analytical tools that today's public servants need to know. It assumes no prior knowledge or experience in financial management. Emphasizes how financial information can and should inform every aspect of public sector strategy, from routine procurement decisions to budget preparation to program design to major new policy initiatives. They draw upon dozens of real-world examples, cases, and applied problems to bring that relationship between information and strategy to life. Integrates foundational principles across the government, non-profit, and “hybrid/for-benefit” sectors. Coverage includes basic principles of accounting and financial reporting, preparing and analyzing financial statements, cost analysis, and the process and politics of budget preparation. The text also includes several large case studies appropriate for class discussion and/or graded assignments.
Introduction to Banking by Moorad Choudhry; Steen Blaafalk (Foreword by)A practical primer to the modern banking operation Introduction to Banking, Second Edition is a comprehensive and jargon-free guide to the banking operation. Written at the foundational level, this book provides a broad overview of banking to give you an all-around understanding that allows you to put your specialty work into context within the larger picture of your organization. With a specific focus on risk components, this second edition covers all key elements with new chapters on reputational risk, credit risk, stress testing and customer service, including an updated chapter on sustainability. Practical material includes important topics such as the yield curve, trading and hedging, asset liability management, loan origination, product marketing, reputational risk and regulatory capital. This book gives you the context you need to understand how modern banks are run, and the key points operation at all levels. Learn the critical elements of a well-structured banking operation Examine the risk components inherent in banking Understand operational topics including sustainability and stress testing Explore service-end areas including product marketing and customer service Banks continue to be the heart of the modern economy, despite the global financial crisis --they have however become more complex. Multiple layers and a myriad of functions contribute to the running of today's banks, and it's critical for new and aspiring bankers to understand the full breadth of the operation and where their work fits in. Introduction to Banking, Second Edition provides an accessible yet complete primer, with emphasis on the areas that have become central to sustainable banking operation.
Publication Date: 2018-05-29
Money and Banking by.Wright. 2012able of Contents
Chapter 1: Money, Banking, and Your World
Chapter 2: The Financial System
Chapter 3: Money
Chapter 4: Interest Rates
Chapter 5: The Economics of Interest-Rate Fluctuations
Chapter 6: The Economics of Interest-Rate Spreads and Yield Curves
Chapter 7: Rational Expectations, Efficient Markets, and the Valuation of Corporate Equities
Chapter 8: Financial Structure, Transaction Costs, and Asymmetric Information
Chapter 9: Bank Management
Chapter 10: Innovation and Structure in Banking and Finance
Chapter 11: The Economics of Financial Regulation
Chapter 12: Financial Derivatives
Chapter 13: Financial Crises: Causes and Consequences
Chapter 14: Central Bank Form and Function
Chapter 15: The Money Supply Process and the Money Multipliers
Chapter 16: Monetary Policy Tools
Chapter 17: Monetary Policy Targets and Goals
Chapter 18: Foreign Exchange
Chapter 19: International Monetary Regimes
Chapter 20: Money Demand
Chapter 21: IS-LM
Chapter 22: IS-LM in Action
Chapter 23: Aggregate Supply and Demand and the Growth Diamond
Chapter 24: Monetary Policy Transmission Mechanisms
Chapter 25: Inflation and Money
Chapter 26: Rational Expectations Redux: Monetary Policy Implications
About the Book
The financial crisis of 2007-8 has already revolutionized institutions, markets, and regulation. Wright's Money and Banking V 2.0 captures those revolutionary changes and packages them in a way that engages undergraduates enrolled in Money and Banking and Financial Institutions and Markets courses.
Minimal mathematics, accessible language, and a student-oriented tone ease readers into complex subjects like money, interest rates, banking, asymmetric information, financial crises and regulation, monetary policy, monetary theory, and other standard topics. Numerous short cases, called "Stop and Think" boxes, promote internalization over memorization. Exercise drills ensure basic skills competency where appropriate. Short, snappy sections that begin with a framing question enhance readability and encourage assignment completion.
The 2.0 version of this text boasts substantive revisions (additions, deletions, rearrangements) of almost every chapter based on the suggestions of many Money and Banking instructors.
Some specific highlights are: Chapter 11 now contains enhanced descriptions of recent regulatory changes, including Dodd-Frank, Chapter 12 is an entirely new chapter on derivatives covering forwards, futures, options, and swaps that also including comprehensive treatment of the causes and consequences of financial crises, and Chapter 14 has updated discussions of the Federal Reserve's monetary policy tools, including paying interest on reserves, and the structure and leadership of the European Central Bank.
Recent financial turmoil has increased student interest in the financial system but simultaneously threatens to create false impressions and negative attitudes. This up-to-date text by a dynamic, young author encourages students to critique the financial system without rejecting its many positive attributes. Peruse the book online now to see for yourself if this book fits the needs of your course and students.
This textbook has been used in classes at:Augustana College, Central Michigan University, Florida State University, Lyndon State College, Princeton University, Rutgers University, University of Southern Maine, Western Oregon University., Westminster College.
About the Contributors
Robert E. Wright was born in 1969 in Rochester, New York, to two self-proclaimed factory rats.
"I recall little of my earliest days except the Great Inflation and oil embargo, which stretched the family budget past the breaking point. The recession in the early 1980s also injured my family’s material welfare and was seared into my brain. My only vivid, noneconomic memories are of the Planet of the Apes films (all five of them!) and the 1972 Olympics massacre in Munich; my very young mind conflated the two because of the aural similarity of the words gorilla and guerilla.
After taking degrees in history from Buffalo State College (B.A., 1990) and the University of Buffalo (M.A., 1994; Ph.D., 1997), I began teaching a variety of courses in business, economics, evolutionary psychology, finance, history, and sociology at Temple University, the University of Virginia, sundry liberal arts colleges, New York University’s Stern School of Business, and, since 2009, Augustana College (the one in South Dakota, not the one in Illinois), where I am additionally the director of the Thomas Willing Institute for the Study of Financial Markets, Institutions, and Regulations. I’ve also been an active researcher, editing, authoring, and coauthoring books about the development of the U.S. financial system (Origins of Commercial Banking, Hamilton Unbound, Wealth of Nations Rediscovered, The First Wall Street, Financial Founding Fathers, One Nation Under Debt), construction economics (Broken Buildings, Busted Budgets), life insurance (Mutually Beneficial), publishing (Knowledge for Generations), bailouts (Bailouts), public policy (Fubarnomics), and investments (The Wall Street Journal Guide to the 50 Economics Indicators That Really Matter). Due to my unique historical perspective on public policies and the financial system, I’ve also become something of a media maven, showing up on NPR and other talk radio stations, as well as various television programs, and getting quoted in major newspapers like the Wall Street Journal, New York Times, Chicago Tribune, and the Los Angeles Times. I publish op-eds and make regular public speaking appearances nationally and, increasingly, internationally. I am also active in the Museum of American Finance and sit on the editorial board of its magazine, Financial History.
I wrote this textbook because I strongly believe in the merits of financial literacy for all. Our financial system struggles sometimes in part because so many people remain feckless financially. My hope is that people who read this book carefully, dutifully complete the exercises, and attend class regularly will be able to follow the financial news and even critique it when necessary. I also hope they will make informed choices in their own financial lives."
Read this book
Conditions of Use
The Principles of Banking by Moorad Choudhry; John Cummins (Foreword by); Ian Plenderleith (Foreword by)The ultimate guide for bank management: how to survive andthrive throughout the business cycle An essential guide for bankers and students of financeeverywhere, The Principles of Banking reiterates that theprimary requirement of banking--sound capital and liquidityrisk management--had been forgotten in the years prior to thefinancial crash. Serving as a policy guide for market practitionersand regulators at all levels, the book explains the keys to successthat bankers need to follow during good times in order to beprepared for the bad, providing in-depth guidance and technicalanalysis of exactly what constitutes good banking practice. Accessible to professionals and students alike, ThePrinciples of Banking covers issues of practical importance tobank practitioners, including asset-liability management, liquidityrisk, internal transfer pricing, capital management, stresstesting, and more. With an emphasis on viewing business cycles aspatterns of stable and stressful market behavior, and rich withworked examples illustrating the key principles of bankasset-liability management, the book is an essential policy guidefor today and tomorrow. It also offers readers access to anaccompanying website holding policy templates and teachingaids. Illustrates how unsound banking practices that were evident inprevious bank crashes were repeated during the creation of the2007-2008 financial market crisis Provides a template that can be used to create a soundliquidity and asset-liability management framework at any bank An essential resource for the international banking communityas it seeks to re-establish its credibility, as well as forstudents of finance Explains the original principles of banking, including soundlending policy and liquidity management, and why these need to berestated in order to avoid another bank crisis at the time of thenext economic recession Covers topics of particular importance to students andacademia, many of which are marginally--ifever--addressed in current text books on finance Offers readers access to a companion website featuringinvaluable learning and teaching aids Written by a banking practitioner with extensive professionaland teaching experience in the field, The Principles ofBanking explains exactly how to get back to basics in riskmanagement in the banking community, essential if we are tomaintain a sustainable banking industry. "engaging and interesting and, more importantly, easilyunderstood, allowing a clear picture to emerge of how the principleor concept under discussion is to be applied in the realworld." - Graeme Wolvaardt, Head of Market & Liquidity RiskControl, Europe Arab Bank Plc