LibGuides: Wikipedia @UMass Lowell: Current Edit-A-Thons

Useful Links

News Sources are going to be your best bet for finding reliable information about people. They may have profiles written about them, be quoted in an article, or been included in content that is developed by an unbiased source.

Lowell Sun This link opens in a new window
Access kindly provided by University Relations.
Boston Globe (1980-present) This link opens in a new window
Authoritative coverage of local, national and international news, from one of the newspapers of record for Massachusetts. Detailed indexing with subjects, companies, people, products, and geographic areas. Includes editorials, editorial cartoons, obituaries, and letters to the editor.

Coverage: Full text Jan 1, 1980-present
New York Times This link opens in a new window
Next day, full text coverage of the New York Times, 1985 - Present
Wall Street Journal This link opens in a new window
One of the most important newspaper sources for coverage of national and international finance as well as related news. Organized with subjects, companies, people, products, and geographic areas, so researchers can more easily search for stories in their area of interest.

Publication dates: 1982 - current
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
A key resource for regional, national, and international news, especially useful for business and political science research. Also a major resource for legal information such as case law, law reviews, codes and regulations, and more.

Archives are great sources of documents and images.

The Southeast Asian Archive
From the University of California - Irvine
Southeast Asian Collection
From the US Library of Congress
Smithsonian: Asian American, Native Hawaiian, and Pacific Islander Heritage in the Collections
Asian American and Pacific Islander Materials: A Resource Guide
From the Library of Congress

April 2024 Edit-a-thon

April 11th, 2024 Edit-A-Thon

Join us on the Mezzanine at O'Leary Library for our first edit-a-thon of 2024!

We will work from 11-2pm and people will be available to help you find sources and edit content.

We'll have lunch and snacks to keep you energized!

Enroll today so you're ready to go on April 11th.

Edit-a-thon Dashboard
Please make sure you sign in on the dashboard so we can track the edits made for the event. We need to report this data to our funders and this allows us to give accurate information.

See Our Impact

Articles To Create

Articles to Create

Are you interested in creating new articles? Here's a list of women and topics that we've identified as important to create:

Hai and Lan Pho
Indochinese Refugee Foundation
Ibrahim Chowdry
Martha and Berda Lum
Anh Vu Sawyer
Elsa Sze
Mimi Khúc
Kim Saira
Kazuo Yamane
Mamie Tape
Thun Saray
Pech Heung
Phousita Serey Huy
Tuyet-Lan Pho
Bopha Malone

Amirtha Kidambi
She has an entry in the German Wikipedia, but not the English Wikipedia. Ask the event organizers for help getting her entry into the English Wikipedia.

Articles to Improve

If you're interested in helping expand and improve articles that already exist, consider some of these:

Wataru Misaka
Richard Aoki
Tung-Yen Lin
Tessie Agana
Tape v. Hurley
The court case involving Mamie Tape.
Philip Vera Cruz
Mitsuye Endo
Đặng Thái Sơn
Lê Văn Thiêm
Yuri Kochiyama
Chea Samy
Rady Mom
Sokhary Chau
Vanna Howard
Arn Chorn-Pond
Sam Meas
Chanthou Oeur
Monty Oum
Pisay Pao
Sam-Ang Sam
Sichan Siv
Sokunthary Svay
Vanessa Lam
Yasmin Lee
Peuo Tuy
Jordan Windle
Lum v. Rice
This is the court case centered around Martha and Berda Lum.
Toy & Wing
The duo made up of Dorothy Toy (Shigeko Takahashi) and Paul Wing.
Cambodian Human Rights and Development Association (ADHOC)
The organization founded by Thun Saray.
Mei Lum
Sandra Lim
Sandbox for Julie Chen
Librarian Sara Marks' sandbox to create an entry for Dr. Chen.
Mimi Khúc

Editing Tips

5 Tips for Editing Wikipedia:

Create an account for yourself!
1. Make sure you login at our dashboard!
Do you want to create an entry?
- Create it in your account's sandbox and transfer it to the main encyclopedia when done.
Do you want to make an entry better?
- Check for grammar and spelling fixes.
- Add one new citation to the entry.
You don't have to make your edits perfect! Other people will come and fix any mistakes.
Ask our mentors for help or if you have a question!

Edit-a-thon Dashboard
Please make sure you sign in on the dashboard so we can track the edits made for the event. We need to report this data to our funders and this allows us to give accurate information.
Biographies of Living Persons
There are rules we should adhere to when writing biographies about people who are still alive. This guide will help you understand some important issues and ways to approach writing and editing these entries.

Editing Ideas

Are you not sure how you can help? Here are some ideas on what you can do to improve and expand entries.

How do you pronounce a name? Help people learn proper pronunciation of names by providing phonetic translations. See the links below to get help adding it into the entry.
If you like copy editing and proof reading, make sure theres proper spelling and punctuation in the entry.
Info Box additions of metadata like birth dates, birth location, schools, associated organizations, etc.
If you want to add a photo, search the WIkiMedia Commons (link below) to see if it's available. Be careful uploading new images. If you aren't the copyright holder of the image, you'll need their permission to include it.
Did you find content in a different language Wikipedia? We're happy to help you move it to the English Wikipedia.
Do you like organizing information to make it easier to find details? Wikipedia's style guide can help you learn how to create a table-of-contents and label sections clearly.