Electrical and Computer Engineering Research Guide

Among its many accolades, the first edition of Control Systems Fundamentals was cited by the AAP as the Best Engineering Handbook of 1996. Now, 15 years later, William Levine has once again compiled the most comprehensive and authoritative resource on control engineering. He has fully reorganized the text to reflect the technical advances achieved since the last edition and has expanded its contents to include the multidisciplinary perspective that is making control engineering a critical component in so many fields. This book covers mathematical fundamentals, defining principles, and basic system approaches.

The second edition of this award-winning handbook (2018) reemerges with completely updated content. The Computer Engineering Handbook is now offered as a set of two carefully focused books that together encompass all aspects of the field. In addition to complete updates throughout the book to reflect the latest issues in low-power design, embedded processors, and new standards, this edition includes a new section on computer memory and storage as well as several new chapters on such topics as semiconductor memory circuits, stream and wireless processors, and nonvolatile memory technologies and applications.

A comprehensive and practical guide to the key elements of AC power systems, such as power generation, transformers, filters, transient protection, grounding practices, efficiency and more.

This reference book covers a wide range of technologies and systems used in the generation, distribution, control, conversion, and measurement of electrical power and provides a foundational overview presented in a basic, easy-to-understand manner. The content is organized in a logical pedagogical style using five basic power system components – Measurement, Generation, Distribution, Control, and Conversion. Each of these basic systems is broken down into sub-systems, equipment, and components that are explored in greater detail in each of the 18 chapters.

Comprehensive in scope and clear in approach, this book achieves the perfect balance between theory and practice, keeps math at a tolerable level, and makes DSP exceptionally accessible to beginners without ever oversimplifying it. Readers can thoroughly grasp the basics and quickly move on to more sophisticated techniques.

The text details the latest in voice communication techniques, advanced communication concepts, data communication, network organization, governance, traffic management, and emerging trends.

When it comes to electronics, demand grows as technology shrinks in size. From consumer and industrial markets to military and aerospace applications, the call is for more functionality in smaller and smaller devices. Culled from the second edition of the best-selling Electronics Handbook, this book presents a summary of the current state of microelectronics and its innovative directions.

Organized as a mini-encyclopedia of infrared optoelectronic applications, this book reviews relevant semiconductor fundamentals, including device physics, from an optoelectronic industry perspective. This easy-reading text provides a practical engineering introduction to optoelectronic LEDs and silicon sensor technology for the infrared, visible, and ultraviolet portion of the electromagnetic spectrum.