LibGuides: Electrical and Computer Engineering Research Guide: Micro & Opto Electronics

Microelectronics and Optoelectonics

Microelectronics is a subdivision of the field of electronics that deals with very small and microscopic elements to manufacture electronic components and integrated circuits. Microelectronics has been rapidly evolving as the most in-demand field of electronics because of the ever-increasing demand for inexpensive and lightweight equipment. Microelectronic devices are made by using semiconductor materials such as silicon. Optoelectronic devices are special types of semiconductor devices that are able to convert light energy to electrical energy or electrical energy to light energy.

We have gathered some resources below to assist your microelectronics and optoelectronics coursework and research.

Library Resources

IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new window
Scientific and technical content published by the IEEE (Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers). A comprehensive database containing technical literature on semiconductors, microprocessors, integrated circuits, programmable devices, optoelectronics, and more. Coverage: 1864 - current
SPIE Digital Library This link opens in a new window
SPIE (Society of Photo-Optical Instrumentation Engineers) is the international society for optics and photonics. The SPIE database contains resources on optoelectronic devices such as laser diodes, light-emitting diodes, photodiodes, MEMS devices, and more.
SPIE (Society of Photo-Optical Instrumentation Engineers)is the international society for optics and photonics founded in 1955 to advance light-based technologies. The SPIE Digital Library contains 156 ebooks, 9 ejournals, and more than 268,000 full-text papers from SPIE Journals and Proceedings published since 1990. Approximately 17,000 new papers will be added each year. The following content is available within the Digital Library:

Proceedings of SPIE: Starting at Volume 1200 (1990)*
Optical Engineering: Starting at Volume 29 (1990)
Journal of Electronic Imaging: Starting at Volume 1 (1992)
Journal of Biomedical Optics: Starting at Volume 1 (1996)
Journal of Micro/Nanolithography, MEMS, and MOEMS: Starting at Volume 1 (2002)
Journal of Applied Remote Sensing: Starting at Volume 1 (2007)
Journal of Nanophotonics: Starting at Volume 1 (2007)
Journal of Photonics for Energy: Starting at Volume 1 (2011)
SPIE eBooks: A selection beginning 1989
IOPscience Journals This link opens in a new window
Access all Institute of Physics published journals covering physics, mathematics, and engineering. Includes access to the IOP journal of Flexible and Printed Electronics. Coverage: 1874 - currentCoverage: 1874 - current
Journal content hosted by the Institute of Physics in IOPscience represents more than 300,000 articles. You can browse assorted subject categories or search by keywords. You can also search by PACS and MSC codes to find articles. PACS is a hierarchical subject classification scheme for physics and astronomy. MSC codes are used to categorize items covered by the two reviewing databases, Mathematical Reviews (MR) and Zentralblatt MATH (Zbl). RSS feeds allow you to be alerted when new content is updated. IOP also offers PACS and MSC clouds to find content. The clouds are a text-based depiction of the content of a grouping of articles in IOPscience. The clouds help to navigate quickly and easily to groups of articles which might be of interest.
Optics InfoBase This link opens in a new window
Access complete runs of all journals and conference papers published by OSA. Provides technical resources in the field of photonics and optoelectronics. Coverage: varies, 1917 - current
Optics InfoBase offers complete full-text access to all OSA's publications dating back to 1917. The search engine includes advanced features such as topical clustering. In addition, the site offers browsing by subject, automatic reference linking between articles, TOC alerts, RSS feeds, and citation export.
ElectricalEngineeringNetBASE This link opens in a new window
This database of textbooks, handbooks and reference books provides basic to advanced overviews and definitions covering the various subtopics of microelectronics and optoelectronics such as integrated circuit design, programmable logic devices and arrays, memory devices, microprocessors, multi-chip module technology, light-emitting diodes, laser diodes, and more.

Web Resources

Printed Electronics Research Collaborative (PERC) at UML
The Printed Electronics Research Collaborative (PERC) at UMass Lowell is a strategic partnership between industry, university and government to establish a world-class Additive Manufacturing (AM) and Printed Electronics (PE) research center rooted in real world applications.
IEEE Electron Devices Society
The EDS field-of-interest includes all electron and ion based devices, in their classical or quantum states, using environments and materials in their lowest to highest conducting phase, in simple or engineered assembly, interacting with and delivering photo-electronic, electro-magnetic, electromechanical, electro-thermal, and bio-electronic signals. The Society sponsors and reports on education, research, development and manufacturing aspects and is involved in science, theory, engineering, experimentation, simulation, modeling, design, fabrication, interconnection, reliability of such devices and their applications.